We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imposing hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Ruddings Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Middle Ruddings Country Inn to your Saves list
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Imposing hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Have only eaten and used bar at Middle Ruddings always greeted as "a freind" by all staff. Good selection of beers, varied menu using local produce. Steak & Ale Pie wonderful (large portion). Well worth a visit if only for coffee and to gaze at the majesty of Skiddaw

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    48
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
63
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend over a very quiet period after my parents recommended it to me. Everything from the check in to check out was fantastic. Especially the evening meal and the hand pulled beers. We would definitely return soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just had another fantastic couple of days at Middle Ruddings with Liz, Andy, Tom and Beccy. We have been visiting the Lake District for over 18 years and stayed in all sorts of accommodation and can say this is by far the best!
All the staff are without question, the most friendly and helpful we have had the pleasure to meet, The food is second to none and Andy keeps an excellent selection of real ales and wines, We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will be booking in for at least two more visits in 2013. Thanks again from Ian and Yvonne.
Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Another fantastic stay with Andy, Liz and the team, exceptionally warm welcome, excellent room. Loved the roaring log fire, and the autumn/winter menu was perfect, offering lots of choice to the weary and hungry walker. A hotel to really feel at home in. We would highly reccomend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent hotel with superb service from lovely staff.This was a quiet week after half term and we benefited from even more personal attention than normal. Personally overseen by family who all live on the premises. Food in either bar or conservatory restaurant is wonderful and home baking and cooking is excellent. We were allowed to have dogs in bar for our evening meal which is both unusual in hotels and very welcome to us with our well behaved retrievers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

On business so did not spend as much time as I would have liked in the hotel.
However, I must say the evening meal was splendid and exceeded expectations, the staff were friendly and the rooms compact and clean.
I was leaving early in the morning - outside the normal breakfast hours - but it was almost insisted I had breakfast, and made me poached eggs and coffee. I only wish time was not so pressing so could have hogged out on the full breakfast menu.
It is what I call going the extra mile to look after guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked 3 nights at Middle Ruddings to be fairly near while my daughter and friends were Youth Hostelling without parents for the first time, but it won't be the last time I stay there!

There's an immediate welcome from the staff who show you to your room and explain things, and I was impressed by the clean fresh room with comfortable bed and lots of pillows. Couldn't get the TV to work, but that was the controller rather then the TV; I worked it out eventually! The bathroom was a bit small but again spotlessly clean and had everything I need including a good powerful shower.
There was ample storage space and a very good beverage tray with supplies replenished daily.

The bar and lounge downstairs are comfortable and welcoming with a lovely fire in the bar; great for getting warm over a beer after a wet walk; the weather wasn't at its best during my stay! There are real ales and ciders at the bar. Downstairs near the kitchen, a member of staff showed me the drying room which is a bonus as all my wet gear got dried off each day for the next morning.

I opted for bed and breakfast but ended up eating dinner there for 2 of the 3 nights and would definitely book D,B & B next time as the price is reasonable. Breakfast was served in a dedicated breakfast room which was good, because the staff didn't have to keep re-laying tables for either breakfast or dinner, and you could sit anywhere laid for the appropriate number of people. There were fruit compotes and salads, delicious home baked bread, juices and cereals to start including lovely own recipe muesli and yoghurt. Cooked breakfast was to order, with cumberland sausage, local bacon and black pudding, roast tomatoes, eggs cooked the way you asked for them, and even haggis and potatoes if you wanted! There were also delicious kippers or smoked haddock with poached eggs, or local ham and cheeses if you wanted continental. Breakfast all in all was among the nicest I've had in the Lakes!

I didn't regret opting for dinner and wish I'd booked D,B&B in the first place! I always find it's better to book B&B the first time you go somewhere and to try dinner. Middle Ruddings' dinner menu is quite simply excellent, with specials every day as well as a few regular dishes. One night I had Morecambe Bay potted shrimps followed by slow roast lamb, both of which were superb. The other night I opted for home made pate with cumberland sauce, and venison steak in juniper sauce. Again both superb! Vegetables were cooked to perfection, and the only regret was that I couldn't fit in a pudding either night, as the choice looked delicious! Perhaps next time the weather will be better and I can get out for a longer mountain day which means I might be able to fit in 3 courses!

There's a lovely garden with sitting out areas; pity that it was only dry for one day but something to look forward to in the summer, taking coffee or a beer out there with wonderful views to Skiddaw

I have been looking for somewhere new for short breaks in the North Lakes since my favourite hotel was taken over by a chain and the standard of food destroyed. Middle Ruddings sources all its food from local suppliers as my former favourite place used to do, and it shows in the quality of what they serve! Lots of organic and fairtrade produce too, and a wine list with some favourites featured.

The staff are friendly and helpful; nothing is too much trouble. I thought the informal reception area was part of the charm of an inn which offers informal comfort and a relaxing stay. I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middle Ruddings Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Ruddings Country Inn

Address: Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middle Ruddings Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Middle Ruddings Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Ruddings Country Inn Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Ruddings Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.