We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous food, lovely room, gracious service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Lascaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Lascaux to your Saves list
Hotel Le Lascaux
109 Avenue Jean Jaures, 24290 Montignac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montignac
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“fabulous food, lovely room, gracious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights during a bike trip across the region and it was the best place we stayed. The owners provide warm and attentive service, the room was newly decorated with great attention to every detail. We ate dinner there the first night because we were tired but ate there again the second night because the food was so delicious and beautifully presented. The breakfast was also outstanding, exceeding that of all the other hotels. And its a convenient short walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
44
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our base for our first four days of visiting sites in the Dordogne. Jean and Laurence were very friendly, even when our baby turned their nice dining room into a rather noiser affair with her enthusiasm. We ate dinner in the hotel dining room three of our four nights because it was excellent quality, it was convenient, and they were gracious. Breakfasts are standard meat, yogurt, and bread and cheese, but greater variety than some places we have stayed, many of which just opted for bread. They provided a high chair in the dining room and brought a new toy to distract our seven-month-old each day. The room was nicely decorated and a good size, fitting the baby bed and ours with room to maneuver. Jean acquired us tickets to Lacaux II and an English tour with the greatest of ease, starting our cave explorations with real convenience. Additionally, they loaned us a guidebook in English for the area. In short, it was a hotel with a feel of a bed and breakfast. We would happily return again if we visit as a small family, particularly given the playground, which makes the hotel great for families with children who need to get the wiggles out in between excursions. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This family-run hotel is a must i.e. if you are visiting the caves of Lascaux in the Dordogne, and even if you aren't!
We had a very nice large room and had a view of the extensive playground behind the hotel where a couple of chickens (a beautiful unfamiliar breed) were picking in the grass.
Chef Jean is a fabulous cook and he and his wife Laurence make you feel so comfortable you want to stay forever.
Breakfast is so elaborate, coffee so very good, and it comes all with a cheerful smile.
We recommend it absolutely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

For an overnight stay with 2 kids, this place was just right: warm, friendly welcome; comfortable beds (fold out couch with proper mattress for the youngsters); tea facilities in the bedroom; modern bathroom; excellent food with polite and attentive service. Ask for the "demi-pension" rate if you are eating dinner and breakfast at the hotel as this works out cheaper. The breakfast was standard continental fare, but the dinner was top notch dining (around €30 per person without wine). If you're heading to Montignac, you must be going there to visit the Lascaux cave. That in itself is definitely worthwhile, but there are many other attractions nearby. Try the Maison Forte de Reignac (about 15 minutes from Montignac in the direction of Les Eyzies). It's a 16th century manor house (which has much earlier origins) built into the side of a cliff. If you can't handle lots of steps, avoid it. But for those who do brave the climb, it is a treat for the eyes - original furnishings and views that take your breath away. Hotel le Lascaux was a great place to come back to for dinner, wine and bed after a long day out exploring.

Room Tip: Choose the "demi-pension" rate if you plan to eat dinner and breakfast at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Le Lascaux was outstanding. But what sealed the deal was the quality of the food and service in the dining room. The hotel has been refurbished and is run by Jean and Laurence, a husband and wife team who took over the establishment in 2010. Jean is a chef and Laurence runs front of house. The evening menu is brief but comprehensive, like the wine list. Most importantly for us, the food compares favourably with anything we have had in Paris over the past several weeks. Breakfast too is a winner, with a smorgasbord of meats, cheeses, croissants and pastries, fresh fruit salad, even cereal if you are that way inclined.

The hotel is well positioned close to town and the room we stayed in is large, well-serviced and looks out onto gardens.

As others have said, this hotel truly is a gem hidden in Montignac.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The owner and his wife were very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful. We had a superior room which was large, very comfortable and kept clean during our five day stay, the menus were reasonably extensive and the food was fantastic - we ate in every evening but went out for breakfast. The large garden provided a pleasant spot to enjoy the late afternoon sun and there were swings and slides etc for very young children. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had an excellent stop over at this Hotel on our journey, a real oasis of quality and stress relief.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Excellent toddler provision from the wonderfully equiped garden, to the sympathetic attention at meal times.
Food excellent.
Close to Montignac.

Room Tip: All seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Lascaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Lascaux

Address: 109 Avenue Jean Jaures, 24290 Montignac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montignac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montignac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two stars hotel Logis de France. Very warm welcome in a family atmosphere. 12 rooms with private bathroom, a terrasse with view on a private garden, a parking, a gastronomic restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Lascaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Lascaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.