We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huntingdon Road, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very happy and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here at the end of October for one night, it was a special offer (travelzoo I think) with dinner, bed and breakfast with free upgrade to a superior or exectuive room for £99. It was all good, lovely welcome at reception, good food and service, particularly from the Restaurant Manager. The room was lovely, probably the biggest bed we've ever slept in. Nothing too much trouble, also enjoyed the pool and steam room. There is a nearby bus that goes into Cambridge, which was great, much better than going to the park & ride. There are maps at reception for exploring Cambridge (we didn't think to ask, but heard another guest being given some maps). Very happy indeed with this hotel and the staff that looked after us.

Room Tip: We had room 205 and thought it was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    270
    184
    78
    60
See reviews for
93
285
28
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel was reasonable - comfortable beds and large room, but bathroom very small.

Food was ok, but restaurant service was poor. Staff were very friendly and helpful, but there weren't enough of them to provide a good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Can't fault the quality of service, particularly from the restaurant manager. First class. We found all of the staff friendly and very helpful.

Hotel is in a good location for accessibility although there is some road noise from the dual carriageway adjacent.

Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel due to the service and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The rooms not fronting the main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Fantastic staff both on reception and the two night guys who showed great hospitality after we had been working late nights. Warm room, great gym and good food. Short ride from Cambridge, and one if the best nights sleeps I've had in a hotel, thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed two nights.Everyone so helpful on check in & request for extras in our room arrived promptly..all the reception staff were so helpful,even getting bus timetable & map for Cambridge.Our room was an upgrade ... very spacious & clean.
A very BIG THANKS to our breakfast supervisor (Mrs Elizabeth Binks)..she was so pleasant & helpful...even going to the trouble of getting me some bananas as I was leaving from breakfast...
Many thanks for a wonderful weekend break & lovely food !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Six of us stayed for an overnight stay. Everything was great with no hiccups. The rooms were of a fantastic standard and all the staff in all the areas we visited were so helpful. I wondered whether it would just be like any other chain but they seemed to go the extra mile for very little extra cost to the low end of chain hotels. I would definitely stay here again. Everyone should be applauded for their customer service technique. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed one night and two rounds of golf. The staff were friendly, helpfiul and respectful. A Very quick check in. The food was very good with plenty of choice. The twin bedroom had all the necessities, bed very comfortable. The golf course is in good condition and tidy. Would recommend this hotel.



Diana L

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Huntingdon Road, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort hotel set in countryside, 6 miles from Cambridge train station and on the A14 near M11 in the village of Bar Hill. All 136 rooms will have been refurbished by early 2013 and new photos of the rooms can be found on our homepage.Heath club with spa and 18 hole championship golf course on site, great restaurant and bar with many outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the weather and scenery.For meeting and events we have a range of facilities including banqueting for up to 200 people and purpose built conference centre with state of the art AV and cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club Bar Hill, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.