We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huntingdon Road, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Golfing Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is superb and we managed to get a deal for golf and two-nights stay. The golf facilities were superb and the course was nice to play, both on Friday and Saturday. The hotel food was superb in the carvery but the second night not so good when mass catering was the order of the day on a set menu. The bar was well over priced. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    270
    184
    78
    60
See reviews for
93
285
28
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First impressions of this hotel are very good, the reception is very clean and all staff very helpful. The room I stayed in had recently been refurbished and was very good the only down side was the small and dated bathroom.
The meals were all very good and just about reasonable on price.
The bed quality is average and same for pillows and duvet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on a weekend break deal, 2 nights Bed & Breakfast plus one evening meal and thought it was good value for money. We chose to have our evening meal on the friday night and although the restaurant was very busy the staff were attentive and service pretty good, the carvery menu was the one included in the weekend break price (carvery would never be my normal choice) and we couln't fault it, there was plenty to choose from and you could have as much as you wanted. Breakfast was excellent, staff were kept very busy but coped pretty well.
The bedroom was spacious and quiet, bathroom very small, but adequate especially since it was only for a couple of nights. We had a couple of drinks both nights in the upstairs bar and to be frank some of the furniture is rather tired, badly marked chairs and sofas do need replaced. The only other slight comment I would make is about used room service trays (not ours) left for 24 hours and more in the corridors outside bedroom doors, half eaten food and dirty glasses is not a good look for guests walking past. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would use this hotel again if we were in the area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for your review and I was pleased to read you had a great stay with us. I have shared your review with the team and pleased you enjoyed the catering, we will review our room service collection as these should not be left in the corridors.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is conveniently situated just outside Cambridge and is perfectly adequate. Not quite four star but breakfast was in the top ten; Evening meal good but not exceptional. Rooms clean and Staff very helpful. I thought that price of drinks was excessive so pop round to Tesco -five minutes away. Recommend that you go to Cambridge by bus - you don't want to drive in town

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Amanda and her team at this hotel made our big day very special no problems lovely friendly staff always willing to help thankyou once again love mr & mrs cleary x

brilliant food bar staff nice

rooms homely and clean spa and pool area lovely relaxing very happy with our stay and wedding

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for leaving us your review and I know Ali, Amanda and the team were delighted by your feedback.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, Derbyshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with a number of others attending a business conference. Evening meal was poor but breakfast OK. Clearly all the rooms need to be refurbished, some have been but the one I had was only adequate. Staff pleasant and helpful but clearly the restaurant was understaffed in the evening and breakfast. The bar has a small smoking area with a couple of tables but this needs refurbishing, paint peeling and generally unkempt. It is unlikely that we will use this hotel in future so they may loose some good business.

Room Tip: ASk for the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for your review and to respond to your title, and confirm that every year the AA assesses the hotel and it is graded as 4 stars.

I'm sorry if you didn't enjoy dinner and glad you have noted that the hotel is being refurbished at present.

I have checked your comments about the outside terrace and these areas are maintained all year however at the beginning of spring we do jet wash, paint and varnish the outside terrace ready for the year ahead and noting you stayed in October, it is a little jaded now and will be looked at when the weather improves.

Kind regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Hill hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We recently spent a night at this hotel, generally the hotel was ok, rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up, very comfy bed though. The bar area is quite nice and has a relaxed feel, we had an afternoon cream tea which was nice, it included sandwiches which was a nice touch. The three course evening meal was very dissapointing, ordered a bottle of sauvignon blanc but was told they didn't have any in stock, we ordered the drunken pork and lemon and herb chicken for mains, the pork was supposed to be marinated in Magners cider but it didn't seem to be and the chicken was totally unseasoned. The deserts were awful, avoid the waffles at all cost and try the pear tart at your peril! The food really is not up to scratch for a hotel of this supposed standard. The bar ran out of Jack Daniels and we were told that there may be some more in the cellar but would have to wait a while before someone could go and look. The breakfast in the morning was nice and surprisingly everything was available! Oh just one more thing.. make sure you check your bill when checking out, we were charged £14 for exceeding our allowance (Travelzoo deal) for the evening meal, however we had not exceeded it and the money was taken off the bill, may have been a genuine mistake but just be wary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm sorry to read of your disappointments. I have shared your review with my team.

I'm sorry that the wine you requested was out of stock, we have recently changed wine list and this did cause a few issues during the 2 week changeover period with some bins being replaced by new wines.

I note your comment about the food and this has been discussed with the kitchen team. We have a new head chef just started and I'm sure those areas you have highlighted will be improved and I am sorry that the food was not as expected when you dined with us, but glad you enjoyed the afternoon tea.

I will keep an eye on the billing as this is automatic and not had any other feedback regarding incorrect charges.

Thanks

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Huntingdon Road, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort hotel set in countryside, 6 miles from Cambridge train station and on the A14 near M11 in the village of Bar Hill. All 136 rooms will have been refurbished by early 2013 and new photos of the rooms can be found on our homepage.Heath club with spa and 18 hole championship golf course on site, great restaurant and bar with many outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the weather and scenery.For meeting and events we have a range of facilities including banqueting for up to 200 people and purpose built conference centre with state of the art AV and cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club Bar Hill, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.