We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly manager” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delfin Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Delfin Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Delfin Beachfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Este, Playa Bejuco, Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unfriendly manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and i had a very bad experience in this hotel. The first day we checked our room and we detected several problems: the tap of the shower did not work, the drainpipe was stucked as well, so after 1-2 minutes of taking a shower I was standing inch-deep in the water. In addition to this, there was a really bad and continuous smell coming out of the bathroom. Besides the remote control for the TV did not work and the lamp on the bedside table eiter. Truly not an ideal situation, however not really a problem - so far. We adviced the hotel personnel and the next day almost all the problems were solved, excluding the drainpipe and the smell. We asked for swapping the room but we were told that the hotel was full. We reserved for 4 days but facing the situation of no possibility of swapping and the lasting smell and stucked drainpipe, we decided after the second day to communicate the manager (Sandra) that we wanted to leave. We explained again what has been happening and detailed our concerns. To our surprise, the manager was really impolite with us, she never asked if our concerns were solved, never showed interest in our well-being and if the room was in good conditions or not. Instead she said that she would have no time(!) for us to check if the room was ok and as the hotel she is running is a BUSINESS she can not make any refunds. She was so impolite and really rude. We were surprised about her behaviour as we did not show any agression to her, but she reponded in a very agressive and hostile way. When I showed my disgree towards her way to treat us and towards the fact that she reclaims me to pay for the pending(!) nights in a room that is in no way enabled to host visitors because of very bad smell and stucked drains, she wanted to call the police!! I do not know what is inside of the manager's head in this situation?!?! I do not know either how the owners of the hotel could have put this kind of person in such an exposed and client facing position, this is not leading to a sustainable business... We had made some very good experience with the costaricans, the the manager Sandra was far the worst experience of Costaricans we made in 3 weeks!! Finally I paid a pending night in order to avoid loosing time and nervs during my holidays (bad decision?), and we went to another place. In this way we lost like 125 USD, but I would not have stayed one more night in this circumstances. The fun thing: when we checked out, the manager finally went to check our room (she should have done it when we complained so that she could make sure that our concerns were solved), but this time she did it probably in order to check if we broke or steal something!!
There were more people working in the hotel. Everybody treated us really good. Food was good as well. But finally what stays in one's head is the bad experience with Sandra, so this evaluation is POOR.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herald A, Gerente at Delfin Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Hello dear Dominick
Thank you very much for take the time to writing a review in Tripadvisor.

We would like to let you know that we have a new management in our hotel with a new vision and mission regarding our service and our way to handle and approach any request or complain of our guest or visitors.

Your complain was handle very poorly for our staff and management in that period of time that you give us the honor of your visit and one again receive our sincere apologies.

We are very careful reading all the tripadvisor review to make sure that we do not make a mistake with any of the guest and visitors that trust us to enjoy the vacations with us.
Your opinion has been taken with the most highs consideration is a great reminder to work hard every day and think always in our guest.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    2
    5
    10
See reviews for
17
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Well this is my sixth year that I have stayed at the Delfin and have seen many improvements over the years. I must say meeting Vern and Floyd who are Edd's partners at the Hotel Delfin was a added pleasure. The Kitchen staff of Karla and Joel have brought a new menu and energy to the Dining room. Minor behind the bar making his version of Mudslide is something I look forward to on each visit. Sandra is as helpful as ever and the long time cleaning staff are as honest as you will find. If you are looking for a chill place right on beach this is it. Manuel Antonio is a half hour away driving but a world away from hawkers and commercial tourism. Great zip line just south of Hotel that goes from mountain to mountain. And Jaco 20KM north when you need a nightlife fix. See you again in March !

Room Tip: Upper floors for a nice breeze. Sunsets are always highlight of day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I feel the need to write this comment, due to the great experience we received in Hotel Delfin in playa Bejuco. It's unique location has been the reason I have continuously brought friends and family here for the last five years. I cannot express in words the overwhelming feeling of hospitality. Having the opportunity of meeting Bernie & Floyd made our experience better than ever. It is truly a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Every room has a beachfront view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked all the hotel for two nights and it was amazing. All my guests were thrilled with the location, the hotel itself and the attention. Everything was incredible, and all the staff really went for the extra mile in helping us with all the preparations. Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly Staff, Minor runs the Bar, Anthony is the cook makes the Best Pizza in Costa Rica, make very good Fresh Fish Dishes, my wife has a problem with Gluten, Anthony went out of his way to get her food she could eat that's why I gave this Restaurant an Excellent Review. The Hotel is on the beach, Excellent Surf Break, walking on the beach in both directions is possible, there are warnings about swimming in the ocean, the pool is a better option if you want to swim. The sunsets are a must see. All the rooms face the ocean. Just a beautiful & quiet place to relax.

Room Tip: There are 8 room on the top floor the Best room far left, it is quieter, as only in day time is ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Delfin is the place to be! The staff is warm and welcoming it feels like coming home. I can't wait to go back and see everyone. The beach can't be beat with amazing sunrises and sunsets and you can walk for days. The food won't disappoint - Anthony has mad skiils. Spend some time sitting at the bar looking at the ocean while the regulars come in. It feels like my local Irish bar in NYC with a better view and amazing vibe. The experience cant be beat - everyone goes out of there way to make everything is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacó, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This nice hotel is located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. Every room has a porch overlooking the ocean. Awesome pool and great bar and restaurant. The restaurant is not fancy, but the food is fresh and good. It will not disappoint. We stayed there off and on while building our home here, and have gotten to know all the staff very well. We often have local gatherings of neighbors here as it is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delfin Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfin Beachfront Resort

Address: Esterillos Este, Playa Bejuco, Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Bejuco
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Delfin Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Delfin Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Beachfront Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Delfin Beach Front Hotel
Delfin Beach Front Parrita
Delfin Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Playa Bejuco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfin Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.