We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Sleeping at the Aiport, I Suppose” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jr Luna Pizarro 168 | Urb. La Colonial, Callao, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Callao
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Better than Sleeping at the Aiport, I Suppose”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

What can I say that hasn’t been said? Unless you looking for a place to sleep while you wait for your connecting flight to Cuzco, there is no reason to stay here. The surrounding neighborhood feels dangerous, and you shouldn’t be walking around. While I am sure our room was clean, it certainly did not feel that way. It felt old and outdated. Also, some sort of nearby “discoteca” blasted music into the wee hours of the morning. All in all, I guess this was better than trying to sleep in the airport lobby; a consolation prize, I suppose.

We didn’t take the hotel shuttle (for a fee). Maybe we should have. Trying to hire a taxi driver outside the international gate seemed shady and possibly dangerous. We got surrounded by 10+ cab drivers who were fighting for our business. Each showed us some sort of license, which were all different (begging the question whether they made it themselves). They were also grabbing our bags, trying to drag them to their waiting vehicles. You simply do not know who to trust. If this is the start of your experience in Peru, it can be a very stressful one!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    33
    55
    26
    13
See reviews for
24
47
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is safe but it's not in the best of neighborhoods. We stayed here simply for airport proximity and only for one night. The accommodations are basic and the staff is helpful. The hotel offers a shuttle service to the airport which is pricey than a cab, but it is worth paying for the convenience.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were arriving late from the USA into Lima and leaving on a very early flight to Arequipa, so were looking for somewhere close to the airport that was inexpensive, since we would only be there for a few hours. After checking TripAdvisor Forums we settled on the Manhattan Hotel, which was less than half the cost of the Airport Ramada (which did not get stellar reviews). The pick up at the airport was trouble-free, although our friends from Los Angeles who came in after midnight had to wait a while, since they went through customs quickly with just carry-on luggage. The hotel is about a ten minute ride from the airport.

The Manhattan is a very basic hotel – clean, with courteous staff. The rooms are a good size, we had two double beds in our room, as is the bathroom. There is wifi in the rooms. We had to get up at 04:00 the next morning to go back to the airport, so breakfast was just coffee and rolls. The only negative was that we had to wait 30 minutes for the van to arrive to take us to the airport. Leaving at 05:00 did not cause any issues, even though the airport was very busy at that time. However, if we had known about the delay, we could have slept a little longer.

Room Tip: Good for a short overnight stay close to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel one night so we could catch an early morning flight. The only redeeming features were the staff's friendliness, the cheap rate of $60 US a night and a decent breakfast. The rooms were nothing sub par, but there were no bedbugs and the shower was hot. Normally, this would never be my choice and I would not stay there again, but it served its purpose. I would not wander the neighborhood where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Manhatten hotel's only real feature is it's prximity to the airport, 7-12 minutes depending on the time of day. Combined with getting a good online rate (of which you need to bring proof) it can be a good place to stay if you want to minimize travel time. But be aware of the following negtive points:
• The shuttle is very expensive, you are much better off taking a taxi upon arival at Lima airport, from the Kiosk there.
• Breakfast will be ready when they feel like it, not at 6am as they advertise
• They tried a few times to charge the rack rate, until I showed them the lower rate I booked online.
• There is no Airconditioning, there might be a fan
• It can be noisy as the hotel is close to busy streets and the hallways echo a lot of noise.
• Rooms are OK, but not very clean
• You have to take a taxi to go anywhere from here.

All in all, worth the price in return for some extra time of sleeping due to not having te travel far to the airport

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The hotel Manhattan is a good hotel, I slept 1 night, because I had my flight very early.
also I could say that the service is very good, because was one night very quiet and I could sleep comfortably.
people of hotel was very friendly.
I recommend this hotel, is very near from airport and the service is good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We didn't expect much of this place as it was inexpensive and close to the airport. We were right on most accounts. The room was basic, clean with 1980's decor. The bathroom was large and clean with a good shower. The hotel has an attached restaurant which was fine for breakfast, nothing fancy or too expensive. The place seemed like a magnet for budget world travelers.

We did have some problems with neighborhood barking dogs and the sounds of jets taking off making it difficult to sleep. The best part of our stay was the excellent service at the front desk changing our room to a relatively more quiet spot and also scrambling to get us a taxi to the airport when our tour company had failed to make the connection for us,

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs at the back behind the front road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel

Address: Jr Luna Pizarro 168 | Urb. La Colonial, Callao, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Callao
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Callao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel is strategically located 5 minutes away from Jorge Chavez International Airport. We offer our premises to those passengers that are in transit flights and need to connect to any domestic or international flights. We give our guests the facility of early check-in and late check-out; continental breakfast starting at 4am; transportation services to and from the airport at accessible rates; free internet; restaurant & bar; free pre-check-in to your flight prior departure and tour services in Lima and other parts of the country!We are 15 minutes away from the Historic Centre of Lima and main attractions of the city. Around our hotel, in Callao district, there are many important recreational and entertainment centers such as, Aventura Mall, Plaza San Miguel Shopping Center, casinos, banks, the Inca’s market, among others.Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel features good and comfortable facilities that combined with our personalized and high standard services, will make you feel like you are at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Hotel Callao
Manhattan Hotel Lima
Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel Lima Region, Peru - Callao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Inn Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.