We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Northern Beaches Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1260 Pittwater Road, Narrabeen, Warringah, New South Wales 2101, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narrabeen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great Northern Beaches Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Room and bathroom were spotless, modern and very comfortable. Great location if you need to base yourself on Sydney's Northern Beaches. Free onsite parking was a bonus. We were a little nervous when we checked in with our 9 year old daughter at 10pm and there was cigarette smoke and really loud music pouring into reception from the bar.......but once we stepped out of the lift on our floor, there was silence! I think this is the most soundproof place I have ever stayed in. Our room overlooked a main road and was on top of the pub, but with the double glass doors, not a sound was to be heard.
Only negatives were the poor TV reception on some channels, the lack of an exhaust fan in the bathroom, and the only mirror being in the bathroom (tricky to get 3 of us showered and ready with only 1 mirror that steamed up in a flash when shower was turned on).

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, found our Hotel to be suitable for your needs and found our Hotel to be modern and comfortable. Thank you also for your additional feedback with regards to our rooms. These have been passed on to management for review. With regards to the TV channels, we have found that due to all TV's recently changing from analogue to digital some channels have dropped out and we have been required to re-program all TV's. In addition, it appears that the upgrade also affected the quality of some channels. Thank you again and we hope to see you all again some time soon.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    100
    36
    16
    3
See reviews for
58
80
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great perfectly clean rooms great position reception staff terrible on checking out there was no how was your stay just you owe us $20 for early checkin the reception chick checked and it showed we did not check in early but still wanted us to pay what!!!! This was because we had inquired about early check in when making booking was told $10 per hour which is just crazy as if the room is ready then it's ready so we declined the $10 per hour charge and checked in at the normal time still had to wait a few hours to get a call saying good news the $20 charge was taken off no sorry no nothing we didn't check in early so no luck was involved poor management untrained backpacker staff big let down to a great place

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to hear that you found our rooms to be very clean and comfortable and our location suitable for your needs. It is however extremely surprising to hear that you found our "Reception chick to be terrible" as it is evident from all of our past reviews that we only receive feedback on how friendly and helpful our Reception Team is.

With regards to the early check in fee, as this was accepted at time of booking, a 12pm arrival was noted on your reservation and hence why the $20 fee applied. We liaise closely with our Housekeeping Team and ensure that all guests who have paid for an earlier check in have their room cleaned by their requested time. Unfortunately as you decided to not check in at 12pm and didn't notify us to cancel your early check in request, we were not aware and had your room ready for your nominated 12pm check in time, and hence why the $20 fee was owing on your account. Should you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on +61 2 9970 8578.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Firstly, other reviews have commented on reception. I found the reception staff to all be really friendly, very helpful, they went out of their way to genuinely help and it was fully staffed at all times.

I stayed twice as had events in the area. Firstly, in a second floor standard room on the side that overlooks houses (the other three sides have roads but only one is a main road). Some people may not want to look at a house, but if you looked sideways you could see the ocean, and it was extremely quiet and great for me.
They should have more photos of the rooms on their website as they were very big and comfortable. The whole hotel was in very good condition, clean, well maintained, modern etc.

For my second stay I decided to risk an ocean view suite (having read the noise reviews). I was on the first floor and there was no noise at all - except at weekends music from the bar below came up through the floor and was really excessive late into the night. Daytime and most nights you didn't hear a single thing at all, but some nights there were live bands and the noise was bad. Having pre-warned by reading the reviews overall it wasn't as bad as expected (because most days I didn't hear a thing), but if I hadn't have read the reviews then I would have been seriously disappointed as you just wouldn't expect it.
I would still go back and stay in the same room as the view more than made up for it. Surfers and paragliders in the distance, views of the ocean, you could sit on the balcony and at some times hear the live music from the café.

Brilliant location - theres a mini market, deli, nice relaxed beach café, take away and restaurants just over the road. Within a 5-10 min walk you have a convenience store, full supermarket, bus stops, newsagents, various small shops, more restaurants and takeaways, and a lake with kayak and paddleboarding. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean view suites can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us and got to know the local area well. In addition, thank you for your feedback with regards to our Reception Team. I will be sure to share your feedback with them all. Also, thank you in advance for recommending us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again if you have the opportunity to visit Australia again.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I went to Sydney for a wedding and stayed here for the first as it was close to where we needed to be. We were offered a late checkout at no extra charge. The rooms were huge and clean. The bed was very comfy.
However we didn't get a chance to try the other facilities they offered.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the Pittwater Road side, we didn't have a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Service was quick and friendly, rooms where well maintained, clean and comfortable. Location was fabulous, beach across the road beautiful views from the balcony. Free parking! We have recommended this hotel to others and would stay again.

Room Tip: ocean view room is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again! Also thanks for recommending us to family and friends!

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Thanks Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, a great room and atmosphere plus really suburb food. The entire hotel was kept wonderfully clean and the staff were genuinely friendly. We would stay time and time again. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is fantastic to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We recently used The Sands for accommodation for our wedding and found The Sands to be exceptional.... The service provided by the staff exceeded our expectations and nothing was ever too much of a hassle!

Thank you to Anita and the team at The Sands.

Aaron and Aimee Gonzalez

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotelSands, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Gonzalez,

Congratulations again on your wedding! Hope you both had a wonderful day & a fantastic honeymoon! Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again... perhaps for your 1st wedding anniversary!

Kind regards,
Anita Reskov
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Quality Hotel Sands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen

Address: 1260 Pittwater Road, Narrabeen, Warringah, New South Wales 2101, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Warringah > Narrabeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narrabeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Sands is a contemporary boutique Hotel on Sydney's Northern Beaches. The Hotel provides easy access to the stunning scenery and lifestyle of the northern beaches suburbs. We are located on Sydney's Northern Beaches, only 20km from Sydney CBD and a 15 minute drive from Manly Beach. The wonderful Narrabeen Beach is just across the road from the Hotel. Our contemporary 4 star Studio rooms and Ocean Suites offer the perfect beach side escape. All rooms are air conditioned and feature a private balcony, broadband internet access (charges apply) and en-suite bathroom. Our Bistro & Ocean Bar has plenty of options available for breakfast, lunch and dinner & offers a relaxed atmosphere. Our Lakeside Bar is our Sports Bar, and is fully equipped TAB with plasma TVs. In addition our Gaming Room is also open daily. We also we have a meeting/function room, with a large balcony and audio visual equipment is available and can cater to suit your needs. Free undercover parking is available at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.