We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fine but not the best in Milna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Fortuna

Restaurant Fortuna
Milna 27, Milna, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
+385 21 745 002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Milna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Makarska, Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very fine but not the best in Milna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice food, we ate fish, it was good, but nothing special. Service and stuff were very good. Ambienat is nice near the beach and sea. Price is middle, but you may find better in this small place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were staying in Hvar town, but due to reviews on TA, thought we'd venture out to Milna for lunch. Chose this restaurant as rated top on TA, and it's the first restaurant you see as you enter into Milna. Has a lovely setting right by the water front. However that was the only thing going for this place. Service was slow, cutlery wasn't placed for us but just handed to us and left on a plate on the side o the table.
Food: I ordered the seafood spaghetti which was below average compared to what I'd eaten elsewhere in Croatia. Not fresh seafood but frozen, the sauce was tasteless and not made in the typical Croatian style (despite being starving hungry I left most of it) my boyfriend had the Fortuna Pizza... Which was also below average. If you're in Hvar and thinking of taking a day trip to Milna, don't bother... You're Much better off staying in Hvar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We wanted to try several other recommended restaurants in Milna, but as we were staying at the Fortuna hotel, and the food here was so good, we had all our meals here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Freshly caught fish and seaside setting..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ate several meals here and was never disappointed. The setting is gorgeous and the food was well prepared and beautifully presented. No gimmicks (sauces to hide any imperfections...)simple, straightforward and delicious. Fresh vegetables, seafood, meat, breads...outstanding value all around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“good value and fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We fell across this restaurant by accident and chose it because of its location right in the beach. Also, it offered a set menu which appeared to be really good value for money -, and bearing in mind how expensive Hvar is, this is important.
Often set menus appear to be better value than they are but not this time. We were served with very well cooked food in plentiful portions and choice. The squid was particularly good and well cooked.
We were also offered a complimentary local spirit to finish our meal with - an acquired taste I think.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Fortuna also viewed

 
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Restaurant Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.