We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in St. Andrew's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne House

Hawthorne House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathkinness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawthorne House
Save
You added Hawthorne House to your Saves list
33 Main St, Strathkinness, St. Andrews KY16 9RY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in St. Andrew's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

St. Andrew's was the last stop on our holiday in Scotland. We enjoyed the beautiful accomodations but it is a drive from St. Andrew's. We felt safe and comfortable and the hostess was ever so helpful any time we had a question. Our car was parked out back and we walked to a nearby pub for dinner one night. The room was on the second floor and when we opened the window the sun shined bright. The room was gorgeous and very clean. I would stay here again and recommend.

Room Tip: Our room had deep purple bed spread and redish tones and I loved the comfort of everything in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
31
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed one night, warm and friendly hostess, authentic and delightfully furnished country house. A hearty breakfast rounded it off nicely

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at Hawthorne House over Hogmanay and really enjoyed our time there. Ann and Roy were very friendly and our room was cosy, and breakfast was delicious and filled us up on cold mornings! There was an ecellent choice of food. One tiny thing - it would be lovely to have a thicker, bigger down duvet on the bed rather than relying on the quilt, which although wonderfully colourful was very heavy, and we did find that we needed it as well as the duvet in the middle of the night - it was cold outside when we were there. Lovely warm bathroom, good shower, nice towels. Getting in to St Andrews is quick and easy on the bus - there's a stop right outside! We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We were visiting our son who was studying for a semester at St. Andrews University. Ann and Roy were the perfect hosts and this soon became our home away from home. After a 2 night stay, we flew from Edinburgh to Ireland (Belfast and Dublin) on a whirlwind weekend tour. We returned to the Hawthorne House for another 3 days and were able to relax and really enjoy St. Andrews and the wonderful countryside of Strathkinness.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed here in Sep for one night. Ann and Roy were very good hosts. The rooms were comfortable, easy walking up to the local pub for a meal. Only a few minutes drive into St. Andrews. We (four of us) thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

During a hectic round trip of Scotland four of us (one of us being my elderly aunt) stayed here. The welcome was fantastic, the location was perfect, the rooms were excellent and the breakfast was brilliant. We all had different requirements and to this end we were treated and catered for as individuals - nothing was too much trouble.

Huge thanks from Mick, Jane, Pam and Connie.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

lovely bedroom, host and services!!higly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne House

Address: 33 Main St, Strathkinness, St. Andrews KY16 9RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Strathkinness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Strathkinness
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.