We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Down Ende House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Down Ende House to your Saves list
Down Ende House
Widegates | Looe, Widegates PL13 1QN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct for discount
Ranked #2 of 3 Widegates B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's difficult to find something original to write about Down Ende House and Teresa and Andy, all the very true and nice things have been written!!
In January we booked a holiday there with our daughter and husband so of course the weather was a gamble! How lucky we were as our week in May was superb!! Not far from Looe and Polperro it's also ideally situated for a visit to the Eden Project.There was nothing to have even the smallest complaint about and as has already been written...... the breakfasts were superb!!
Teresa and Andy are probably the most charming and helpful hosts that we have ever met and they even insisted on filling our flask for the return journey! (Very gratefully consumed on Plymouth Hoe!!)
We all hope to return there in the future and will certainly recommend this lovely B&B to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Down Ende House, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us . Really glad you all had such a good few days - lets hope the weather comes back as well as yourselves !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

As a rule we don't stay in B&B's. We like the anonymity of hotels, being an insular middle aged married couple. But this Place was excellent. The owner was friendly without being intrusive, the place was big enough to be a small hotel, rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was lovely. Location is beautiful and very close to looe. It offers value for money, and we were only going to stay one night but stayed two in the end and we will definitely return again.
We recommend this B&B strongly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaJG01, Owner at Down Ende House, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for writing a review - we were only to pleased to help with your lovely niece and my daughter will be writng to her via your address - we hope to see you again sometime, book with us direct on your return as we offer a returning guest rate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our holiday was booked at the last minute due to that me and my partner couldn't decide between a caravan or a Hotel as I had my 7 year old niece with me and was worried about space in the room. I have visited Looe before and found the B&B I had picked was'nt very enjoyable. Luckly we picked Down Ende House, the room was clean, bright and spacious. We wouldn't have known what to do without the help of the lovely owners of the hotel as we had eaten during our journey to the hotel and the morning after myself and partner had very upset stomach's. They couldn't have been more understanding and helpful especially when it came to my niece, she spent the whole day playing with their daughter in the grounds and was a very tired little girl by tea time.

I highly recommend this establishment, the cooked breakfast was excellent and the location couldn't be more perfect, a 5 minute drive to Looe and near to everything you would need to keep a 7 year old happy. We slept peacefully every night and was pleasantly suprised at the value for money that you get at Down Ende House for a family.

Room Tip: The family room has own easy access and is very spacious with a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

There's line by Charlotte Bronte in Jane Eyre which sums up my feelings for Down Ende perfectly; "Go up home, and stay your weary little wandering feet at a friend's threshold."

I can't remember how many times (3 years? 4?) we've stayed with Theresa and Andy on our way to balmy Cornwall from the frozen North (Newcastle upon Tyne), but it's always a real pleasure to see them again as we split our long journey at Down Ende. Theresa is the perfect hostess, and always makes us feel very welcome. The rooms are scrupulously clean, comfortable, and prettily furnished. It's a very peaceful location and I always get a good night's sleep - the hotel is set in large gardens away from the road, and the only noise I notice at night has been the wind rushing through the trees, owls calling, or birdsong at dawn - quite different to my usual nocturnal accompaniment of wailing sirens, trains and buses, and utterly magical as I drift off to sleep! Cooked breakfasts are delicious, there is a bar for evening drinks and the company and service are always excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend Down Ende to a friend, and look forward to next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaJG01, Owner at Down Ende House, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
How lovely of you to write us a review - we enjoy your company and are truly pleased you pick to stay with us each year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

As participants in the Looe-Barnstaple coast to coast cycle ride, my B-I-L + me and our respective partners stayed here for a night prior to the event.

From arrival the owners and family were extremely friendly and helpful, showed us to our rooms and couldn't do more to make us feel at home - on the Sunday morning they rose early to prepare our (excellent) breakfast as we had to leave before 'normal' serving hours, and the good luck wishes were welcome! The rooms are comfortable, clean and just what the doctor ordered after the drive down, the shower in the en-suite was probably the best I've used in a B&B.

The bar was a bonus for a swift beer before retiring to bed, and the option of an evening meal is a great touch too - we went into Looe but if we return we'd most likely try the lovely looking menu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

After a tiring, long drive in the rain, we received a very warm welcome from Theresa who couldn't have been more helpful. Our large room was separate from the house (suitable for disabled persons) and had more facilities (more like a hotel in this respect) than any other B&Bs in which we have stayed - 'king sized comfortable bed, table and chairs, couch, TV, Wifi, 'frig, tea/coffee/cake and large bathroom etc. A delicious cooked breakfast, in the conservatory/dining room, overlooking the beautiful, treed grounds, was a great start to each day.The evening meal, cooked by Andy, was superb, so much so that we decided to eat there each night. The menu changes daily. Theresa gave us very good suggestions/advice on places of interest to visit. We had a wonderful, restful 4 days at Down-Ende House after 2 months of traveling and highly recommend this B & B. Thank you very much Theresa and Andy. Jill and Peter, Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

This is one of the best b&bs we have stayed in recently.
Our stay began with a very friendly welcome and that standard was kept up throughout.
The evening meal was very good and we would recommend the lamb shank,which fell off the bone perfectly.
Breakfast was also good with cereals/porridge then either a full cooked breakfast or another (changes daily) hot option.
The room was comfortable and we had a really good night's sleep both nights we stayed.
We would definitely recommend and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Down Ende House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down Ende House

Address: Widegates | Looe, Widegates PL13 1QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Widegates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Widegates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential,Family run, B&B Peaceful and relaxing set in the Cornish countryside near Looe. We offer you a warm and friendly welcome, fresh modern en-suite bed rooms good old fashioned hospitality, excellent cooking =evening meals booked in advance on request.Using local & home-grown produce and great value for money. Within easy reach of Cornwall's south east coast,Dartmoor and the Eden project. Approximately 30-40 minutes drive from Eden, Heligan and Padstow.We also offer a dining menu for non residents for parties up to 24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, T4B, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Down Ende House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Down Ende House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.