We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical hideaway with fantastic locally sourced food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Braithwaite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage in the Wood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Braithwaite
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A magical hideaway with fantastic locally sourced food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Deep in the only indigenous mountain woodland in England, this small hotel offers charming, relaxed service, very comfortable rooms and a terrific restaurant. We chose the Cumbrian tasting menu on our first night and thoroughly recommend it, the serving staff were impressively knowledgable about the dishes and the provenance of the produce. The second night we dined a la carte and the quality was again excellent although some of the dishes were the same as we had sampled on the tasting menu which impacted a little on the choice. Although the food and wine is very fine and the service is attentive, the atmosphere isn't at all stuffy or oppressive. We stayed in the cheapest room overlooking the road and although not large, it was very comfortable and immaculately clean. We were able to store our bikes in the locked boiler room which was a bonus.The breakfast was a treat, taken looking out over the birds and red squirrels towards Skiddaw emerging from the morning mist. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    40
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
291
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I ate here on Tuesday 08/10/2013 having chosen it from Tripadvisor.
I rate the meal only 6/10 due to many points, lack of flavour, inadequate seasoning, small portion sizes and limited presentation being the main points.
Please do not get me wrong the cooking is reasonable but not outstanding and at these prices I could not recommend it to my friends and family as value for money.
The staff are very good indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspatria, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to the Cottage in the Wood for my birthday. It was a delight from the friendly greeting at the door to our final goodbyes. We chose the Cumbrian menu, not least because I am so proud of the wonderful food of my adopted county. We were not disappointed. To eat eggs from where I buy my own eggs,and to enjoy a pudding made from locally supplied rum was very satisfying. All the other courses showed off the local produce and were cooked very skillfully. All in all it was a brilliant evening. We shall return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely location on a steep twisty tree lined road. Paradise for red squirrels so take it easy driving.
It really is a first class place to stay though some rooms are small. You can choose the Garden Room for special occasions, we had one of the mountain view rooms which was very good with an excellent view of Siddaw and a comfortable king size bed. On arrival we had a welcome tray of tea and ginger cake from Kath who is the friendly helpful owner and keeps the place running in a tip top fashion. The dining room is a perfect situation but sadly not enough room for everyone to have a window seat. Though I must say they did give every one a turn. Best only stay two/three nights as the menu does not change every night. Very tasty food though and excellent breakfast. All the staff very friendly and helpful.
Whinlatter Centre just up the road and superb walks in the area.

Room Tip: I would recommend Mountain rooms as a good choice. Garden Room something special and Treetops in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location. Fantastic food. Fantastic service. To top it all we also had great weather. Lunch time Cumbrian larder menu was brilliant and the staff were so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the providence of the food. What's not to like? We will be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Cottage in the Wood sits on the Whinlatter pass, a region of The Lake district national park that still retains a slightly wild feel with extensive pine woodlands but which is still only a short drive from the bustling town of Keswick. This location means that walkers, cyclists and nature lovers have a multitude of things to do.

On arriving at the Cottage, we were greeted by the friendly owner Kath and showed to the Garden Room. This contemporary accommodation is like something from a top city centre boutique hotel… double king size, wet room with heated flooring, Bose sound system and comfy seating area with wall-mounted flat-screen. Attention to detail in the form of home-made cookies, classy tea and coffee selections and premium soaps bolster the overall experience. However, it’s the dining room which elevates this establishment into one of the very best I’ve visited.

The meal (tasting menu) was absolute perfection. The accompanying wine flight I sampled was equally good and clearly well researched. Locally sourced ingredients, superb flavours and all assembled with a delicateness and innovation which you only find in top London kitchens simply blew us away. (My partner is a vegetarian and was served what she claimed to be was the best veggie fine-dining she’d experienced in 20 years). The overall experience is finished off with friendly, good-humoured and knowledgeable staff. Not cheap but they do say you get what you pay for. For us - simply perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a delightful small hotel.We stayed for 3 nights in the Treetops room,which was nice and quiet. You do need to be "able bodied" however to negotiate the rather steep steps up to Treetops.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
We very rarely have cooked breakfasts, but happily made an exception here.I would say the bacon and Cumberland sausage are probably the best we have tasted.Dinner was a delight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage in the Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Cottage in the Wood to your Saves list