We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth every minute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lascaux II

Lascaux II
24290 Montignac, France
05-53-51-95-03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Montignac
Attraction details
camillus ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“worth every minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The reproduction of the cave is extremely well done. the art is like no other. one needs to take time to view the art forms from several angles and distances as often several sets of animal forms "live in" the same space. This was a boyhood dream and I had read up on this sevral times before coming. Even with a French spaeking guide one can purchase a description in English, and if your patience holds you can ask questions in English and obtain a reply in English. The Village of Montignac is a treasure too and well worth exploring and the Dordonge region holds many other grottos to visit and many charming villages, castles and great cuisine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Responsable relations clients at Lascaux II, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your good feelings. Lascaux II is a magic place, indeed ! You can follow Lascaux II on the social networks with Les Grands Sites du Périgord. See you soon perhaps in Dordogne !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    223
    124
    63
    51
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If u don't speak French, avoid French tour like the plague!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked onto the French tour thinking that as a cave, there would be lots to look at (as per a wonderful previous French speaking tour around Grottes de Lacave) and so the language barrier would not be an issue. The lady at the booking desk happily booked us onto the French tour knowing we spoke no French and didn't mention the necessity of waiting for an English tour. Unfortunately, the tour was really a lecture, 25 mins of which took place in a museum style dark room with no writing (and as it was jam packed you couldn't see the exhibits). The guide talked, no time was given to look at anything. If it had been in English it would have been pretty dull too. We were then taken into the cave part, which as we already knew was fake but I could live with that. It was very small and so the remaining time was spent in the one cavern, while she quickly talked away. Even the French visitors were talking amongst themselves as their attention waned. In total it was 65 min rather than 45. I've never rushed out of anywhere so quickly in my life! You could argue I shouldn't have booked a French tour but if there was something more to see this wouldn't be an issue, besides which the other cave gave little leaflets in the most popular languages to help, even though it wasn't needed. I wouldn't even bother with the English tour, there are so many other fascinating (and genuine) caves to explore.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Responsable relations clients at Lascaux II, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. They allow us to improve our quality. We are sorry you didn't enjoy the visit. We hope to see you again in better conditions with Les Grands Sites du Périgord.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I wasn't sure if I was going to like this experience as the "caves" you visit are actually a reproduction of the original in order to keep them preserved but the whole experience was great. It was excellently recreated, atmospheric and the guide friendly and informative.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Responsable relations clients at Lascaux II, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for giving us your good feelings. It will be a pleasure to see you again in Dordogne with Les Grands Sites du Périgord !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We can't believe that another person visiting in early April and also English speaking had a better experience than us on 9th April 2013. Lascaux 2 is crammed in to two caves and is a 40 minute long "tour" with about 30-40 people crammed in to each small cave at a time. One woman had to leave because of the feeling of claustrophobia we were so crammed in! The tour was in French even though about 1/3 of the visitors were English speaking (a headset would have helped here). Also, there was no provision for children, who if they didn't cry or talk during the 20 minutes stood in a cave listening to a foreign language they didn't understand were doing better than most of the adults there! None of the English families who visited, whether with young children or not, were at all impressed. A real disappointment! Roc de St Christophe just down the road was MUCH more impressive and engaging for the family for the same money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Responsable relations clients at Lascaux II, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. They help us to improve the quality of our services. We are sorry you didn't enjoy the visit, you should try another tour in english this time. We hope to see you again in Dordogne with Les Grands Sites du Périgord !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montcabrier, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The copy is still worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The quality of the copy is such that one is still left marvelling at the work of our prehistoric ancestors. The guided visit is excellent. We visited in early April and our guide, a young woman, spoke excellent English. However the visit was principally in French.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Responsable relations clients at Lascaux II, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your visit. You can follow Lascaux II on the social networks with Les Grands Sites du Périgord. See you soon perhaps in Dordogne !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lascaux II also viewed

 
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne
Dordogne, Aquitaine
 

Been to Lascaux II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lascaux II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.