We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coledale Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coledale Inn to your Saves list
Coledale Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Nr. Keswick, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Crazy B&B Deal
Ranked #2 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 6 nights in the beautiful late April sunshine. And what a location. Room 1 was very nice with separate lounge. Shower room a bit small and with such a lovely bedroom was a bit surprised to only have a 4' 6 double bed. A 5' bed would have resulted in 5 stars. Very friendly staff. Going back next year too. Thanks.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a fabulous location with stunning views, ideally placed to do many walks from. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and spotless. The food was really good, with plenty of outdoor seating in a great sun trap!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We returned for another visit after having such a nice sandwich previously. Thoroughly enjoyed it again this time , staff all very polite and helpful, and food is excellent. Tucked away in a lovely little village with a beautiful view of Skiddaw. Will be returning again, highly recommended.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Loved every minute of our stay at the Coledale, Gary and Carole and their staff are superb. We stayed in room 2 with our Rough Collie. The room is really comfortable and well decorated. The dining area is well appointed, The bar area has a great atmosphere. As for the menu, you would go far to beat it. The price of drink is very reasonable. All in all we can't find fault with it. If you haven't been, book up now, you wont be disappointed.
As "Arnie" said WE'LL BE BACK

Room Tip: Room 2 is perfect with great frontal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We have just had another great one night stay at the Coledale inn. Very comfortable clean rooms,great food for both breakfast and evening meals and good guest ales in a good location just outside Keswick.staff very friendly. Will be returning again next year or before!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Stopped here mid February for a much needed weekend break with our Retriever in Room 11. The Inn is set in a beautiful location amidst stunning panoramic views. From the moment we arrived until the time that we left, we were really well looked after. The hosts and staff are very nice & friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. Even our over excited dog did not phase them on our first night!

The L shaped room on the second floor, is apparently one of the smaller ones, but it was more than adequate with a small shower room & sitting area overlooking the front on the hotel & beautiful scenery of the village in the valley & Scafell. The warm, nicely decorated & furnished room was spotlessly clean with towels & soaps, kettle & drinks tray with biscuits provided.

The atmosphere is pleasant & relaxing. Dining is allowed in the bar area so your dog can stay with you. The food is good, the portions are generous. The salads are the best that I've had! Breakfast again can be served in the bar-this again was faultless with lovely back bacon, sausage, fresh tomato, mushrooms & choice of eggs ( the poached egg was perfect).
.
There are walks in different directions from the hotel car park, again ideal for the dog. Keswick & Derwentwater is a 2 mile drive away. Windermere, Grasmere & Coniston are easily reached by car.

This was our first visit to the Coledale Inn, and will not be our last! We plan to return in the summer & then in the autumn with family.

Thank you Garry, Carole & your staff for being so attentive, welcoming & providing service with a smile & ideal facilities for a perfect break.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We were here as part of a large walking group of senior citizens. We couldn't have been in better hands. The staff were excellent, attentive to our every need. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and well serviced, all obviously having been recently refurbished. The food was of a very high standard, and more than plentiful. The location, very close to the A66, gives you easy access to all the local and not so close by attractions.

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the 2nd or upper floor. spacious, quiet, wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coledale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coledale Inn

Address: Nr. Keswick, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coledale Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A characterful country inn and bar/restaurant with open fires for the winter months and sunny beer garden for the summer. Families, walkers and Dogs welcome.2014 brings 20 Newly Refurbished Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coledale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coledale Hotel Braithwaite
Coledale Inn Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coledale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.