We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel with a lot to be proud of... Lessons for other hoteliers here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cottage in the Wood to your Saves list
The Cottage in the Wood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel with a lot to be proud of... Lessons for other hoteliers here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The setting in the Whinlatter Forest is a great start, my first red squirrel sighted almost straight away! Our mountain view room was obscured by mist and rain but wasn't reflected in the welcome we received. Every member of staff we met were warm, friendly, interested and clearly love the place. Our meal was a true delight, from the superb local ingredients to the wealth of choice for my vegetarian husband. What stood out was the unparalleled knowledge of the food and drink we were served by the waiting staff. Plenty of more upmarket restaurants could take a leaf out of their book. The service was impeccable. We were delighted with our stay, it exceeded our expectations and if you haven't eaten there, we recommend you do!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    43
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
309
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The Cottage in the Woods is a lovely B&B. We chose Rowan room which is a cottage room in the main house. The room was very well furnished with a good television, comfortable bed and decent bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant on the second night and was impressed with the standard of the food, it was all delicious.
We loved the lounge area, it had lots of magazines and books to read to choose your next walk. We had coffee several times and enjoyed the ambiance of the room.
What stands out are the staff and especially the owners Kath and Liam, Kath is a perfect hostess and really makes you feel welcome, the other staff we met are a credit to the cottage, and we thank them all for making our stay so pleasurable.
Finally breakfast, very well done, in a beautiful setting watching the birds and red squirrels and my husband also saw a deer.
The breakfast was cooked well, perfect poached egg three days running. All products used were sourced locally and very fresh. I loved the fresh tea and great coffee.
We would go back to the cottage in a blink, and the area is stunning with some fanstatic walking on the doorstop.
Thank you Kath & Liam you have a wonderful home.
Best wishes Jane & Mark

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just back from our first stay at The Cottage in the Wood. Hard to praise Kath and Liam enough for what they are creating in this wonderful location on the Whinlatter Pass, just up from Bassenthwaite village in the Northern Lake District. My partner and I had booked 3 nights here and arrived in the morning so that we could set off for a bike ride round Derwentwater and Newlands. Kath warmly welcomed us and said it would be no problem for us to leave the car in the car park while we did our ride. And so, after a fine, if inevitably slightly damp, day out, we returned to sit quietly on the shared balcony, admiring the stunning views to Skiddaw and sampling a glass from the excellent wine list. And here we also encountered what, I believe, helps makes The Cottage in the Wood so special - its attention to detail and the exceptional quality of the staff. Nothing seemed too much trouble - with front of house allowing us to store our bikes securely round the back at the same time as looking after us with some of the best cake I'd ever eaten. All done with real and genuine courtesy and warmth.

We'd booked into 'Larch', one of the smaller rooms, but still more than adequate for our needs. Decor modern, light and airy, spotlessly clean and a wonderfully comfortable bed. After a day on the fells this was bliss. As was the superb shower en-suite.

And so to the food. Hard to overstate the absolute treat in store for food-lovers here. Personally I'm a quality over quantity person and Kath and Liam with their kitchen staff delivered every time. Breakfast is heavenly, with a choice of the 'works' with locally sourced food, all cooked to order. You can choose a 'lighter' option, which we tried on occasion, and it, too, was absolutely delicious - setting us up nicely for an active day on the bikes or out on the fells. If you're lucky you might even be treated to the sight of some mischievous Red squirrels who clearly know which side their own bread is buttered by dropping by...

We dined at 'The Cottage' on one evening and, without question, it was one of the best meals we have eaten in a long time. Perfectly balanced and with ingredients of exceptional quality, complemented with a good wine list that only lacked a lighter glass of sparkling wine (a Prosecco perhaps?) to perhaps initiate proceedings. A minor point in an otherwise faultless, stunning experience - all with a view over Skiddaw as a backdrop. I felt the choice very good as I prefer to rely on the kitchen to provide seasonal offerings rather than a huge, bland, menu. It interested me to note that locals clearly travelled up the lower slopes of Grisedale Pike to sample the latest menu - with taxis dropping and picking diners up throughout the evening.

So, in conclusion, Kath, Liam and their staff deserve my heartfelt congratulations for their warmth, superb customer service and attention to detail. They certainly are bringing something special to this part of the Lake District. We shall certainly return. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my second stay at The Cottage in the Wood. Back in April it was cold and stormy, but the hotel was warm and cosy. This time we arrived in sizzling heat to find the hotel welcomingly cool. We were welcomed by Kath with pots of tea and coffee and chunks of dilicious carrot cake.
One difference to my previous stay was that we were able to sit out on the terrace .... magnificent views down the valley to Skidaw and plenty of bird and squirrel spotting.
My younger son, a vegetarian who does not eat mushrooms, usually causes problems in terms of choice of menu items, but The Cottage's wonderful chef, Ryan, produced a genuinely bespoke vegetarian tasing menu, as creative and delicious as the main tasing menu ... Thank you Ryan!
Also, they managed to magic a portion of beans for breakfast. Apart from the excellent standard English breakfast options with porridge, kippers etc. there is a daily breakfast special such as scrambled egg and smoked salmon or fried duck egg on brioche with mushrooms.
Nothing is too much trouble for these very kind people.
We shall certainlt return to The Cottage in the Wood

Room Tip: On each visit we have opted for the Cottage rooms which are excellent, if a little small. If you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Cottage in the Wood for two nights for our wedding anniversary. They have a variety of rooms and we selected their best, the 'Garden Room'. We wanted a luxury room in a small hotel/guesthouse that also had a licenced restaurant.
When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owner, Kath. We were offered complimentary coffee and cake, and the walnut and carrot cake was outstanding.
We ate both nights in the restaurant. On the first night we had their 8 course taster menu, where each course was made from locally-sourced produce, we also had the wine flight that went with the menu. The meal and the service were outstanding. We cannot understand why they do not have a Michelin Star. Liam, also owner with his wife Kath, had chosen the wines and they were the perfect complement to each of the dishes.
On the second night we chose dishes from the a le carte menu and again had a Michelin Star experience. The Turbot dish was stunning!
Throughout the stay Kath & Liam made us, and all the other guests, feel really special, and the waiting staff were all excellent.
We booked the Cottage in the Wood hoping for a comfortable/luxury room with a good restaurant. What we experience far exceeded our expectations. Truly outstanding and pefect in every way.
Thanks Kath & Liam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chigwell essex uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Cottage in the Wood. Last year we treated ourself to the Garden Room. This year we decided to try another room and was not disapointed. The Oak room has mountain views to die for and a whirlpool bath, which after a long days hike was welcomed. I loved the little touches. A bottle of radox bubble bath to help you soak your aches away (thank you). A good size room with a huge comfortable bed. The restuarant and chef is worth its weight in gold The food is devine and you really need to reserve a booking in advance because they get booked up quite quickly. If you are looking to try some exciting new food then this is the place to be. A great location and even though you are literally in the middle of the forest, there is a bus that drives past the door which you can flag down or just walk approx 4-5 minutes up the long winding forest road for the bus stop. I could say so much more but I want to get back to my diary to check for dates. Thank you Kath & Liam for looking after us again. See you soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Charming Hosts. Excellent staff. Superb food. Wonderful location. We enjoyed a short early summer break, the weather could have been better but did not mar our enjoyment. We can recommend the cottage with confidence and we look forward to an early return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage in the Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.