We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coledale Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coledale Inn to your Saves list
Coledale Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Nr. Keswick, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Amazing Dinner B&B Deals
Ranked #3 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Harthill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Three night break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed this weekend break,staff were very freindly and helpfull,room was lovely and clean,food was 1st class and not to expensive,this was our 1st time staying here but will be back soon,it is also very dog freindly

Room Tip: Had room 5 on the top floor at the rear of the hotel still had decent views and was pretty quiet,thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brilliant hotel wonderful hospitality and value for money would not hesitate in staying again. Breakfast is lovely home cooked and waitresses are always asking if you would like more tea toast eat . We lost our car keys and they were so helpful. lovely landlord and staff

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Superb location with friendly and heartfelt service. Accommodation in the annex was totally comfortable and aided a relaxing stay. 5☆ all round! I have been coming here for over 20 years and cannot wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been going to the Coldale for years being a local !!
We have had our annual christmas party there for a few years running now knowing that it is a good place to go, this year it was just as good maybe even better than the last time the food, staff, atmosphere were all great, lovely christmas decs and great value for money thankyou for a lovley time.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We returned to the Coledale after several years having noticed that they had undergone a refurbishment of the bedrooms. We stayed two nights and the rooms were a delight, the food was classic lakedistrict pub style ie perfect after a day on the fells and the hospitality was as we had always remembered it. In recent years we have stayed in local expensive hotels but we will be returning to the Coledale for the atmosphere, comfort and value. An added bonus was the superb bonfire night fireworks

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night after romping round the hills of Keswick and what a treat. The room was finished to a really high standard and the staff couldn't be more helpful.
The food in the bar/restaurant was homely and filling, along with a selection fine real ales. A perfect spot for a weekend away, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just got home after spending the weekend here at The Coledale Inn as a surprise birthday treat from my lovely boyfriend and what a fantastic weekend we have had. The owner and staff were extremely welcoming and friendly from the minute we stepped through the door. We arrived at Room 8 and it was very clean, cosy and comfortable with everything you could need and the view, well, it was stunning!

We ate in the restaurant which had plenty of choice for both adults and children and reasonably priced too. I chose the steak & ale pie which had a puff pastry top, chips & vegetables and I would highly recommend it as it was real good, tasty, hearty food!! My boyfriend had the gammon and pineapple which he enjoyed even though he was a little bit disappointed that his pineapple was cold and not grilled (being a bit picky if you ask me)! We ended up eating in the restaurant again the second night too as I craved nothing more than another hearty meal after all that walking we did during the day, wasn't disappointed, thoroughly enjoyed it!

After a great nights sleep and a lovely shower we went down to breakfast. There was a choice of different cereals, fruit and fresh juice which you could help yourself to and tea, coffee and full English breakfast was ordered at your table. Unfortunately the waitress hadn't noticed that a few tables (including us) were still waiting to be served and after 5 minutes or so, we ended up having to go and ask her if we all could order. A second request was then made after another 5 minutes had passed and yet no order was taken! She was extremely apologetic and said she got sidetracked. This wasn't a huge issue for us as we weren't in a rush and was happy sipping my cranberry juice while admiring the food. The coffee, tea and breakfast was all fresh, hot and tasty so was all good in the end. We had to request to order again on the second morning too, I think she was just so busy having to serve, clear tables and attend to everyone's requests. There were two waiters but they seemed to just be delivering the orders and clearing empties.

We honestly had a very pleasant stay indeed, the food and accommodation we really couldn't fault and to be fair, the breakfast service other than the wait was spot on as the waitress and waiters were apologetic, friendly and approachable so the wait didn't have a negative impact on our stay.

Would definitely recommend and will be booking a return visit after Christmas without a doubt ... thank you all at The Coledale Inn xx

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coledale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coledale Inn

Address: Nr. Keswick, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coledale Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A characterful country inn and bar/restaurant with open fires for the winter months and sunny beer garden for the summer. Families, walkers and Dogs welcome.2014 brings 20 Newly Refurbished Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coledale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coledale Hotel Braithwaite
Coledale Inn Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coledale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.