We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Cindy. "beautiful family run hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel Fortuna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milna 27, Milna, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milna
winnipeg, manitoba
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Canadian Cindy. "beautiful family run hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My daughter and I spent 3 nights and we where treated like family right from the start. We had laundry to do on arrival and it was promptly attended to and returned within 2 hours after our arrival. The room was modern, plenty of fresh towels, very comfortable beds, and a lovely balcony facing the sea. The food was wonderful, very large breakfasts with plenty of variety, and we ate 2 superb suppers and enjoyed their homemade wines and croatian port which was complimentary. We did not have a car and everyday we were taken to Hvar and picked up in the evening by one of the family. We were spoiled by this wonderful hard working family and hope to return one day. The best hotel experience ever. So very glad I found this gem on trip advisor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is a small, but very nice family hotel. Breakfast was great, and there is a good bistro in the lobby of the hotel. But the best thing about this hotel is it's location. Very nice beach is just few meters from the hotel, and if you have a room with the sea view, you will be surely woken up by the sounds of waves. The service was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the park side are quieter, but on the other side, the sea view is priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Travelling as two mature-age couples, we picked this hotel based on the excellent reviews that it had received, the price and the fact that it was a little out of the way of the party atmosphere of Hvar. As it turned out, Hvar was quiet during our stay (1 and 2 May 2011), but we still appreciated the tranquil atmosphere of Milna (about 5 km from Hvar). The hotel is family-run, and was being re-developed while we were there, so there weren't many people staying there. We were treated like royalty. Rooms were modern and very clean. The owner, Jurica, offered to transport us into Hvar, so the distance from Hvar wasn't a problem. Jurica's charming daughters also helped in the business as well as providing translation (they learn English at school and are keen to practise). I understand that the hotel refurbishment is now finished - I would love to see it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the Fortuna in Milna for 3 nights and loved our stay. The owners were amazing. They couldn't do enough to help, we were able to check in straight away and they took our laundrythere and then when we asked about t and returned it washed and pressed in just 4 hours and all for only about 4 pounds. The rooms were freshly done and extremely well maintained and clean. They were stylisly decorated but comfortable with a small minikitchen and a goos sized fridge and a modern bathroom. The location was great, right on the small beach at Milna with a lovely beach cafe/restaurant, where breakfast was served. The food in the retaurant was very nice and there was a good selection of dishes and a great wine list. Again the ownwers made you feel special and gave us free after dinner drinks the nights we ate there. There was private parking behind the hotel and free internet access throughout the building. Milna is only a 7 minute drive from Hvar town and so was an excellent low key base for us to travel from. For such a small town this is a hotel with class and high expectations. We loved our stay and would highly recommend it to Tripadvisor readers.

Room Tip: book early, aall rooms hav either a sea view or partial sea view, all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at Fortuna in the beginning of July. The immediate impression was that You are a V.I.P.

When arriving to Hvar, they picked us up from the ferry and whenever we wanted to go into Hvar town they offered to take us. The service was excellent, they would go out of their ways to make us satisfied. Very helpful and friendly in every possible way. The rooms are very clean and fully functional with AC, cooking area and a balcony. The location is excellent, the hotel is right by a beach. The beach was never too crowded. The water was crystal clear and turquoise. We actually caught two octopuses, and of course the hotel helped us to store and freeze them. Perfect for families traveling with children and romantic couples. In addition to the hotel the family also run a restaurant. The service was excellent and after every meal they always offered us spirit (STRONG!) or sweet wine as a treat. The food was average with some excellent dishes, lamb cooked under the bell (peka) and the grilled fish. The kids loved the pizza. They actually ordered the same pizza mozzarella with salami for 7 days. When we left the hotel for a hotel in Hvar town they actually drove us into town, straight up to the other hotels entrance. Again, GREAT SERVICE. The family was so helpful and lovingly.
Anyhow this is a great place. I would recommend it to everyone. And I will.
We will come back there when there is an opportunity, and it would feel like a privilege to be there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This family operated hotel is a real find. The owners treated us like family during our entire stay. They are just a wonderful family. The hotel is located in the small town of Milina on Hvar, about a ten minute drive from Hvar City. There are also buses that run into town. Fortuna provides a great accomodation on the water. The water is crystal clear and the swimming wondeful. The food is prepared to order with great sea food cooked over a wood fire. They make their own home wine, olive oil, and have a garden for vegetables. Hotel is newly restored and our room was well equiped, very clean, with good bathroom and shower. Free wifi in the room. Obviously speak English and very helpful.

Room Tip: splurge and get an apartment
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in this completely refurbished hotel in June 2011. Wife and I were very impressed, our room was very comfortable with nice sea facing balcony.

Breakfast was very good and the owner was most kind in ensuring guests are very well catered for. We ate at the hotel one evening and food was very good.
Location is about 5 mins drive from hvar town. In milna there are several restaurants but it is a nice quiet retreat and very relaxing away from hustle and bustle of hvar town

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Address: Milna 27, Milna, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Milna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortuna 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fortuna Hvar Island/Milna, Croatia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.