We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle to your Saves list
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Canning Highway, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6158, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have to admit the place is old, they doing renovations and you can see that they trying to improve the look, (working progress) the restaurant is wonderful, I loved the food. But most of all the service I received from the staff was brilliant it's really rare to get good service these days. And will definitely go back to the Tradewinds.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    55
    35
    23
See reviews for
29
45
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Friendly staff, poor breakfast - lack of choice and badly cooked.comfortable beds, room furniture could be replaced. Good location.Would try again once it's been refurbished.No free Wi Fi and very expensive

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, they certainly work hard so it is nice to be able to pass along positive comments to them. I have forwarded your comments onto the Chef regarding the breakfast. Although we are currently undergoing kitchen and restaurant renovations which has affected our set-up and service area, there is no excuse for the product being poorly cooked as you mentioned. I apologise for that and this will be followed-up by the Executive Chef personally. Again, thank you for taking the time to share these comments.
Kind regards,

Daniel Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Renovations currently going on, however no inconvenience experienced. Rooms are very large but average lay out and not very inviting. I was surprised at the price, quite expensive for the product, not great value for money. A little disappointed and I think overrated. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

stayed 19th & 20th Feb. renovations where still underway. 6:50am the noise started which was a disturbance to our sleep. I would think that with all the noise & construction a lower rate would be in place, or at least breakfast included. Overall i wouldnt reccomend this hotel at all. Restuarant was over priced and only 5 or 6 mains to choose from. staff where very nice & helpful.
Room wasnt that bad, comfy bed. Aged bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for just under two weeks in February 2014. There were a lot of renovations going on during our stay, so we obviously didn't see it at its best. I don't know how far their refurbishment is going, but it could do with a lick of paint at least in some areas around the entrance and lobby.

We were put in a room right next to the laundry, which would kick in around 8am every morning. This was very loud and made our room shake. We asked to be move and this was completed without hassle. The rooms themselves are of good quality, clean and spacious.

The pub overlooks the Swan River and there are bus stops right outside the hotel which makes transport very easy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Its not an awful place to stay, but there are certainly much better. In all honestly it is extremely overpriced, the rooms aren't too bad, moderately self contained, definitely dated but large enough with a comfortable bed. I stayed here for 5 nights, the breakfast was clearly served up by a very tired and unloved brekky chef, with the only variation for 5 days was the lack of bircher muesli on one of those days…however the bar/resto menu was good, large portions, cooked well and quite tasty. The shining lights being an ok pool and a nice place to have an afternoon beverage overlooking the main road overlooking the Swan River. The staff however were always friendly and helpful and there is a conveniently located bus stop right out the front, and a bottle shop around the corner if the inflated Perth prices scare you away from the bar!

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor with the pool at my door, not too bad at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I have forwarded your comments regarding the lack of variety on the breakfast buffet to the Executive Chef. These comments are appreciated as they help us in identifying areas where we can improve. I'm glad to hear that the service you received was satisfactory and the other meals were of good quality. Thank you again for your honest evaluation and we hope to see you again next time you visit Fremantle.

Kind regards,
Daniel Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Not sure what to say that other recent reviews don't already repeat. Nice enough building but nothing like you would expect for the price. Shabby bathroom and facilities $6 for a coke from the fridge, mouldy shower, poorly designed access for staircase when carting suitcases due to an out of service elevator! Poor service in the bar expensive too for a beer. They are the cons the pros being the location on the left bank, the room was spacious the bed clean big and comfy, in the main the staff seemed nice enough just wouldn't go back! Thats all you can really do vote with your feet and give an honest appraisal. With investment it could be superb!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory.

With reference to the Hotel needing a refurb, we are currently in the planning process of improving all Hotel facilities, as you know we have already commenced by replacing the elevator. As with all projects there is bound to be some inconvenience to our guests, however we do attempt to update all guests of this through various medium.
I would like the opportunity to discuss the other issues you have raised with you, I would appreciate it if you can contact me at the Hotel or via email at peow.lim@tradewindshotel.com.au

Regards
Yew-PEOW Lim
General Manager
Tradewinds Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Fremantle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Address: 59 Canning Highway, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6158, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle > East Fremantle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds Hotel offers 83 fully self contained apartments, 3 bars, the a la carte Trader Morgans Restaurant and is conveniently located on the beautiful Swan River in East Fremantle. The hotel offers amazing river views and is only 5 minutes to the heart of Fremantle and 20 minutes to the city of Perth. All apartments are spacious and equipped with kitchenette and private bathroom, with 24 hour reception, room service, outdoor swimming pool, heated spa and complimentary undercover security parking. Located within a 5 minute of walk of an extensive range of cafes and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.