We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memoria Palace & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Memoria Palace & Resort to your Saves list
Memoria Palace & Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ba Yakha | Khan Pailin, Pailin 00855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Pailin B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Food was excellent, staff very helpful, and beautiful setting. The owners are truly dedicated to providing good service and facilities, so just let them know what you think. Many things to do off the beaten track in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prim s, Owner at Memoria Palace & Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a review. Your review is very important for us. We continue to do our best to make your stay of fond of memory and feel as your own home. We are looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This resort has wonderful views of the mountains and valleys outside Pallin City .We found the staff and manicured grounds to be far beyond our expectations. The salt water pool and its views were very refreshing and hard to leave. The food at the restaurant was excellent with all vegetables and spices grown on the property . Will be back for sure !

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views and are very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prim s, Owner at Memoria Palace & Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We highly appreciate very much that you spent your value time to write us a review. Your review is very important for us. We are excited hear that you had a good time with us. We continue to do our best to make you feel that you come to your own home. We are looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This small, eco-friendly resort in the foothills of the Cardamom Montains is only 13 k. from the Thai border but in valley that is a little piece of paradise.

If you enjoy hiking verdant trials, swimming at the base of remote waterfalls, or simply relaxing poolside - Memoria is a hidden treasure.

When I told friends in Siem Reap that I wanted to explore the region of Pailin Province: (a) they had no idea where it was. (b) they had heard nothing positive about Pailin. (c) they thought I had lost my mind, (d) all of the above.

The answer, (e) None of the above. This province and the resort Cambodia's hidden treasure and very easy to access.

Coincidentally, before travelling to Cambodia a friend in the U.S. who worked here for years, told me about Memoria Palace, the quality of the property, the friendliness of the manager and staff, and that it in was the most beautiful setting she had experienced in this country. Her recommendation was spot on.

My weekend here has been a relaxing treasure; trekking in verdant forests, swimming in pools under steep waterfalls, and evening visiting a local coffee growing plantation where I was introduced to the owner for a private tour of his property.

Only 3.5 hours from Siem Reap, 1.5 hours from Battambang, and close to the new (safe and easy to transit) Thai border crossing at Prum, Memoria Palace is paradise in Pailin Province.

Room Tip: The deluxe suites a bit more expensive, but worth the upgrade especially on multi-night stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had an amazing time at the Memoria Palace. It was so beautiful and relaxing there. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool was to die for - you could view the whole country side from the poolside lounge chairs while sipping on tropical drinks. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with air conditioning and sliding glass doors so you could walk right out into the pathway in front of the little lake in the middle of all of the bungalow-style rooms. There is also a fantastic restaurant with excellent food. I would definitely go back there if I had an opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prim s, Owner at Memoria Palace & Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Memoria Palace & Resort to stay during your time at Pailin province, Cambodia. Also, thank you very much for your review which we appreciated very much. We will do our best to improve our facilities and services to make your stay more pleasant and enjoyable next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We only stayed one night here...would have liked to stay longer, but we were on a schedule. The rooms are fantastic, the food was great and it just had a nice feel to it. We were on a tour, so am not sure about the cost/value as it was part of our package, but it was a lovely hotel and everyone on our tour loved it.

Room Tip: I have a feeling they're all good rooms, but we had a double a bit away from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prim s, Owner at Memoria Palace & Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Greetings from the management team and all of the staff at the Memoria Palace & Resort! It was great to host your visit, and we are all missing you. We hope to see you again in the future. We wish you great success in your present endeavors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I just returned to Phnom Penh from the Cardamom Mountains, and could not wait to write this review. I was there at the foothills of the mountains for a week and ready to go back. Each night I lodged at Memoria Palace and Resort, and ate almost every meal there too.

Let me state immediately that Memoria is a really nice place to be. The resort, which is more eco-resort style to me, has these simple yet stylish bungalow cottages. Several are under construction and these new ones will have a more rustic feel to them. The property is very inviting despite the construction. All the contractors are friendly and interested in a brief greeting and welcome. I thought that was really nice actually.

