We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huntingdon Road, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bar Hill
Cm13da
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just come back from a two-day break at the Menzies Cambridge Hotel. We had the dinner 1st night B & B package for £174.00 but ate second night out of choice. Check-in was quick, we only booked two hours before we arrived and the reception staff were very friendly. The room was clean and the decor good, the bed was a very comfortable king size with a good size TV for the room. The hotel at night was quiet and couldn't hear the other guests.
We dined on the first night at 7pm and were very impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the restaurant staff and particularly the lady manager or maitre d' as she genuinely wanted people to enjoy the restaurant and food with a smile. There was no waiting to be seated and service was not slow as some have mentioned. The food was served hot, it had not been put under heat lamps and left waiting as in some places and the portions were a good size, we were full after three courses. We ate on two nights and the food and service was the same standard. In fact all the staff of the hotel we met were friendly, professional and happy - they were a good team. The breakfast was also very good, it was buffet style with a good choice of food and definitely set you up for the day.
The hotel is situated on the ourskirts of Cambridge, there are bus stops right outside the hotel but driving does not take long and on a Sunday we could park all day in Cambridge parking zones for free but be prepared for a long pleasant walk into the city centre. During the week you can park free after 5pm in the zones.
Really good hotel, great city, full of history, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    235
    136
    60
    40
See reviews for
76
239
23
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was lovely and clean, staff were very friendly and the spa and pool area were great, and the food was excellent!
I think the only thing that lets the hotel down a little bit is the amount of foreign staff, it can cause a bit of a language barrier at times.

Room Tip: If you're going for the Spa, rooms 110-135 or so are along the same corridor as the Spa area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over Easter at a crazy low price of £201 TOTAL. The hotel is easy to get to and easy to get into Cambridge as well. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier.

There was a bit of a wait in the restaurant on our 2nd and 3rd night but it was much busier and staff did apologies. Food was excellent and breakfast was large enough to set you up for the day

We forgot the clocks went forward on our last night so was an hour late checking out. Never caused a problem at all.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a a basic room but it was very good. Bath and shower, tea and coffee, decent TV. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

For a chain this provided excellent value for money. We'd the Easter deal, dinner bed & breakfast plus cream tea in an executive room for £129 per night. Bus goes into Cambridge from outside hotel every 20 mins. And just off A14 very convenient to explore. Some issues in restaurant one night -slow service - but they had more patrons than expected and we were given glasses of sparkling wine as an apology. We'd use it again.

Room Tip: Executive rooms very spacious with lots of little extras. Cookies especially delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful. The evening meal was excellent and the service in the restaurant was very efficient. I definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back when I am next in Cambridge. Many thanks.
Sheila Freeman

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 8 friends stayed here for a sedate hen weekend (including mothers!) during which we used the pool, relaxed in the bar and ate in the restaurant.
I cannot speak highly enough of the standard of the room, food, service and overall experience ; nothing was too much trouble for our waiter, Lewis.
As for breakfast - what a range of delights! From the choice or sausages and local bacon, to the smoked salmon, Italian cream cheese and menu options such as smoked mackerel, it could not have been bettered!
Well done Menzies, you and your manager are a credit to the industry and I would highly recommend you for any occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Huntingdon Road, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort hotel set in countryside, 6 miles from Cambridge train station and on the A14 near M11 in the village of Bar Hill. All 136 rooms will have been refurbished by early 2013 and new photos of the rooms can be found on our homepage.Heath club with spa and 18 hole championship golf course on site, great restaurant and bar with many outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the weather and scenery.For meeting and events we have a range of facilities including banqueting for up to 200 people and purpose built conference centre with state of the art AV and cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club Bar Hill, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.