We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing farm break (and great for river cottage)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spillers Farm

Save Saved
You added Spillers Farm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spillers Farm
Seaton Road | Axminster, Musbury EX13 8AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Musbury B&B and Inns
Bristol
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing farm break (and great for river cottage)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Like a lot of visitors to Spillers farm; my wife and I were in for dinner at River Cottage.

Although my journey from London that evening was a nightmare; the welcome from Bridget and Keith was exceptionally warm and welcoming, allowing me to forget my day instantly.

Given my nightmare journey they helped us with a very quick turnaround, organising for the taxi to return to pick us up after we had missed the original run (the taxi driver seemed to know Bridget and Keith well and was a good laugh!!)

River Cottage itself was amazing, just 5 mins by taxi and we returned to Spillers Farm full and content, for a peaceful nights sleep.

Breakfast the next morning was a full English, with home-made sausages, bacon and fresh eggs. We only felt slightly guilty when after breakfast we went outside to meet the pigs, ducks and chickens, with a tour of the land given by Merryck (their gorgeous dog). Wellies were available for me to borrow which helped me explore properly!

The room itself was nice, plain and simple with some really thoughtful touches like the make-up removal wipes and the refreshments. Our room also had a fantastic view over the neighbouring countryside, which looked glorious on a clear, bright October morning.

After just one night at Spillers Farm, we both felt relaxed and refreshed, full of the clean country air...if only city life was that relaxing!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spillersfarmbridget, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you SteveShovelhands so much for this lovely review which has made our hearts glad, and for all the lovely photographs that you've taken the time to post.

We use Axminster based Paynes Premier Travel for all our guests' transport needs. As this reviewer rightly states they are very professional but fun and one of the cheapest taxi companies around for trips to and from River Cottage. We often have a few couples staying and Paynes has an eight-seater minibus for groups of four couples. Using the minibus means that the round trip to River Cottage is cheaper for everyone, so do book your transport with Paynes if you're staying at Spillers Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
185
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just stayed at Spillers Farm, cottage. The hosts were very accommodating and it is in an excellent location for visiting all the local attractions. Whilst the property has everything you would probably need, it is a little tired in places like the bathrooms which could do with renovating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spillersfarmbridget, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
As always, we are grateful to this reviewer for her feedback and we are pleased that she mentioned that Spillers Farm is in an excellent location for visiting the beautiful countryside around us and the Jurassic Coast which is just a five minute drive away.
The timing of this review is incredibly ironic considering that this week we are undertaking extensive renovation of the cottage with particular attention to the bathrooms which will include re-tiling the shower room, painting the cottage in its entirety and new fixtures and fittings throughout. The cottage has been booked back to back this season so this is the first opportunity we have had to get in and do the necessary work. We are fairly certain we mentioned this when we were showing the guests around the cottage and apologised that they were the last guests in before the work was to start, but as it was a larger group of five perhaps the message did not reach the reviewer.
It is disappointing when guests choose to use the public forum of TripAdvisor to air these concerns rather than mentioning them to us privately as it can give an unbalanced impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a midweek break at Spillers Farm and really enjoyed our stay. We had the King size en suite which is separate from the other rooms, with it's own front door reached via the breakfast room. The room was a good size with a huge bed. Yes is on a main road but the curtains are thick and it goes quiet at night. The location makes it easy to get around too. Keith was always happy to chat and show you his animals. Merryck the dog took me for a walk round the small lake and small holding where I saw the ducks and chickens. Breakfast was tasty and filling and the location is convenient for the Axe and Exe estuaries which i visited while I was there, and hubby was at an Axminster tools event. Colyford Common nature reserve is five mins down the road. There are loads of good pubs nearby and we also had lunch at river cottage which was good. Highly recommend thus place and we will be back :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our fourth or possibly fifth stay with Keith and Bridget (and Merryck) at Spillers. From a practical point of view, the location is great for visiting other places like Lyme Regis or Axminster. There are lots of great local pubs and restaurants which Keith and Bridget can recommend; and the rooms are clean, well presented and comfortable.

