We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You’re paying for location, period.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jr Luna Pizarro 168 | Urb. La Colonial, Callao, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Callao
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You’re paying for location, period.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Our flight arrived in Lima at 11:00 pm, and we had a flight out to Cusco the next morning at 8. We debated whether or not to get a hotel and are still debating whether or not we should have done so. The Manhattan Inn is not 10 minutes from the airport, which is convenient. But it’s also a block away from one of the biggest avenues in Lima, so we heard vehicle traffic most of the night. We were there on a Saturday night, so we were also unwilling guests for the fiesta at the house next door. We’d hoped for six hours of quality sleep in between flights and got about 4. We did get a nice warm shower though, which was much appreciated after a full day of travel. I certainly wouldn’t stay here for any reason other than a quick airport transfer, but it was clean and comfortable enough to warrant a few stars. When we had to do the overnight layover in Lima again on our way out, we opted to stay at a much nicer place in Miraflores for a cheaper price and were happier with that decision.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    33
    54
    25
    12
See reviews for
24
46
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The best thing about this airport is its convenience to the airport. We stayed our first night after arriving at Lima around 10pm, and checking out at 8am for a morning flight. The neighborhood around the hotel wasn't the best - we weren't hungry upon arrival, but if we were I'm not sure we would have been able to find much of anything open that late. It also didn't seem like an area we would have wanted to walk around in, at night, to look for food or a convenience store.

The rooms are pretty basic - clean, ok beds. The bathroom is small and we only had a lukewarm shower. There's no heat, so the room was quite chilly on a cool September evening. Our room faced the street and it was rather noisy at night (relatively thin walls). I wore earplugs but was able to get a good night's sleep since we were exhausted from the long travel day.

No hairdryers are in the room, but we were able to borrow one from the front desk. We appreciated having the free wireless internet and the computer to use downstairs in the lobby.

Breakfast is modest -- rolls with butter and jam, scrambled eggs, and coffee, tea, and juice.

I'd recommend this hotel only if you needed a convenient, affordable place to stay near Lima airport for one night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

If all you want is something more than a bench in the airport to spend the night, consider this place. Make sure you have a transfer arranged ahead of time and don't expect to go wondering out for a local dinner. This is a place to put your head down for the night after arriving on a late flight from the US or elsewhere. You'll have a chance to take a shower before heading back to the airport for any onward flight the next day. The hotel Manhattan serves a breakfast with scrambled eggs (much to our surpirise!). Defintinely not a place for everyone, but worth considering if you're willing to accept something other than 'safe' cooky cutter american comfort. Think the peruvian equivalent of Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We are a family of four, with two young kids, aged 8 and 10. We were put into this hotel for litterallyan 8 hour stop-over by our tour operator, Peru for Less. We only wanted a place to shower and sleep, and maybe have breakfast in the morning. We got all three of these. The room we had was quite large with three double beds. There was a fan in the room, but no A/C. The room was minimally furnished, and the beds were comfortable enough to sleep, but certainly were not luxurious...the same goes for the linens which were pretty old.

The breakfast was simple, but we had juice, bread, jam, butter, coffee, and eggs. I was happy with the breakfast, and the staff seemed to be fairly attentive.

Manhattan is is located about a 7 minute drive from the Airport, and for his reason, was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

this place is called Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel. Imagine skid row in downtown LA at night without all the bums and crack heads. it´s kindda like that. there´s nothing around and the hotel is a 2 story building that´s basically a HOSTEL!

The moment I got to the room, it smelled like an old wet rag. I opened the window and it didnt' help much. across from our hotel there was a hall where people were having a party. it's about 2am and i figured it's going to end soon. an hour later, 3am, an m.c. came on and blasted the speakers and told everyone in the party to put their hands in the air, dance, scream, etc... it was soooo loud i felt like i was in the party. The party ended around 5:30am.

While i was trying to get some sleep with the smell and the loud horrid music, there were bed bugs. I felt it crawling on my head, legs and arms.

Then by 6am i kept hearing people talking down stairs and diesel engine cars pulling up and driving off. apparently there was a newspaper distributing below my window.

Then I decided to shower since there is no point sleeping any longer. i went in the shower and guess what? the shower head was so rusty 20% of the holes were working.

I waited at the lobby before the restuarant was opened and when it did, the service was just sooooo slow. 2 tables? apparently our server was also a cook. This place was horrible and I would not recommend anyone to go there unless I hate them.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Was just staying for the night before my flight to Cuzco the following morning. They provide transportation to and from the airport for a fee. This is not a nice place by any stretch of the imagination, but it is cheap and close to the airport. It's an OK alternative ONLY for an overnight stay by the airport. I would NOT recommend this place for anything else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Spotless lobby, halls, and rooms. Not your conventional "motel". Each room was decorated differently. Very pleasant. Staff was outstanding - woman at front desk and man who drove us to the airport. We were there on a Sunday evening when the restaurant is closed. Woman at front desk suggested that we have pizza or other meals delivered. Our choice was an assortment of pizzas. We had our feast in the bar/restaurant area of hotel. Because of the friendly staff, we felt at home at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I wanted to be near the airport. Would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel

Address: Jr Luna Pizarro 168 | Urb. La Colonial, Callao, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Callao
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Callao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel is strategically located 5 minutes away from Jorge Chavez International Airport. We offer our premises to those passengers that are in transit flights and need to connect to any domestic or international flights. We give our guests the facility of early check-in and late check-out; continental breakfast starting at 4am; transportation services to and from the airport at accessible rates; free internet; restaurant & bar; free pre-check-in to your flight prior departure and tour services in Lima and other parts of the country!We are 15 minutes away from the Historic Centre of Lima and main attractions of the city. Around our hotel, in Callao district, there are many important recreational and entertainment centers such as, Aventura Mall, Plaza San Miguel Shopping Center, casinos, banks, the Inca’s market, among others.Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel features good and comfortable facilities that combined with our personalized and high standard services, will make you feel like you are at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Hotel Callao
Manhattan Hotel Lima
Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel Lima Region, Peru - Callao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.