We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cottage in the Wood to your Saves list
The Cottage in the Wood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Cottage in the Wood sits on the Whinlatter pass, a region of The Lake district national park that still retains a slightly wild feel with extensive pine woodlands but which is still only a short drive from the bustling town of Keswick. This location means that walkers, cyclists and nature lovers have a multitude of things to do.

On arriving at the Cottage, we were greeted by the friendly owner Kath and showed to the Garden Room. This contemporary accommodation is like something from a top city centre boutique hotel… double king size, wet room with heated flooring, Bose sound system and comfy seating area with wall-mounted flat-screen. Attention to detail in the form of home-made cookies, classy tea and coffee selections and premium soaps bolster the overall experience. However, it’s the dining room which elevates this establishment into one of the very best I’ve visited.

The meal (tasting menu) was absolute perfection. The accompanying wine flight I sampled was equally good and clearly well researched. Locally sourced ingredients, superb flavours and all assembled with a delicateness and innovation which you only find in top London kitchens simply blew us away. (My partner is a vegetarian and was served what she claimed to be was the best veggie fine-dining she’d experienced in 20 years). The overall experience is finished off with friendly, good-humoured and knowledgeable staff. Not cheap but they do say you get what you pay for. For us - simply perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    43
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
309
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a delightful small hotel.We stayed for 3 nights in the Treetops room,which was nice and quiet. You do need to be "able bodied" however to negotiate the rather steep steps up to Treetops.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
We very rarely have cooked breakfasts, but happily made an exception here.I would say the bacon and Cumberland sausage are probably the best we have tasted.Dinner was a delight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Its restaurant is a gem. Not only is the food exception - modern without being whimsical with a fine appreciation and understanding of local and seasonal ingredients and what works on the palate - the service was exceptional. From our hello and greeting to the goodbye, the place hummed with welcome, with soul and informal professionalism. The staff really enjoy what they are doing Well done to the Cottage in the Wood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had no expectations having booked at the last minute, read no reviews and made our selection purely on convenience. What we experienced was a welcome that was warm, genuine and attentive, the small hotel was busy but every member of staff, especially Kath the owner made us feel completely at home. The room was small but pretty and well designed. The food needs a separate three page essay. I simply can't describe how good it was without sounding like one of the more pretentious restaurant reviewers in a broadsheet newspaper. Suffice it to say that we are already plotting a return to the Lake District and a programme if serious walking and cycling in order to be able to justify indulging in a meal like that every night. It was a gourmet experience but one in which everything on the plate was there for no other reason than to be delicious, no cheffy tricks just incredibly good cooking, seriously, I'm still dreaming about it. And breakfast was EXTRAORDINARY.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After much searching decided on The Cottage in the Wood for a 3 day break in the Lakes. We had stayed in Braithwaite on several occasions so knew the area but not this hotel. It describes itself as a restaurant with rooms and this is a perfect description as the food is the major draw.
We ate there on all 3 nights and each meal was superb. The staff are extremely knowledgeable/well trained and able to tell you everything you every wanted to know about the providence of any aspect of your meal.
Yes the Cottage rooms are small but in the Lakes it is all about the great outdoors and enjoying the scenery so this should not be a drawback.
it would have been nice to have had a bar however the pace of dinner is so relaxed that it is lovely just to sit and admire the view from the conservatory windows.
Kath and her team do a great job.

Room Tip: If you like to spread out then the Cottage rooms are probably not for you as they are on the small s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A typically warm and welcoming reception from Kath and her team. They dealt with wet walking gear speedily and had us settled in our rooms before we new it. Tea and cake followed quickly and we then had an excellent dinner on Friday evening. A good breakfast set us up for a challenging hike the next day and again our boots and outer clothes were dealt with on return. A taxi was ordered to take us into Keswick at a price which pleasantly surprised these city dwellers. On return we were happily supplied with wine and a cheeseboard to enjoy in the lounge.
It is three years since we have been to the Cottage in the Wood; it will not be as long a gap to the next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect as the Whinlatter forest is close by with lots of clearly marked walks for those who can't read maps ( like us!). But it's also in the perfect spot for accessing the rest of the Lake District.
It's a small hotel and our room was rather tiny (Spruce) but very comfortable and clean. Good facilities too like tea, coffee, soaps etc.
The staff are incredibly attentive and pretty much cater for everyone. There is no bar but you can sit in the lounge at any time and you will be offered drinks or refreshments. There is wifi only in the lounge and no phone signal.
We prebooked dinner ( advisable, don't assume you will get a table there) and had the rather pricy but interesting Cumbrian tasting menu. But it was our choice to pay for something special and we weren't disappointed. Every course is explained too. Almost everything is locally sourced.
If you don't want to eat there the staff are very helpful in suggesting other places to eat. There are many in the area.
Breakfast is good with lots of choice of well cooked food.
The views are amazing and yes there are lots of red squirrels. I saw my first one literally as I arrived at the hotel.
A lovely place to stay.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage in the Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.