We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you find a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhodeside Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Bejuco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhodeside Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Rhodeside Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1 km South East of Pueblo Nuevo, Playa Bejuco 48-5301, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Bejuco B&B and Inns
Zürich
1 review
“When you find a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We didn't plan a lot, we just drove and took it as it came. When you do this and end up at a place like Rhodeside it doesn't get any better. Beautiful view and great breakfast! And there is a good pointbreak in the area, go find it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

Although we did not stay at the Rhodeside Inn, my family and I spent several mornings having lattes and breakfast there. We were staying at a house in Pueblo Nuevo and noticed Edmunds signs on the side of the road our first morning. Besides the food and drinks both Edmund and Gwen were great to hang out with and this being our first time in the area they were very helpful with things to do and also sold us some eggs and got us some fresh chickens for dinner from the "chicken guy".

We were a group of ten and the four teenage girls in our group were a little overwhelmed by the remoteness of the area. I think they looked foward to the morning lattes and cinnamon bread because it was a little like going to Starbucks.

If you ever travel to this incredible part of Costa Rica and happen to see Edmunds "Latte" and "Clean Bathroom" signs you should definately stop in and check it out.

I almost forgot Gwen makes awesome grilled cheese sandwiches.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, my boyfriend and I booked 2 nights at Rhodeside. Gwen and Edmond (the owners) were very accommodating and hospitable. It took awhile to get out there, but we took the wrong way. Both ways are beautiful drives. The villa is set up in the mountains and just a 5 minute drive to a beautiful, private beach. During our trip we took a tour at the Butterfly Farm up the road. This farm is the largest open air butterfly farm in Costa Rica. Mike really knew his stuff! We also took a trip out to Samara, about 1.5 hours away. The drive was beautiful and the beach was nice, but not as private as Playa San Miguel. Samara was good for shopping.

Overall, our stay at Rhodeside was wonderful. We will be back for sure. It's a great place to stay if you want to be right in the middle of the jungle, and not too far away from the beach. Gwen makes a nice breakfast that is included also. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

This place gets 5 stars all around! The owners are very friendly and accommodating...excellent hosts. Gwen makes delicious breakfasts an coffee. Clean rooms/bathrooms. I felt right at home.
I didn't bring my daughter along on my trip but will the next time. Rhodeside is a great, safe place to visit and bring children to.
I highly recommend Rhodeside. A wonderful taste of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larchmont, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stumbled upon the Rhodeside Inn while driving the coastal route from Samara to Mal Pais. We had no idea what to expect on this drive, and the Rhodeside was an amazing surprise.

Unfortunately, we did not spend the night at the B&B, as our reservations in Mal Pais were not able to be cancelled. I would have LOVED to kick it there for a few days, or at least break up the long drive overnight. Gwen & Ed (and visiting son Ben and his cousin) were an absolute pleasure to meet and chat with. They told us about the hikes to local waterfalls with natural waterslides, horseback riding to vistas to watch the sunset, and before we departed, we were given directions to San Miguel beach, that we would have otherwise not have found. The coffee and homemade Snickerdoodles were killer - unreal. The at-home vibe was almost surreal.

When I return to this region of CR, and I do mean when - not if - I will definitely stay a few nights here.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

A latte?? This was how we found Rhodeside while we were driving through the mountains in Nicoya Coast. These signs popped up out of nowhere and we thought "yes! I'd love a latte!".

We followed the signs and that led us to our favourite B&B in all of Costa Rica. We loved it so much that we left after 2 days to continue our travels but realized we had made a huge mistake. We headed back and stayed our last 2 days with the hosts Gwen and Ed and celebrated New Years together. The cabina's are on a beautiful farm and the view is to die for! Just a few minutes drive to the beach and local bar but quiet when we wanted it. It was perfect.

The hosts were so charming and entertaining, we would get sidetracked on our way to the beach and spend an hour or so just chatting with them with a cup of (seriously) the best damn coffee in Costa Rica.

Beautiful scenery, amazing showers (especially the outdoor one!) and homemade pies, breads and jams that I would poke an eye out for, this place was beyond our expectations!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvaina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Rhodeside Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast was great, warm cinnamon buns, homemade breads, jams, fruit, homemade granola and great coffees! It was nice to have the kitchen to make some lunches, dinners and just to snack. We spent several days at the beach, tried some fishing and just had a great time exploring the area. We took a trip to Montazuma and felt like we were on an National Geographic expedition, crossing rivers, driving up steep mountains and herding animals out of the way.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhodeside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodeside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 km South East of Pueblo Nuevo, Playa Bejuco 48-5301, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Bejuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Bejuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rhodeside Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Playa Bejuco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhodeside Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.