We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beachfront oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delfin Beachfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Bejuco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Delfin Beachfront Resort
Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Playa Bejuco
Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing beachfront oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This property is gorgeous. The sunsets are priceless, the beach expansive and empty! Every room has an ocean view and the pool is just gorgeous. Whether you feel like enjoying the pool, surfing the good waves out front or just building a sand castle this is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    0
    4
    9
See reviews for
12
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just had my wedding at the Delfin and it could not have gone better. The night before, the chef made a wonderful menu for everyone who ate at the restaurant. The day of (when everything is crazy getting ready), Eddie was very accommodating. They let us move things around when necessary, and did many small favors that were extremely helpful. Anything from getting some extra nails for us while Eddie was out on an errand, to the bar letting us use a cup for communion at the ceremony. The pool and little ranchito out back made for a great environment, and you can't beat the fact that it's right on the beach. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salunga, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were in Cost Rica for the first time for our friend's wedding. (He is currently living in Costa Rica.) His wedding took place at this hotel and we decided to stay here the night before and the night of his wedding. My husband and I were not sure what to expect due to some reviews on this site. After being there 30 minutes we determined this was a hidden treassure. When they say beachfront - they mean beach front. Every morning we woke up to the sight of waves crashing onto the beach directly in front of us. The staff was friendly and the drinks were AMAZING. We relaxed, spent time on the beach & at the pool, and lingered at the bar and eating areas. The sunset was beautiful!

I am not sure why some people wrote questionable reviews. My guess is they forgot the relatively inexpensive price they were paying for this SMALL (less than 25 rooms) quiet private hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach view. If you don't want to climb steps - ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My Daughter and I were headed to Manuel Antonio Park and were starving. We turned toward the Delfin Beachfront Resort after seeing the sign on the highway. We walked in an in minutes were sitting at the bar chatting with Eddie the owner and enjoying the best dinner of our trip. i had the mahi mahi. Unfortunately, the Resort was full and we could not stay. Eddie and his staff tried to find us a room somewhere close. They were very helpful and friendly. This resort is closer to the beach than any resort i have ever seen. The open air feeling is perfect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

i just got back from a trip to Costa Rica, i stayed in every town from Jaco to Panama on the Pacifico. the nicest place that I stayed was the Delfin. The hotel itself was well maintained and the spiral staircase leading to the second floor was breath taking. I could see this place being used for weddings and special occasions. It is one of the more private resorts I stayed at so it was perfect for a couple that really wants to get away. It is very close to Jaco if you want to go into town for the night life. The staff was great about helping arrange transportation to canopy tours and other attractions. The waves are perfect for surfing and I had them all to myself. Just past the break the water was clear enough to see some of the pacifics' larger fish like Manta rays and large Jacks. i went down about another hour down and they had whale and Dolphin watching trips available. In short the Delfin is a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Out of 4 weeks I've spent in CR three of them were at the Delfin. The Delfin is a great place to see the west coast of CR from or just hang out at the Delfin and relax. The bar tender makes cocktails the oldfashioned way and CR beers are great. I have experienced two chefs at their kitchen and they were both excellent. What are you waiting for, get to CR and stay at the Delfin.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach side, open the window and let the waves that are only 30 yards away put you to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We happened to stumble upon this "grand" hotel which was refurbished approx 9 years ago. It's 30+ yrs old. Beautiful setting right across from the beach road is the beach and sound of the surf all day and night. All rooms have balconys with ocean view. The surf is fairly large but safe enough to play in. The loan of boogie boards was great. The pool and jacuzzi were large enough to almost swim laps - absolutely beautiful
The "grand" staircase belongs in "Gone with the Wind". We felt inappropriately dressed climbing it.
Service was friendly and fun. We had 3 amazing meals by an American chef, at very reasonable prices. We would definitely return. Thanks to Ed and staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delfin Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfin Beachfront Resort

Address: Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Bejuco
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Playa Bejuco
Also Known As:
Delfin Beachfront Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Delfin Beach Front Hotel
Delfin Beach Front Parrita
Delfin Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Playa Bejuco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfin Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Delfin Beachfront Resort to your Saves list