We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Hoterini Street,Ohope | Bay of Plenty, Ohope 3121, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Ohope B&B and Inns
Linköping, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hoasts were great. The personal service and the good company was outstanding. They took a personal interest in our wellbeing and made sure that we saw the very best of their fantastic surroundings and culture. They gave us great advice of places to see and visit and they made sure that we got where we wanted. The location of the beach cottage is fantastic. Situated close to the beach made it easy to take beautiful walks and enjoy full swims. On cloudless days one was able to spot white island smoking way out in the bay of plenty. The location of Ohope is very good if one want's have access to the many beautiful places on the northern island. The national park of Tongariro is only a couple of hours drive away and on the way there one could visit the awesome city of Rotorua with its famous thermal activities.
To sum up I must say that if I could I would with great pleasure revisit Ohope and Mira and Tauro and their wonderful beach cottage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We are indeed fortunate to live in such wonderful surroundings. It is always great to see our guests enjoying this beautiful beach here in Ohope. Ideal for lovely walks, cycling and kayaking as well. Many folk enjoy our boat cruises in the harbour and like to hire the bikes or kayaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were staying with Miria and Taroi for a couple of days on this big adventurous trip around NZ and and we will always remember nice and comfortable staying in their cottage, just 10 seconds from the great Ohope beach, if you'd like to hope in the water. Host are really welcoming and they'll make you feel at home:)
Lovely place with amazing garden in tranquil surrounding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It was very good to meet these lovely folk who run a lodge in Europe and had helpful tips to share with us about Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at the Beach cottage for only 2 days while in Ohope for a fair. I wish it had been much, much, much longer. Miria and Taroi made us feel instantly at home and welcome. What a lovely place, I would highly recommend it to both New Zealanders and visitors from overseas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We certainly look forward to having our visitor stay again for longer!. We had travelled overseas together so it was really good to catch up with her for a bit of reminiscing and finding out more about her work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a wonderful place to get away to. We stayed a long weekend and wished for more time to spend with Miria and Taroi. Exceptional hosts throughout the entire stay.
Well worth getting Taroi to get the boat wet as well. Great knowledge of the local harbour and its surrounds. We will definitely be back at our earliest convenience.
Hard to explain just how great the experience was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We did so enjoy these visitors and the time out on the boat was lots of fun. Appreciated sharing about whanau too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am a local lady my partner is american, and we had just spent two months apart. I wanted to welcome him home with a 'surprise' getaway. I chose Moanarua Cottage for it's amazing location, proud Maori cultural prominence, cute and private cottage and the spa on the deck was the clincher! We were both extremely happy with my choice, Miria and Taroi made us feel so genuinely welcome and the space they have created was incredibly relaxing (especially after an international flight). After leaving his homeland and family to start a life with me here in New Zealand Moanarua Cottage was the perfect place to remind my partner of all the beautiful things New Zealand has to offer, amazing hospitality with genuine and friendly hosts, stunning landscapes and peace and tranquility - can't recommend it enough. Thank you Miria & Taroi X

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We appreciate the review and always look forward to sharing our culture.
So happy to know our lovely young couple flet relaxed and refreshed by their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Thank you Miria and Taroi for a truly New Zealand and Maori cultural experience. You are both generous hosts and pay attention to every detail in the beautiful cottage I stayed in and the room I stayed in the home (I travelled on two occasions). I have made friends for life during this stay at your cottage. I will be back again and again - I miss you, beautiful Ohope and New Zealand. Shirley Motteram

Room Tip: Whole little cottage is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We really enjoyed the wonderful times together, sharing stories, sharing culture, sharing dance and travel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Moanarua Beach Cottage, Ohope is lovely and private and set in a beautiful garden that has won awards. Very friendly welcome with drinks and nibbles early evening with hosts Miria & Taroi and then homemade muesli with our breakfast. The wonderful sandy swimming beach is only three minutes walk away so we had lovely swims and a spa. We thoroughly recommend this B&B & will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Enjoyed those refreshments in the garden and those great swims!
Look forward to more of them with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B

Address: 2 Hoterini Street,Ohope | Bay of Plenty, Ohope 3121, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Ohope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ohope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naumai, haere mai, welcome to a unique Maori cultural experience in a romantic hideaway nestled in award winning gardens between the ocean and the harbour in sunny Ohope. Widely travelled we love sharing stories over complimentary drinks and nibbles. The cottage is fully self contained with King and Single beds, kitchen, en-suite, own entrance and patio area. The Queen room in our home has own toilet and vanity - share other bathroom facilities. Relax in the spa or on loungers in the garden, have a bbq or hangi with us. Continental breakfast for all visitors. Boat cruises, culture/historic cruises, kayak and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.