We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the range B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swinside Farmhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Swinside Farmhouse to your Saves list
Swinside Farmhouse
Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Top of the range B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Just had the one night stay at the Swinside Farmhouse and despite the poor weather (well it is January) it was an excellent choice. A family run business with very friendly, not over bearing owners. The rooms where full of typical old farmhouse asymmetrical character and had everything required for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was as good if not better than you would find in most other B&Bs.

The location of the Swinside Inn is directly opposite and really is just 30 seconds away. It serves traditional pub food and Theakstons XB (for the ale lovers) so its perfectly located for a short wobble back to the B&B.

In a nutshell, the Swinside Farmhouse is a relatively secluded B&B but close to Keswick (5 mins drive) perfectly located for a walk up Cat Bells, comfortable, friendly and serves a good breakfast ... would we go again? Yes !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This was the second time we had stayed at Swinside farm Guest House. Comfy beds, great breakfasts and a pub on the doorstep. Joanne & Rob are excellent hosts too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

A cosy little hideout tucked away within easy reach of Keswick. We loved the breakfast. The weather was too bad to explore around but I would certainly visit again to complete the exploration. Recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have just spent a fabulous 5 days at this delightful B&B The proprietors Joanne & Rob are perfect hosts. Breakfast was perfect The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable.
Brenda & Ray Tait.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My partner and I visited this B+B over 6 years ago and found it good then, lovely hosts, lovely breakfast, cosy and clean and in a lovely location. It's close to loads of good walks, a short drive away from Keswick and a stones throw from the local pub (which serve evening meals).
We have recommended this B+B to family and friends since and after we managed to get away on a two day break from our hectic work life found ourselves back at this B+B.
The rooms have been updated since our last visit and our Room 1 was very warm, cosy and spacious with good facilities.
We have both returned home wondering how we left it so long between visits and will definitly try to make time next year to visit again with our hiking boots to tackle some of those hills which make the place so picture perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. This continued throughout our stay of 3 nights. This is a great location, quiet but easy access to Keswick and surrounding areas. A variety of great walking direct from the farmhouse, no need to drive. Very convenient country pub over the road. Breakfast was excellent and lots of it! Jo is very attentive and some lovely little touches throughout our stay showed that she is committed to making your stay an enjoyable one. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would not hesitate to go back. In fact, we can't wait...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

On our return to this lovely B and B we found that the rooms had been improved but given that the accommodation was good before, this was a bonus. The setting is perfect for a relaxing break and we were able to do several walks from the house without having to use the car. The room was comfortable and quiet and the breakfast has to be one of the best 'full English' I have ever had ! Locally the Farmers Arms in Portinscale is a good place to eat and a discount is offered when staying at the B and B.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swinside Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Farmhouse

Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiniside Farmhouse is in the Newlands Valley. It has three letting bedrooms all of which are en-suite and tastefully decorated. It is in the ideal location with some fantastic walking and cycling. The views are breathtaking all around, especially on the top of Catbells and Derwentwater is just a stone throw away. The market town of Keswick is just 3 miles awaywith all amenities. There is an Inn across the road that do bar meals and also more eating placea in Portinscale and Braithwaite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Swinside Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Farmhouse Keswick/Newlands Valley, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinside Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.