We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonville Golf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bonville Golf Resort
Save
You added Bonville Golf Resort to your Saves list
North Bonville Road, Bonville, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2441, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonville
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Weekend Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Myself and some friends just spent the weekend at Bonville, We all stayed on site and found the hotel style rooms to be phenomenal with a real executive feel.
I have been to Bonville before and every time it seems to reach a new level of quality, being in the industry I take my chance to get to Bonville as an educational experience and am always extremely impressed!
I strongly recommend visiting this property, whether your looking for a couple of days away or wanting to learn how the best do it, this property is simply magnificent and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uranus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Recently I stayed and played here with compliments of Golf NSW. The course is a very good challenge for most average golfers and very picturesque, the food and service is excellent and worth the one hat status it has been awarded by Sydney Morning Herald. Unfortunately the free wifi in the clubhouse was out of service most of the time. The photos of the resort are true to form but they don't show you photos of standard rooms which I stayed in and these are comfortable and clean (loved the L'Occitane bathroom products). So unless you're a golf nut who's all about golf, for your $160/night standard room cost, I'd probably go stay in Sawtell by the beach, but still come play and eat here (or Coffs Harbour Golf Club)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had high expectations which unfortunalty where not met. While I did not expect the moon the accomodation for the price was substandard. As far as the golf course went the greens had recently been sanded a fact I was not advised of prior to arrival and no allowance was made in the price for this. From what I could see over the 3 days I was there the greens also were also never cut or rolled making putting a lottery. Probably would not go back there are better courses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The facilities are excellent for an adult vacation spot with an outstanding golf course, tennis courts and other lovely facilities available to guests. The golf Pro Shop has an excellent selection of top brands with the resort's logo on most merchandise.
Accommodation is away from the main building which is great for privacy and tranquility. I felt the top of the range rooms were furnished with very spartan furnishings but the beds were excellent as were the bathrooms (shower only). Each bungalow style unit has a balcony and outdoor furniture looking out over the golf course. Very, very peaceful and relaxing. The accommodation is so far from the main buildings that guests have to drive to meals etc., a bit of a pain especially in the rain and cold.
The course is traditionally on the top 100 for Australia and deservedly so with many holes having the look and feel of holes from famous layouts like Augusta National. Because the surrounding trees are exceptionally tall the fairways, greens and tees don't get a lot of sun in the winter months. In times like these when there has been a lot of rain the first 9 holes are cart path only all winter, the greens are suffering from what looks like root rot from the continuous rain. The diligent greens staff make a valiant effort to maintain the course in winter but sadly they fight an uphill battle. In summer, the condition of the course would be considerably better than in winter because of the tall timber surroundings, topography and type of grass.
This venue is a very popular location for local weddings and conferences. I have written a separate review of the hotel's dining room so won't go into that in any detail in this review. In summary, the food is excellent, the room is very average and not inviting except during the day when the view over the 18 fairway and green is visible.
This venue is now approaching 30 years in existence (originally built by a Japanese company as a luxury resort golf complex). Unfortunately, in many respects it is showing its age and in need of a tart-up.
Recently the Jonah's Group of Palm Beach, Sydney fame to over the management of the hotel part of the property, so hopefully they will breath new life into the old property, everything about the place needs an up market make-over.
After all that, I have to say it s still one of my favourite golf courses in Australia but not one of my favourite hotel/resorts.

Room Tip: Try to make sure there isn't a major wedding on conference on when you stay as the staff and fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Please don't expect 5 Star accommodation but expect good simple rooms and good service in the Restaurant and bars.You come here for Golfing Nirvana so the other stuff is just minor to the overall experience.
Check in was quick and efficient,Standard room with two single beds,bathroom and small balcony is more than adequate - you will end up spending most of your time in the Clubhouse or on the course rather than the room.A funny quirk in the standard room is that the bathroom has a shower,bath and toilet in one room then outside in the room area is the basin - a little weird !
Food was good,service good and the golf course great.I can't see non golf people staying here so keep this in mind as this site is very isolated.
Overall you go here to play GOLF and it is very similar in many ways to the revered Augusta so get there and see if you can get anywhere near your handicap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staff were very friendly. The room was of motel standard only and did not smell good. The evening meal was pretty good but not as good as we had been led to believe. The golf course was stunning. Good cooked breakfast included within the price. Free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonahsWhaleBeach, General Manager at Bonville Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and for mentioning the standards of our staff, it is something we pride ourselves on here at Bonville Golf Resort.

We are a newly ‘Hatted’ Restaurant so our food is some of the best in the Northern NSW Region. We are very proud of our ‘Hat’. Our newly appointed (several times ‘Hatted’) Executive Chef is continuing to grow the menu, standard and quality of our food.

I will personally check out the accommodation rooms and see if there indeed is a ‘smell’ and deal with that issue. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention as this is the first we have heard of it.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope that you will return to Bonville Golf Resort one day in the future.

Regards,

Brad Daymond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Accommodation is extremely outdated and reminded me of school camp. For the cost of the rooms I would definitely stay elsewhere as its not difficult to find cheaper and much nicer accommodation.

Food was ok and the staff were very helpful and attentive.

The golf is super expensive and guests staying at the resort are treated no differently to anybody else. We played golf in pouring rain and upon finishing requested that we could drive the carts with our gear back to the rooms to shower and then drive them back however this was denied despite there being hardly anyone playing golf and literally hundreds of carts available.

Overall disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonahsWhaleBeach, General Manager at Bonville Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that our Resort did not live up to your expectations.

We do offer two different types of accommodation. We have 17 Resort Rooms and 13 Executive Rooms. The Executive Rooms were fully refurbished two years ago and we receive positive reviews about them on a daily basis. The 17 Resort Rooms had a soft refurbishment at this time but also meets AAA Rating of Four Stars.

I am sorry that it rained during your round of golf and am uncertain as to why the carts were unavailable for you to go back to your room as this is standard practice. I apologise for this inconvenience and will raise it with the Golf Department.

I am glad that you enjoyed the food and the experience with our staff and hope you will give Bonville another opportunity, perhaps in an Executive Room and hopefully yon a sunny day!

Regards,

Brad Daymond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonville Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonville Golf Resort

Address: North Bonville Road, Bonville, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2441, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour > Bonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bonville Golf Resort, acknowledged as one of the world’s most beautiful golf courses, consistently voted as the most beautiful in Australia & a is the only 3 time winner of Australia’s Leading Golf Resort by the World Travel Awards (2006, 2011 & 2012). Situated halfway between Sydney & Brisbane on the beautiful Coffs Coast, Bonville Golf Resort is the ideal location for your next individual or group golfing experience, wedding & reception, conference, dining experience, short stay accommodation or a long relaxing holiday.The breathtaking setting of Bonville has seen it described by Peter Mc Whinney, a respected and much travelled Australian Professional Golfer, as ” the most beautiful golf course in Australia, if not the world”. Voted, “the most beautiful golf course in mainland Australia” for a tenth successive year by The Golf Course Guide, the resort is rated as one of the best in Australia. The Par 72 championship course rises and dips through the serene and beautiful layout with each fairway isolated and private from the next. It’s great appeal lies in the fact that it will stimulate and challenge golfers of every standard. Once you have experienced the beauty and allure of Bonville you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonville Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.