We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but comedy close to train tracks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bucket Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bucket Tree Lodge
Save Saved
You added Bucket Tree Lodge to your Saves list
Boscobel Lane, Tawa 5249, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Tawa
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok but comedy close to train tracks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was dark when we arrived for our one night stay on our journey though north and south islands and pretty quiet at the Bucket Tree which is accessed through a public car park and situated right next to the train track. We stayed in a first floor end room which rattled alarmingly whenever a train went past - which seemed like every half hour or so from about 6am with the odd overnight freight train passing by too. Room was ok - clean but uninspiring however had all usual bits and bobs including iron & microwave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our stay here was pleasant.We were met with a real nice welcome from Lynn at the office.As we are country folk the trains were a bit of an issue,but nothing we couldn't handle.In fact watching the commuters from our upstairs room was somewhat of a novelty.The odd freight train gave the place a bit of a shake,but that just added to the adventure we were on.The studio unit we had was nice and clean,and was very comfortable.This motel was handy to the supermarket and Dressmart just down the road.We were travelling to the south Island by Interislander,so was an ideal spot to stay.If the opportunity arises we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in this motel for 2 weeks to attend my cousin's wedding, followed by getting to know Wellington. This place is so quiet and peaceful; I enjoy the walk in the nearby park a lot. The train station is directly next to this motel, so it's quite easy for us to travel even without a rental car. The cleanliness and comfort go without saying, as the staff makes sure of it every morning. My family of four stayed in a cottage, and although there is no laundry service we can use the laundry machine by our own (by inserting coins)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Quite by accident really really, we ended up staying at the Bucket Tree Lodge. The hosts Murray and Lynn were very friendly and adaptable. Not only managing the motel, cooking great breakfasts, advising us on the best things to do in the area, but also doing the gardening which looks like a huge job maintaining the grounds around the motel. But apparently Murray doesn't keep the famous tree trimmed, he gets the Wellington council to do that. We had a studio apartment and it was very spacious and we could hear the running stream outside adding the ambiance of the otherwise peaceful and quiet atmosphere. Though there was the occasional train going by but the sound didn't bother me. The next time I stay I will actually catch the train into town which I have been told is only a 12 minute trip. If you forget to bring your bag, don't worry, there is a Dress Mart outlet store 5 minutes walk through the park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in February for three nights. Very reasonably priced for what we got. Spacious and very clean accommodation. We had a room on the ground floor which consisted of a bedroom with separate living area, kitchenette with cooking facilities, microwave, toaster and fridge. Large flat screen TV, sofa and table & chairs in living area. Wifi available at a cost.
The area was lovely and peaceful and an ideal location. Next door to Takapu Road railway station and only a 12 minute train ride into Wellington - trains run every 30 minutes. Ample free parking.
Beautiful garden area with tables and benches and a fabulous bucket tree.
Supermarket is a 2 minute drive away. Tawa is a five minute drive away where there are a few takeaways, shops and cafes. There is a great fish & chip shop there but can't remember the name of it.
Owners, Lynn & Murray, were friendly and extremely helpful and gave us some really useful advice on places to stay and visit on the south island. Our ferry to the south island was mid afternoon and they let us have a late checkout. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Wellington is a nice city. Funicular and botanical gardens are a must.
Loved staying here and would definitely do so again if we ever get to go back to New Zealand. Will definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are slightly more expensive but have separate sleeping and living areas and are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean motel, only 10 mins from Porirua, motel next to train station so good access if you need to use trains. The rooms were large. Owner are friendly, currently renovating units. We did find the New World supermarket in Tawa, only 5 min drive away, good for takeaway dinners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here by accident, after entering Wellington at rush hour without having a reservation. Consequently, to avoid prolonged marital disharmony, we pulled out of town and somehow got to Tawa and the first motel we spotted. Nice place, very hidden away. Our room overlooked a river which seemed to be a popular spot for meetings of dog owners and boy scouts. About 50 feet from our room was a railroad track that apparently ran commuter traffic, but that was never a problem. Roomy quarters and very comfortable. The big bucket tree out front is a sight in itself. Owners very friendly. Tried to get something to eat around 9 pm in Tawa and was referred by the local closing restaurant that another good place was just down the road "a 15 minute walk". Well, not being sure how far a 15 minute walk actually was, we drove for about 15 minutes to find nothing, before finally giving up. Oh well.

Room Tip: We liked the studio room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bucket Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucket Tree Lodge

Address: Boscobel Lane, Tawa 5249, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Tawa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Tawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique Motor Inn, personally owned and managed by Murray & Lynn for 17 years. Set in a beautiful park setting with extensive lawns and historic trees, The Lodge takes its name from the "Tree" known as the Bucket Tree which has been a local landmark for over 150 years. Accommodation at the lodge, which is only 12 minutes from the center of Wellington City, includes Bed & Breakfast, or accommodation only for singles, couples and large families. The Lodge also offers a Functions Center for Weddings, Family occasions and Conferences. Parking is Free and there is a suburban commuter train to the city every 30 minutes. The Lodge offers self contained Studio Suites and self Catering Motels and Family Apartments. Situated just off State Highway One, it is a convenient stopover when catching the Cook Strait Ferry, to or from the South Island. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bucket Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.