We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delfin Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Delfin Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Delfin Beachfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Este, Playa Bejuco, Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As a costarican architect I get to stay a lot in hotels all around the beaches in Costa Rica. This is way my worst experience ever for such a price. Pool was dirty, hot water in showers could get you a second degree skin burn, they gave us no pool towels because they ran out,power went on and off during all night, there were no accessible outlets in the room, cockroach on the courtain!!!. The worst of all was the lady taking care of the hotel Sunday morning, who does not know how to treat clients with respect. She was mean all the time and in such a bad temper, that she was rude to me when asking why they wouldn't take credit cards. Guys be smart and go other hotels around the area that are nice and charming: El Pelicano, Encantada cottages or even Alma hotel.

Room Tip: Dont pick a room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    1
    5
    10
See reviews for
17
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This property is gorgeous. The sunsets are priceless, the beach expansive and empty! Every room has an ocean view and the pool is just gorgeous. Whether you feel like enjoying the pool, surfing the good waves out front or just building a sand castle this is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just had my wedding at the Delfin and it could not have gone better. The night before, the chef made a wonderful menu for everyone who ate at the restaurant. The day of (when everything is crazy getting ready), Eddie was very accommodating. They let us move things around when necessary, and did many small favors that were extremely helpful. Anything from getting some extra nails for us while Eddie was out on an errand, to the bar letting us use a cup for communion at the ceremony. The pool and little ranchito out back made for a great environment, and you can't beat the fact that it's right on the beach. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salunga, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were in Cost Rica for the first time for our friend's wedding. (He is currently living in Costa Rica.) His wedding took place at this hotel and we decided to stay here the night before and the night of his wedding. My husband and I were not sure what to expect due to some reviews on this site. After being there 30 minutes we determined this was a hidden treassure. When they say beachfront - they mean beach front. Every morning we woke up to the sight of waves crashing onto the beach directly in front of us. The staff was friendly and the drinks were AMAZING. We relaxed, spent time on the beach & at the pool, and lingered at the bar and eating areas. The sunset was beautiful!

I am not sure why some people wrote questionable reviews. My guess is they forgot the relatively inexpensive price they were paying for this SMALL (less than 25 rooms) quiet private hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach view. If you don't want to climb steps - ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The first day we ventured out to explore our vacation spot for the week, we stumbled upon this beautiful boutique hotel and restaurant during our stay in December. We were delighted to see how clean it was and quickly approached the bar to order a cold beverage. We noticed they rented boogie boards, so we paid $20 for the "USED" board and headed to the beach for about an hour. Unfortunately, it cracked. When we returned, we placed it back into the closet and told the female bartender what occurred. We ordered grilled fish tacos,our first meal in the area and were looking forward to them. Fish-stick tacos were served. The waiter, Josh, was great. He apologized but told us they were having trouble with the grill. Disappointed, we ate our fish tacos with a smile, enjoying the scenery. We noticed a very iritated, southern-accented man 6 feet across the bar from us. The waitress approached him and he barked, "Well I guess they bought it then!" He never greeted us with a smile, had his arms crossed over his chest and his legs up on another bar stool and was engrossed in the football game on the bar tv. The female bar tender then gave us a bill for $100 to replace the board. (While in Jaco we noticed several similar boards for $40~ we had planned to purchase one and bring it back to reclaim the $100 but decided~ we would not let the man steal our joy during our break from our stressful jobs) We learned this Southerner was the owner of the place. How does one run a business like this? What more is he selling? These were questions that came to mind as the only two people he addressed cordially were two "pot head" locals who sat beside him at the bar to eat, whom he knew quite well. "What a shame" i told the owner as we were charged such an astronomical cost for the used board,. No doubt, we broke it, we should pay for it....but his attitude sucked and I was embarrassed there are "ugly Americans" in Costa Rica suppressing the locals. DO NOT SPEND ONE PENNY HERE.... All his staff seemed oppressed by this :"ugly"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My Daughter and I were headed to Manuel Antonio Park and were starving. We turned toward the Delfin Beachfront Resort after seeing the sign on the highway. We walked in an in minutes were sitting at the bar chatting with Eddie the owner and enjoying the best dinner of our trip. i had the mahi mahi. Unfortunately, the Resort was full and we could not stay. Eddie and his staff tried to find us a room somewhere close. They were very helpful and friendly. This resort is closer to the beach than any resort i have ever seen. The open air feeling is perfect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

i just got back from a trip to Costa Rica, i stayed in every town from Jaco to Panama on the Pacifico. the nicest place that I stayed was the Delfin. The hotel itself was well maintained and the spiral staircase leading to the second floor was breath taking. I could see this place being used for weddings and special occasions. It is one of the more private resorts I stayed at so it was perfect for a couple that really wants to get away. It is very close to Jaco if you want to go into town for the night life. The staff was great about helping arrange transportation to canopy tours and other attractions. The waves are perfect for surfing and I had them all to myself. Just past the break the water was clear enough to see some of the pacifics' larger fish like Manta rays and large Jacks. i went down about another hour down and they had whale and Dolphin watching trips available. In short the Delfin is a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delfin Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfin Beachfront Resort

Address: Esterillos Este, Playa Bejuco, Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Bejuco
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Delfin Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Delfin Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Beachfront Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Delfin Beach Front Hotel
Delfin Beach Front Parrita
Delfin Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Playa Bejuco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfin Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.