We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Takapuna Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland Takapuna Oaks to your Saves list
Auckland Takapuna Oaks
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Vancouver
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“Second time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed a year ago and was upset that they only gave Internet access to one device. This time they handed us 2 cards each for each day. Must have listened. We were not happy with our room when we arrived. We walked in and it was dark and not as spacious as we remembered. Actually, they should not have the curtains drawn when giving out keys to new guests. The room was really fine. We appreciated the ferry tickets to the CBD and found Takapuna a much nicer base than Auckland itself. 5 minutes walk to the ferry and a 10 minute ride brings one closer than most downtown hotels.

Room Tip: I would think that room 211 would be a good bet. We had 205 which is behind reception and near the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the city. We appreciate your feed back. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Thanking you and assuring you of our best services at all times.
With Kind regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    116
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
107
221
15
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent stay at Takapuna Oaks in Feb. 2013. I need to mention the great service and great help from Arvind Lodhi and Sabrina. I was very tired from overnite stay at the airport and Arvind let me check in early and helped me get a toll road fee straightened out. The view was great and transportation tickets were provided on the ferry to CBD Auckland each day. Free car park in back much better than down town hotels where there is heavy traffic and high parking prices.
Thanks again Arvind and Sabrina. Will recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Auckland.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us. We thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Thank you,
With kind Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Friendly and helpful reception staff, spacious room and a great alternative for a stay away from the hustle and bustle of Auckland. We stayed one night and similar to other reviews, we were disappointed there was no air conditioning in our room. A beautiful location with good access to the northern beaches and the beautiful town of Devonport. Would stay here again if we are near Auckland again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for having stayed with us and having taken your valuable time in providing your feed back. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and were also able to explore the city and the surrounding beaches and Devonport.
We appreciate your feed back and have already initiated necessary action on your suggestion.

We look forward to having you stay with us in near future.

Thank you,
With kind Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Booked a harbour view room July 2012 for my visit in Jan/Feb 2013. Had a good view of the car park and trees. Was not worth paying the extra for a harbour view, thought booking 6 months in advance would have got a better room. Had to remove a large wheta from the bathroom. Would not stay here again not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking your valuable time to share the experience during your last stay.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. It is our continuous effort to provide our best services at all times. However, we offer our sincere apologies that your experience was not good during your stay with us this time.

Thank you,
With warm Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We did enjoy our stay but like others were disappointed by the lack of air conditioning, as it was quite hot at the time we stayed and it did state on the VR Hotels website under View details for Room Amenities in a Superior room that it has air conditioning. Really enjoyed our stay other than that and hope to return sometime soon. The other room amenities where of a very high standard, but it would have been nice to have had a drying rack for the washing instead of having to use the dryer (this would save on the hotels electricity bill too)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us!
We appreciate your feed back and as a matter of fact we have installed Air-conditions in all Harbour View rooms in the first phase.
The same will be extended to other types of rooms as well in due course of time.
Please stay in contact with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Thanking you and assuring you of our best services at all times.

With warm Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

had a wonderful stay here, just we could have stayed longer.
the reception staff were very helpful and an added bonus was the ferry tickets to Auckland centre.
The room was extremely spacious, with a very well equipped kitchen ,dining area.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel
Thank you for a lovely brief stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear about your Excellent stay with us and thank you for having taken your valuable time to review our Hotel!
We are glad to hear about our helpful and efficient staff.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

With warm regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice hotel, breakfast was ok but coffee was coloured water only and tasteless.
We had a pretty room facing the garden, kitchen and living area separate from the bedroom.
Well equipped kitchen. Complimentary ferry tickets with ferry going every hour, only a five minute walk to the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: ask at reception for complimentary ferry tickets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh A, General Manager at Auckland Takapuna Oaks, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for having stayed with us and having taken your valuable time to provide your feedback.
We appreciate your comments and have added some more variety of Coffee on our Complimentary continental Breakfast menu.
We look forward to having you stay with us and assure you of our best services at all times.

With warm Regards,
Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland Takapuna Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Takapuna Oaks

Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auckland Takapuna Oaks 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auckland Takapuna Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Bayswater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Takapuna Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.