We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Army Museum

National Army Museum
State Highway 1, Waiouru, New Zealand
06 387 6911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Waiouru
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Army Museum, is an army war museum in Waiouru, New Zealand, providing access to a unique collection of military exhibits, vehicles, memorabilia and public research material. The Museum is guardian to many of our national treasures, the displays are exceptional, the experience unforgettable.The Museum's Military Archive & Research Library is one of the leading military research centres in New Zealand. The Museum Gift Shop has an assortment of quality products for any special occasion. Kidz HQ is an interactive area for the children to enjoy; with puzzles, dress up and so much more. Our Cafe offers an array of tempting morsels to satisfy your taste buds.The National Army Museum open from 9.00am - 4.30pm seven days a week (with the exception of Christmas Day when the Museum is closed). Discover New Zealand's military history, engage with real life soldiers' stories and reflect on how conflict has shaped our nation.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As this is the only thing to do in Waiouru and we were staying here I wouldnt normally have bothered to visit here, but I am very glad I did. It's really informative, the displays are very good and the medal room is great. It's quite a sobering place, but then war is never funny.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting enough if you like tank and gun and wars related”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

After the military day in Cambridge we decided to drive down to waiouru just for this. Dessert road was beautiful and the museum stand out. As in really stand out with beautiful tanks parking outside. They have great collections, helpful staffs. If you like to dwell into informations then after the museum please visit the library archive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An excellent museum providing a real feel of life in the army past and present”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After having passed through Waiouru numerous times (as many people do), I had a voucher to use this time to specifically visit this museum in Waiouru. I was really impressed. This museum has a lot of fascinating information about the various wars that New Zealand has been involved in, and what it was like to be in the army at those times, and now. This museum really makes an effort with kids - providing them an activity sheet to complete as they go around the museum, where they have to find certain answers. I was really impressed with several areas of the museum where they really showed honour to people who have died in the service of their nation. I was also really impressed that the museum had gone to the effort of providing chairs every so often around the museum for those guests who need a rest. On site are a pleasant cafe and souvenir shop as well. Two suggestions for improvement - one more toilet facility area inside the actual museum would be good. In addition, they need to update their 'army today' exhibit now that New Zealand has pulled out of Afghanistan.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stand at ease! Your Army on review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This unique museum presents a 'full size' review of Army history in New Zealand. There are few models here, even the concentration camp cells are life size.
But all of the special services are visible, including their latest exhibit of the horses in WWI, including 2 lifeless ones lying in front of the exhibit.
My highlight was listening to the actual veterans of Gallipoli describe their experiences in living TV colour.
The humanity of it all comes through, wherever you look.
New Zealand, an independent country that started by following England into the African War and ended making by their own decisons as to who to assist.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great army museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stop and make take the time here. I've passed this before but finally stopped and looked. Better than anything I've seen and Australia. Focused on NZ army. Some much memorabilia here, fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Army Museum also viewed

Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region

Been to National Army Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Army Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.