We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and nice home-made food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nonna's Woburn Sands

Nonna's Woburn Sands
The Square, Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes, England
01908 584397
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: An exciting new opportunity to indulge in the very best of Italian and Maltese cuisine. Fronted by the Delicatessen and Bakery offering freshly baked bread and produce sourced from Italy and Malta. Additionally there will be regional dishes cooked on site by our Italian and Maltese chefs. The kitchen will offer authentic wood-oven baked Pizzas for takeaway or delivery. These Pizzas will also be available on the restaurant menu with pasta and mouth-watering daily specials.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly staff and nice home-made food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well, I think my title says it all. The staff are pleasant and the food was to a good quality.
It was a shame it was fairly quiet, we felt like we had to whisper!
I will be back to try it again hopefully when the weather picks up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaGeorge, Public Relations Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the positive review you took the time to leave us. We are glad you enjoyed your meal at Nonna's, hopefully next time you come it won't be as quiet so you can enjoy the surroundings, as its a lovely atmosphere when the restaurant/deli is full. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    60
    31
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“superb flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went friday lunchtime for a birthday treat and thought the food the best we have tasted locally. The rabbit terrine was exquisite, bruschetta delicious, and the veal cooked to perfection in a wonderful sauce which did not overpower the delicate flavour of the meat.
The service was impeccable - friendly, helpful but not obtrusive.
On the way out we bumped into friends enjoying tea and cake.....something to look forward to on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaGeorge, Public Relations Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us review. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch and thought the food was exquisite. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“some good dishes, service variable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just had lunch at Nonna's. I have called in before but just for coffee and cake. My husband said the bruschetta is probably the best he has tasted, and he makes this very nicely indeed. The pistachio and lemon drizzle was so good, I have been on-line looking for recipes and will be creating my own version. The service today was pleasant but very patchy, which husband has also experienced before. Not a big problem but one to improve on...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaGeorge, Public Relations Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate it. We are glad you and your husband enjoyed your lunch, the lemon and pistachio cake is a Maltese recipe which i would be more than happy to give to you.
Apologies for the 'patchy' service, this is something we shall work on and we will make sure all new staff are trained thoroughly to prevent this happening in the future. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went on a Saturday evening for a birthday treat. Were made to feel welcome and relaxed as soon as we arrived. The staff were friendly and efficient and able to advise on the menu, the food was delicious and beautifully presented. I had the fish from the specials, it was perfect. Recommend this restaurant, will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaGeorge, Public Relations Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We are pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. We are flattered you described your fish special as 'perfect'. Glad to hear you'll be returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Went for a work meeting, had the venison which was on special. It was really, really tasty. We all had dessert, all of them were stunning. Highly recommend this restaurant

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaGeorge, Public Relations Manager at Nonna's Woburn Sands, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the Venison special. A lot of thought and creativity go into our daily specials. Thank you for highly recommending Nonna's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonna's Woburn Sands also viewed

Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 

Been to Nonna's Woburn Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonna's Woburn Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.