We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathkinness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Paddock
Save
You added The Paddock to your Saves list
Sunnyside, Strathkinness, St. Andrews KY16 9XP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Myself my Wife an two daughters stayed two nights in The Paddock whilst my daughter visited St Andrews University, it was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in the rooms are spacious and very well equipped, they are modern and clean, The owners Bryan & Linzi are very sociable and friendly people and provide a great Scottish breakfast, the rooms were very reasonably priced we would thoroughly recommend a stay here,

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs on the back have great views over the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My partner Hugh and I spent "Leuchars" weekend at the Paddock. This is our 5th year staying with Bryan & Linzi and it's like a home from home. We had our 'usual' room with lovely views across the field to St Andrews. Breakfast in the morning is wonderful and sets you up for the day especially when the host goes that extra mile and provides 'freshly shot haggis' for Sunday breakfast!!! We would not stay anywhere else when visiting St Andrews as The Paddock is a wonderful oasis of peace and quiet with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Paddock is run by a lovely, welcoming couple, Bryan & Linzi. The Paddock is situated in a beautiful, quiet, countryside location, just a few short miles from St Andrews. A family run business and their daughter, a qualified beautician, offers beauty and therapy treatments on site. What a way to relax or treat yourself and an unexpected bonus! The rooms are lovely, 5 star, all you could need. Breakfast menu is beyond what you would expect, something & more of it for every taste! Everything homemade and locally sourced, Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just spent 4 nights at the Paddock. As before, everything is excellent - the welcome, room and facilities, breakfast. Nothing is too much bother for the owners and we really enjoyed a relaxing stay in Strathkinness, The breakfasts are definitely 5 star! Will be back...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover , Hampshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Oh What joy after a long journey to find this GEM. Journeying across Scotland and arriving in St Andrews to find the Lamas Fair in full swing and many hotels -- no vacancies---- we headed out of town. But what a brilliant surprise to find a " Tardis" of a guest accomodation.
A superbly warm welcome with pirana in fish tank thrown in for good measure-- brilliant views and "OHHHH SO COMFY BED". What a perfect end to a super day.
Up with breakfast in mind-- we were entranced by fresh fruits-- multiple. A splendid Scottish breakfast AND really home made jam and marmalade. There's more!!!! How about " Home made LEMON CURD"---- It could only be a Yorkshire lass. Trained in Huddersfield we are informed--- well as true Yorkies in exile in Hampshire --- we recognise true artistry in Food--- AND THIS IS!!
Don't spread the word too much-- we want to pay a return visit!! One of the best welcomes in Scotland.

Room Tip: Just try it and be entranced--- looks basic on arrival-- BUT YOU WAIT AND SEE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Paddock where we found friendliness, comfort, and excellent breakfast in a pleasant light conservatory. We liked the bedroom and bathroom which provided all that was needed. Very helpful owner with very useful information about St. Andrews.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stranraer
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have just returned from a two night break at The Paddock and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast an excellent quality. We have stayed in St Andrews a few times and prefer to stay in the town but if you are looking for a quiet break in beautiful surroundings then The Paddock is perfect. We would also recommend Nethan Guest House (same owners) which is situated in the centre of St Andrews but was fully booked this time. Transport information from Strathkinness to St Andrews.... buses run every hour and leave just right of The Paddock and costs £2.20 (price correct May 2012). We also walked into St Andrews which was a pleasant one hour walk. A late night taxi back cost £11 and we had no trouble finding one. We will try to book earlier next time but if St Andrews is full I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paddock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddock

Address: Sunnyside, Strathkinness, St. Andrews KY16 9XP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Strathkinness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Strathkinness
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.