We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wildlife Base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Lanka Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Embilipitiya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake View Lanka Guesthouse
Save
You added Lake View Lanka Guesthouse to your Saves list
No. 88/4 Dewala Road | New Town, Embilipitiya 70200, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Wildlife Base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nimal was a good host and was justly proud of the traditional Sri Lankan cuisine he provided.
Birdwatching from the veranda occupied a day in it's own right.
The spacious front room had mos net and fan.
Quiet peaceful location, well away from the main road.
The full day safari to Uda Walawe, organised by Nimal, was the wildlife highlight of our tour. We had time to park and wait while elephants approached us, rather than chasing after them. The guide was experienced and knowledgeable. He was keen to meet our requirements of the safari, but we had no idea we would see such a diversity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deventer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay two nights in this nice family-run homestay. The owners are welcoming though discreet. The place itself is very "feel-good", clean and well-kept. The architecture of the house has a mediteranean flavour. The lake is a just few steps away with a lot of waterbuffalos. But the incredible feature of this place was the food ! definetely the best of our trip ! very very tasty, a must-try !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our second visit to Kumudu and her family.It really is a home from home.A warm and friendly welcome, excellent food,large comfortable room what more could one want.Will definetly be making a third visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed two nights at this place and we really enjoyed it. The family is so friendly and we were treated as friends. The Food was delicious and the room is spacious and clean. The guest house only has two rooms and a shared bathroom. They organise trips into the Udawalawa National Park. The guest house is located directly at the lake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a short trip in Sri Lanka. We wanted a flavour of the country; so we watched the cricket, went to the beach and took in a national park. When visiting Uda Wallawa national park, we found Lake View Lanka guest house. It's a small, family run guest house serving fantastic food and a taste of what the country is really about. As well as being close to the national park, it is easy to while away the hours watching the monkey's in the garden and birds around the lake. The scenery is nearly as beautiful as the family you stay with.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here and were made to feel very welcome. The accommodation was simple but clean and the views were superb. This guest house made a nice change from the more commercial hotels which are available in the area as it was homely and authentic. We stayed in the main house as I have a fear of heights but the tree house is a nice idea for the more adventurous!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

What more could you wish than to see „the other side“ to our western lifes from such a different angle as the tree house !!! A truly special and amazing experience! And then of course, there’s Kumudu & Nimal & the kids…
Thank you so much for your hospitality (thank you for all the super delicious food!!!).
What a shame to have to leave after feeling “at home” here at this wonderful spot. Wishing you all the best for the future. Lots of love, Isabel

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Lanka Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Lanka Guesthouse

Address: No. 88/4 Dewala Road | New Town, Embilipitiya 70200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Embilipitiya
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Embilipitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake View Lanka is a quiet (no roads or traffic), small and friendly Sri Lankan homestay at the Chandrika Lake near Centauria Hotel and the city of Embilipitiya.It's your chance to have a cultural experience and get to know real Sri Lankan family life.We are offering a wooden tree-house, five metres above the ground. The tree house includes a double bed, fan, mosquito net and a balcony.For more convenience three rooms are available in our new guesthouse. Each is spacious and includes a double bed with mosquito net. You have the opportunity to relax while watching exotic birds on the terrace overlooking the beautiful garden and lake. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Lanka Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.