We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!! Incredible attention to detail.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cottage in the Wood to your Saves list
The Cottage in the Wood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!! Incredible attention to detail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff are incredible and nothing is too much effort.
Wonderful food, everything is home made and beautiful.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
It really was a joy to stay here and I cannot recommend it enough.
The owners should be very proud of the beautiful hotel/restaurant they have worked so very hard to build.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    43
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
309
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Cootage in the Wood over the New Year period, and the service, food and general ambience were all fantastic. In between booking and arriving, I discovered that I'm pregnant which (given how special the menu at Cottage in the Wood is) I thought might be a problem for the catering. But Cath and all the staff members could not have been kinder and more attentive, adapting the menus when necessary and looking after our every need.

A few of the other reviews have commented on small portion sizes at the restaurant. To me, this misses the point of the Cottage in the Wood experience. The portions are small, because they are cooked beautifully and full of flavour, and a range of courses (between 2 and 5) are on offer to cater for different appetites. If you're after a large bowl of chips and a stodgy pudding, this is not the place for you. If you appreciate quality food, locally sourced and beautifully presented, then I highly recommend it.

Thanks for a lovely break - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Several months ago I planned our stay at Cottage in the Wood. All my queries were immediately answered and actioned.
When we arrived, earlier then expected , every wish and desire was delivered by Kath.
Our room , Garden room, was unbelievable . We enjoyed waking at dawn, or maybe just me, admiring all the wildlife. Sensational walks from the door. A great pub at the bottom of the hill as well.
But the food ,carefully planned and delivered with precise attention to every morsel, belongs to the undivided attention of Liam. Every accolade is deserved.
Cottage in the Wood is truly magnificent . Everyone must enjoy this slice of decadence , at least once in their lives.
Thank you Kath and Liam.

Amanda and Grant

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stay in a lot of hotels around the world due to my job and this is the cleanist hotel I have ever stayed in. The good points do not stop there..... Firslty the location is beautiful. The staff made sure that our stay was excellent and the owners were the perfect hosts. We stayed in the Tree Tops room, which is lovely. Note: To get to this room you do have to go up a narrow staircase and the ceilings are low so if your very tall this is not the room for you, pick one of their other rooms. We intend visiting again and staying in one of the other rooms as we want to see what there like (Garden room next). There are a few comments on here about the food but you have to take into consideration what your expectation is. The food is very much nouvelle cuisine so the portions appear to be smaller than you would get for a pub meal, but it is not a pub meal!! The food is fantastic and you will not leave hungry. The menu is a little difficult to decipher but simply as one of the staff to go through it with you and they can give you a very detailed description, this helped - thanks. This isn't somewhere I would bring my 4 year old, but thats sort of the point. Its an escape from the norm and its a great place to be. Thank you to the staff and owners for a great time

Room Tip: Tree Tops has low ceilings but very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Its a cosy, charming cottage, modern inside , and the owners are friendly and helpful. I loved the food, both breakfast and dinner, The menu is flexible - you can choose 3 or 4 courses, and the first 4 items can be either starter or intermediate. We opted for starter, main, cheese and pudding. The wine list is very good indeed. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We got everything we wanted and expected from our stay here. We wanted a relaxing location, great scenery and excellent food and we weren't disappointed.

We were made to feel extremely welcome and were very well looked after. The cottage room is quite small but Sally very kindly offered to take our empty suitcases & store them to give us more space. It was small but cosy and the homemade biscuits are a nice touch although if you can afford to and you like your space, stay in one of the larger rooms.

The lounge area with it's fire is a great place to relax in with plenty of books to suit all interests.
The food was the highlight for us, both breakfast and dinner. The fried duck egg on sourdough with mushrooms was the best breakfast either of us have had in a long time. We loved that the food was first class but the atmosphere was casual. We both loved the Herdwick hogget main and I loved the crab bisque with avocado ice-cream.

The weather was dreadful during our stay but didn't dampen our experience (pun intended!). Kath kindly looked after our wet gear for us.
Staff and service could not be faulted, you will never feel you are inconveniencing anyone. I can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

re-visited this restaurant (with rooms) and greeted by a personal welcome from the owner who came out from her office, She recognised us as having been previously, despite it having been about a year ago and expressed her pleasure that we had returned - really felt special. Food remains amongst (if not) the best in the area. The views from conservatory even better due to autumnal colours and lack of leaves to obstruct.Service efficient and friendly without being intrusive.

Room Tip: have not experienced staying here as we have a second home in the area but would love to try an over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage in the Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.