We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Clean Room, Close to Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Takapuna Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland Takapuna Oaks to your Saves list
Auckland Takapuna Oaks
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Montreal
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great Place, Clean Room, Close to Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Takapuna Oaks on our first night in New Zealand and were very happy with our decision to stay here. We arrived a bit earlier than the check-in time and though our room wasn't ready yet, we were able to store our bags with the front desk and take off into town.

The room itself was great. We had a living room with a mini kitchen, separate bedroom, and an ensuite bathroom, all of which were very clean. And the price was very reasonable compared to some places closer to downtown where you would pay much more and get much less. The Takapuna Oaks even offers each guest a free ferry ticket across the bay to the city centre if you want to go there but not bring your car with you. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of that offer but it's nice that they do that. Oh, and there's free wifi and complimentary continental breakfast included too.

Just a quick side note, if you're too tired from a day of exploring or you just got in from your long overseas flight, the hotel restaurant on the top floor offers great views of the city and fantastic food. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and typically you overpay for a bad meal. That was not the case here though.

Overall, this was a great experience and I highly recommend basing yourself here for your Auckland stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATO M, Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking out your time and providing other future guests with this excellent detailed review of our property. It's excellent to read you enjoyed the restaurant and the excellent food, we too believe it has some of the best views in Auckland!
Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Auckland.

Warm Regards

Jayant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    117
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
108
221
15
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Takapuna Oaks is a nice clean affordable hotel, that has a mini kitchen area where you can cook. It is roughly a 15min drive from Auckland. Getting to Auckland via car is very easy and signs direct you to the city centre. The hotel offers free ferry rides over to Auckland (The ferry is 600m walk from the hotel).
Takapuna Oaks has free Wifi, and parking. A continental breakfast is also included in your stay. The only issue i had with the room was the washing machine...it was completely impossible to use, and one load took over an hour and a half, very very confusing.
However overall Takapuna Oaks is a very cosy hotel, i was glad to stay out of Auckland city as it is very expensive to park. Devonport is a short drive from the hotel, and has a number of nice cafes and pubs where you can enjoy a meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear MurphyJane89

We thank you for the valuable feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your valuable feedback helps us to be better and deliver better. We look forward to welcoming you again and offering you a delightful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have stayed her with my wife and we just love our stay. the staff is friendly and location and view of the room is Speechless. Bed was really comfortable and good air condition and heater facility.

I would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATO M, Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ravi

I would like to first of all thank you for the excellent review of our hotel. I am really glad to read you enjoyed the Harbour View rooms at our hotel and the view they have of Auckland City. It is also excellent to read our staff made your stay a great experience.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Jayant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

3 of us stayed for 2 nights and all were very impressed by the high standards of both the staff and the hotel itself. Very clean, quiet and a great location. The staff are all very accommodating and friendly.

The restaurant is top class with great service and a good menu. The breakfast bistro is excellent as well. I will stay here again, for sure.

We would highly recommend this motel to anyone who is visiting or doing business on Aucklands North Shore.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATO M, Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your flowing review of our property! It's excellent to read that you took full advantage of what we offer here at Takapuna Oaks and enjoyed the full experience. In particular it is excellent to read that you had a meal at the restaurant!

We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Warm Regards

Jayant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Unfortunatly I only had the pleasure of staying 1 night in this hotel. I Asked the Hotel before coming, what the best way is to get to the hotel and they arranged a little shuttle for 60$NZ which was good, as the airport is far out. Hotel was beautiful and the room had a amazing big size with 2 bedrooms and big living room just for myself. Check in was good. the only down side is that everything is a bit far away even getting some groceries. would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear 346Dennis29,

Sincere thank you for your valuable feedback, it was much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were equally delighted to have you as our valued guest.

Your valuable feedback helps us to be better and deliver better. We look forward to welcoming you again and offering you a yet another delightful experience.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
527 reviews 527 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Small boutique property in the North Shore between Takapuna City Centre and Devonport with only 3 floors. Nice and quiet location. Apartment style property by the water with lovely views across to Auckland city and harbour bridge.

In residential area so not convenient if you do not have a car. Not walking distance to any shops. Free shuttle service daily from 9.30am-4.30pm from property to Bayswater Ferry Terminal (which is 5 minutes) – timetable from reception. Lovely staff. Reception on 2nd floor (ground), breakfast area on 1st floor, gym in basement, bar and restaurant on 3rd floor. Car parking at back and front. Beautiful spot at end of Bayswater road by water. Allow about 45-60 mins to get to airport and about 15-30 mins to Auckland city. I did not have a balcony but my rooms were big.

Restaurant, room service, free continental breakfast till 9.30am, hot breakfast extra. Continental breakfast quite limited so I had hot breakfast as well every morning – between $12-$22. Free wifi - get password from reception everyday as password lasts for 24 hours – unlimited passes – one for each device. They also give a voucher for complimentary glass of wine at the sunset bar during happy hour 5-7pm but you need to order a snack with it.

Lovely clean, spacious and bright rooms – lounge with kitchenette and separate bedroom. No bathtub but bathroom is modern with the necessary amenities. Water pressure and hot water system good. Small safety box in wardrobe, 3 hangers, washing machine/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, mini oven, fridge etc – perfect! Small dining table with 2 chairs and a sofa.

Ensure you lock the door with room key – door does not lock automatically when you close it behind you. Room serviced daily.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a one bedroom with a very good layout and it was very clean and tidy, they had all the furnishings including a washing machine. Nice balconies with views, peaceful and the staff were very friendly. I will be returning.

Room Tip: Get a room on the city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Adrian H,

Sincere thank you for your valuable feedback, it was much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were equally delighted to have you as our valued guest.

Your valuable feedback helps us to be better and deliver better. We look forward to welcoming you again and offering you yet another delightful experience.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

Auckland Takapuna Oaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland Takapuna Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Takapuna Oaks

Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auckland Takapuna Oaks 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auckland Takapuna Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Bayswater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Takapuna Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.