On top of this, the breakfasts are unbeatable, with all the produce coming from the farm and Keith, Bridget and the animals are so welcoming it's hard not to feel at home there.

Make sure you try the rhubarb and ginger jam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked to stay here as I was going on a course at River cottage, location wise its 10 minutes to River cottage HQ. Hosts Bridget and Keith are very welcoming and you immediately feel at home. We stayed in the family room, the beds were lovely and comfy, nice and clean, good tea and coffee supplies, and even a fridge in the room! Breakfast is amazing and consists of home made bacon and sausages and fresh eggs from the chooks. Wonderful place to stay and can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the kingsize room which was great. It's on a separate part of the house and just a small stairway to the breakfast room. We had a room and the garden/back door key, which gave us the freedom to come in or go out, as much and as late as we liked, without disturbing anybody. We didn't check out any of the other bedrooms but the view from our room was lovely and got some great pictures of the sunset from it. The B&B has such a lovely homely feel and is just a 10 minute car journey away from River Cottage HQ, which was what we initially went for. However, Spillers Farm really was a highlight of our weekend away. We enjoyed seeing the farm animals and being greeted by Merrick and having lots of cuddles with Sila the cat, who snuck in to the room, with the help of me encouraging her though. The cooked breakfast is really good, using fresh, quality produce and love the homemade Rhubarb & Ginger jam. The home owners are friendly and personable, they really have got it right and we would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a stay at Spillers Farm B&B (as part of a trip to River Cottage HQ for an anniversary treat). We could not have been made to feel more welcome and the accommodation is excellent; clean and bright and nice touches in the rooms. A big thank you to Keith and Bridget. Lovely people and perfect hosts. Pleased to recommend this excellent B&B to anyone wishing to visit East Devon or River Cottage HQ.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spillers Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spillers Farm

Address: Seaton Road | Axminster, Musbury EX13 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in some of East Devon’s most spectacular countryside, Spillers Farm B&B accommodation and holiday cottage is a haven of peace and tranquillity. Nestling in the beautiful village of Musbury, near Axminster, in the Axe Valley - an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty - Spillers Farm B&B is a working smallholding, ideal for those going to Hugh Fernley-Whittingstall's River Cottage HQ. A recommended bed and breakfast and accommodation provider for River Cottage HQ and The River Cottage Canteen in Axminster, Spillers Farm is one of the closest B&B's to each, being just a a five minute drive away from both. It is also ideal for those wishing to explore the East Devon countryside and the coast, being just a few miles from the Regency seaside town of Sidmouth and fossil-hunting on the Jurassic Coast at Lyme Regis where celebrity chef Mark Hix has recently opened Mark Hix's Oyster and Fish House. Spillers Farm offers the visitor numerous options for a relaxing break. Stay for one or two nights' B&B in our comfy bedrooms, or for a week in Cassie's Cottage, the spacious, self-contained Devon self-catering holiday cottage. All our own produce in our breakfasts - home-reared rare breed sausages and hand-cured bacon, free range eggs, organically-grown tomatoes. We also sell the best quality pork, sausages, bacon and ham from our own rare breed pigs, succulent roasts from our own lambs and fresh eggs from our free range hens or ducks, so why not take some home with you?Working smallholding on the Devon and Dorset border. Five minutes from River Cottage HQ and 10 minutes from Lyme Regis. Gorgeous unspoilt views, private lake. Farm Shop and Tea Rooms on site using and selling own produce. Also self-catering cottage sleeping six. Guests are welcome to row round or picnic by the lake or help out feeding the animals(hand-bottle feed our lambs in the spring), or just relax in the comfy en-suite rooms. Dog friendly in cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Spillers Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spillers Farm Musbury, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spillers Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.