We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delfin Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Delfin Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Delfin Beachfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esterillos Este, Playa Bejuco, Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
San Iisdro de General
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We retired to the Mountains of Costa Rica 4 years ago. We go to the beach a couple times a month, and have seen most of the beaches of the country. We stumbled across the delfin last weekend. We checked in for 1 night and stayed 3. The place is as close to perfect as you can get in this country. I thought it was a new hotel, turned out to be 35 years old, and the American owners had done a total renovation to the place. The grounds, pool, and hotel were spotless. The most beautiful bar and best cocktails I have found anywhere in the country. Ed the owner drew us maps and sent us on local excursions, and knows more about the country than anyone I have met here. He even sent us home a new way that we didn't know about. The food was awesome as he has an American and local chef. The beach itself was soft sand, and the cleanest we have found. We were told the currents were strong, and the hotel loaned us boogie boards. The staff was super friendly, everyone that worked there seemed happy. This is our new favorite place, and is where we will take all our friends and family that visit us here. For Costa Rica, this place is as good as it gets!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are directly on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    2
    5
    10
See reviews for
17
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had three rooms on a family vacation, two sets of grandparents and two couples with kids 3,5 and 10 yrs old.
The rooms were adequate, although the bathroom was very cramped.
Dinners were excellent- thanks to Tony. We all wanted fish the second night, and Tony made an early morning trip for us to the local suppliers to cook up an excellent Pargo (snapper) dinner with a choice of excellent sauces. An upbeat chef that was in his element in the kitchen, the food was great.
The pool was very nice, much fun for the kiddos, and large enough to swim short laps in.
A huge beach great for sea shell hunting, and the rooms all look over the ocean for amazing sunsets. The ocean is not safe for swimming due to rip currents, but this is fairly common all along the Pacific Coast.
We were the only ones there, and the staff were not especially helpful or pleasant- had to ask to have pool lights turned on even though the bartender/helper (Miner) was right there. But I think they just are not service oriented and did not appear rude, just not used to looking out for the guests. Miner excelled at making fresh fruit based drinks.
The owner was there for one night and a morning- helped with the bags and greeted us on arrival, and had some good tips on getting through the tourist trap on Manuel Antonio National Park, which we felt to be overrated and was the low point of our three week trip in Costa Rica.

Loved the interior, the grand staircase and lofty ceiling had a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room for the views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Suenos, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I recently stayed one night here with my Costa Rican girlfriend. We ordered two bowls of seafood soup. MISTAKE. It was what my girlfriend called sopa de agua, (water soup). We complained and only had to pay for one bowl of this so-called "soup". We were going to stay another night until we were told that their restaurant was closed and we were told to "find someplace else to eat". We checked out. Later, the Delfin Beachfront Resort tried to steal $75.00 from Bank of America on a blank voucher I had signed. Bank of America is well aware that I never pay for hotels with my VISA card and so relieved them of my money. Also there were fleas infesting the room. Never again....
Jim Agnos

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I recently stayed at the Delfin and found a new group of friends there and a home away from home. The location is immaculate, the staff is friendly and accommodating, the pristine sandy beach is laced with beautiful seashells. My room overlooked the south facing beach, which allowed my wife and I to see the exotic sunrise and sunset. The Costa Rican style cuisine is wonderful. The hotel grounds are well kept and full of life. All in all I give the Delfin an A+.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South & Central America
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I advise anybody reading this to NOT go to this hotel or restaurant. We went only for dinner and it was a joke. The owner sat at the bar the whole time with his friends - no welcome by him or anybody else for that matter. I have never been to an establishment where the owner was totally uninterested in his guests - as this guy was. not even a "thank you" or a "good bye". The bartender tried (somewhat) but was too busy making drinks for and chatting with the owner and girlfriend and friends that the service was very slow and unfriendly. They had no soap or towels for drying hands in the ladies bathroom. The beer was not cold and the bartender said that is just the way it is. I recommended putting it in a n ice bucket to get it colder and he said he was not allowed to do that. On the positive side, the fish was prepared well but served with mashed potatoes instead of rice - not a good pairing. Also, the bill was almost $45 dollars for two (this is the new Costa Rica). I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel (and glad I did not) - only ate at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I was hesitant to write this review as I usually see little upside in saying negative things about a place, but our stay was so horrible that I do not wish anyone to waste their time and money at this "resort."
Simply put, it was unwelcoming, dirty, and rundown. It looked like it had a remodel 10 years or so ago but it is falling apart including sheets with holes in them, broken plastic pool furniture, broken tiles in pool where my son cut his leg, and a very unwelcoming owner and staff. Only welcoming people was the bartender and assistant cook. The checked out owner sat with his feet up at the bar and never once said hello but we all had to listen to his rants about politics, people, etc. Staff was rude too and charged us extra for each child although they did nothing extra and breakfast that was included was only a pancake and coffee. Other thoughts include no matress pads on beds, really bad beds, and no water pressure (at all!) at times.
Beach is totally unsafe, even for strong swimmers and surfers. Look up Playa Bejeco drownings and you will see the trend.
We stayed at all levels of lodging in our extended stay and this was by far the worst days of the trip. Hostels could provide a better experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I stayed at this hotel, and they offer breakfast included in the rate. The options you have is only soft pancakes with weird tasting maple syrup or fruit that is it... There are other options but you will have to pay for it. BEWARE that you have to have breakfast early during your stay otherwise they won´t serve you or make you feel like you are begging for the food you already have paid.
The rest of the meals we were not able to try because people serving the "restaurant" was ofter REALLY RUDE like I can´t take care of you right now because you are busy and if you ask for a recommendation from the short menu they will say: THERE IS THE LIST READ IT..
Room was good, bed comfortable, nice pool and right across from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delfin Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfin Beachfront Resort

Address: Esterillos Este, Playa Bejuco, Playa Bejuco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Bejuco
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa Bejuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Delfin Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Delfin Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Beachfront Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Delfin Beach Front Hotel
Delfin Beach Front Parrita
Delfin Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Playa Bejuco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfin Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.