We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huntingdon Road, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
1 review
“Our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have just spent two days with friends at your hotel. This is just a note to say how much we enjoyed our stay with you.Our rooms were excellent and all staff just made us very welcome. Your breakfast supervisor Tina made our introduction to this start of the day a pleasure and our waitress in the evening, Sophie,couldn't do enough for us . Congratulations on running such a smooth operation and thanks again for an enjoyable stay.Derek Hargreaves.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    270
    182
    78
    60
See reviews for
93
284
27
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This would have been excellent but for the following. The pool area needs a bit more cleaning. The kids section has grit deposits in it. We only found out we had a dip in it as a special needs group were having lessons in the main pool on Thursday. Also the hot tub was not working. Other than that on the whole we enjoyed our stay immensely. We hope to return soon

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear MichaelMills, thank you for your review and I have shared the comments with the team. I have inspected the pool and thank you for bringing this to our attention - we have cleared the grit deposit from the corner.

I'm sorry about the Hot Tub being out of action, we had a problem with the chemical levels and due to health and safety we had to close it. A new dosing system is on order and this will resolve in the long run.

Pleased that generally you had a great stay and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

my partner and i came here for a two night break. The hotel is very clean, the staff are very kind and we got a warm and friendly welcome on arrival. Our room was beautiful and very clean and the staff are always very happy to help, the food in the resturant was excellent. Overall we enjoyed oue stay and would recommend this hotel to other people, we will definatley stay here again

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived in Bar Hill looking forward to a couple of days in Cambridge. Checked in with no problems and greeted warmly. The king room was basic nothing special definitely needing an upgrade. The leisure club is in a serious need of tlc. The sauna was filthy!!

We had a meal in the hotel which was... Disappointing!! It tasted like microwaved meals and not what was expected from a 4 star hotel. Go out to eat!!
Finally which really did annoy me was the free wifi. It was shocking!! You couldn't get a signal in the room or the lobby area but on the off chance you did, it was so slow you couldn't do anything!!

I would not recommend this hotel and would find something else in the city centre.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Benno24, I am so sorry to read that you did not have an enjoyable break with us. I have ensured that your comments are shared with the team.

I have inspected the sauna, but cannot see how it is filthy? It is made up of all wooden benches and sides and as wood, generally do not get dirty, but with tiles on the floor perhaps - these do get cleaned daily.

I would add against your comment regarding food that none of our food is microwaved other than heating up some of the sauces and sponge for desserts like the sticky toffee pudding or warming chocolate sauce for the profiteroles. I do not know where you ate in the hotel to make any further comment, but everything is freshly prepared on our menus, even Panini's.

I note your WiFi comment and BT have been doing some necessary work to the exchange in the last couple of weeks to improve connectivity, this has meant intermittent service at times. If you had brought this to our attention we could have checked with BT our provider that all the access points were on-line as this can be another cause. This is something that as a business we are reviewing as technology has moved on with so many guests having "smart" devices and our WiFi was originally designed for web browsing and e mail in the main and will lose bandwidth if we have lots of residents trying to "stream" content.

I'm sorry none of your dis-satisfactions were brought to our attention whilst you were staying to give us an opportunity to respond or resolve.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Hill hotels

Wirral
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous 3 night break, what a find! An excellent base for visiting Cambridge, with the bus stop just at the bottom of the drive. The hotel was comfortable and our room was well appointed, the staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant staff were extremely attentive, even ensuring one member of our party got his kippers for breakfast! Would recommend this hotel and would certainly use again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with friends and had an excellent experience. The staff were exceptionally, helpful, friendly and approachable; nothing was too much trouble. In particular the attention to detail shown by Arran, Tina and the restaurant manager (weds eve) was appreciated by us all. All food served was outstanding, with a good range at the breakfast buffet (recommend the smoked haddock with a poached egg!) and the sirloin steaks at the evening dinner were cooked to perfection. The care and presentation of the food in the evening was also noted. The ability to cater for a serious food allergy was well managed and taken very seriously by all in the restaurant. The rooms were bright and clean and the heating system was easy to understand. All toiletries etc. were replenished daily. The leisure facilities were adequate for the hotel and it was good to relax in the pool and spa after a day visiting Cambridge. A draft 'real ale' available in the main bar was a definite bonus!! The ease with which to catch a bus to Cambridge from just outside the hotel is a great plus, negating the need to drive to the city and worry about parking etc. Once again thank you for making the stay over 3 days so enjoyable and hopefully we will return one day in the future.

Room Tip: Opt for an executive room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear The-Big-Fishes, many thanks for leaving us your review and I was so pleased to read that your short break with us was so enjoyable.

I will share your feedback with the team, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My organisation has used the Menzies Cambridge Hotel on a number of occasions for business over several years and has always been most impressed with the quality of the services and staff.

This is amply demonstrated by the excellent and mature service provided by Elizabeth Binks,Breakfast Supervisor , and her team.Nothing is too much trouble and great attention is paid to all individual requirements with panache and sensitivity.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Huntingdon Road, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort hotel set in countryside, 6 miles from Cambridge train station and on the A14 near M11 in the village of Bar Hill. All 136 rooms will have been refurbished by early 2013 and new photos of the rooms can be found on our homepage.Heath club with spa and 18 hole championship golf course on site, great restaurant and bar with many outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the weather and scenery.For meeting and events we have a range of facilities including banqueting for up to 200 people and purpose built conference centre with state of the art AV and cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club Bar Hill, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.