There is a nice swimming pool on the side of one of the larger hilltops, and the pool area overlooks the entire resort. From that view one can see the entire resort, both little lakes on the property, most of the bungalows, and off into the distance you can take in a wonderful view of the landscape of the region. The food is classic Khmer food. You can certainly order a western style breakfast, which they are more than happy to prepare. I met the cooking staff and they are so much fun. The entire kitchen staff exploded with laughter when I poked my head in the kitchen and waved at them.

My first dish on arrival was the red curry…has a perfect spice punch without being too overpowering, and the rice was even very tasty. You guessed it…I had it again the following night it was that good. The staff…where do I start? I was really impressed by the general manager and the staff in general. They are friendly, down to earth and very helpful. The GM and property manager are both extremely professional and very easy to be around. Some of the waitresses are naturally a little shy but they love to be around people, and they welcomed me as one of their own in some ways. The owner and his wife are a lot of fun. When you are around him (the husband) you get a sense that he really cares about the surrounding area, and from a few of my discussions with him he is quite the conservationists as well. He is walking encyclopedia and seems to know every inch of the area. Locals love him. Such a nice place and I actually plan to return to Memoria with my wife in the very near future.

The town of Pailin is pretty small and quaint, the entire mountain region is vast and expansive, and the area around Memoria is incredibly beautiful. There is even a local family that opens up their property to guests for picking fruit. The picturesque view is something to take in. I never knew Cambodia had such stunning and soothing mountainous scenery. The wind was dry and refreshing in the dusk and evening…come to think of it…refreshing all day long. One can walk for miles from the resort property and still not see everything there is to see.

If you travel to the Cardamom Mountains in Cambodia then I highly recommend Memoria Palace and Resort. You will look back on your time there and wonder why in the world you could not just move out there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

It is a Eco-Friendly Resort. It built along the valley with fresh air, quiet, and it is very beautiful. The delux-room is very big, nice and clean, good service, and best food. I enjoyed so much with the swimming pool on hillside swmiming with panorama of Pailin province views and views of the surroundings. Night trekking was a very good experience walking into a dangerous jungles with breeze air and full moon, I was very excited, even though I did not see animals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memoria Palace & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memoria Palace & Resort

Address: Ba Yakha | Khan Pailin, Pailin 00855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Pailin Province > Pailin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pailin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Memoria Palace & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Memoria Palace & Resort is an eco-tourism resort located in the foothills of the Cardamom Mountains of Pailin, Cambodia. The resort spans over 13 lush hectares and features 16 beautiful bungalow rooms, 3 unique traditional style thatched eco-lodges, a hilltop saltwater swimming pool, open space restaurant & outdoor bar, and conference room/rehearsal studio. Memoria is a hidden getaway with inviting appeal, magnificent views across the countryside, fresh clean air and an invigorating breeze coming off the mountains. Our location provides the perfect environment for a variety of retreats, peaceful relaxation, personal rejuvenation or adventurous outdoor activities. Pailin province, known for gem mining, is a peaceful rural town unspoilt by modern development that allows visitors a glimpse into the real Cambodian life of the once war-torn area. Easily accessible from Chanthaburi via the Ban Pakard/Phsa Prum Border which is free from the scams and hassles of Poipet or Koh Kong, Pailin offers you an alternative way to enter/exit Cambodia with good roads allowing easy access to Koh Chang, Rayong, Pattaya, Bangkok, Battambang, Siem Reap, and Phnom Penh. It's also an ideal place to base yourself for sightseeing, cycling, hiking and trekking excursions and guided tours into the Cardamom Mountains, one of Southeast Asia's best preserved wilderness areas which hosts an abundance of unique species as well as some of the few remaining populations of endangered animals once common to South East Asia. We are committed to turning this once war-torn area into a responsible tourism destination, by offering a brighter future to the younger generation in Pailin, thus protecting the local people - be they our staff or from the local communities - from the negative impact of tourism is one of our highest priorities. We also support all kinds of wildlife protection initiatives, thus sale of wild animals or foods and products derived from them is strictly prohibited on our premises. Whether on a visa run, on holiday, on a tour of Cambodia or in search of a wilderness adventure, you will always find a warm welcome at Memoria Palace & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Memoria Palace & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memoria Palace & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.