We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, poor food, a shame really after last year” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
South Yorks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good beer, poor food, a shame really after last year”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We were staying in Braithwaite on the caravan site & decided to eat here as last year so I cannot comment on the hotel facilities. We were treated very efficiently in the bar whilst ordering our food & perused the quite extensive menu for some time noting the attention to detrail in giving the provenance of meats etc. The real ales were all local & very well kept, these we enjoyed thoroughly.

After a days walking on the fells in somewhat inclemant conditions the two carnivores amongst us decided to go for the comfort of steak & ale pie whilst our "veggie" friend went for the Stumpy goats cheese tart.

The starters we had were of good quality but unfortunately the mains were not up to the same standard, the goats cheese tart was quite good but the salad accompanying it somewhat tasteless. The steak in the pie was four very large pieces covered in a separately (over)cooked crust, however the main problem was that the cooking of the meat , this may have been cooked slowly but had clearly been cooked at too high a temperature (a fundamental error) as the meat had become tough & dry, each piece being difficult to cut & even more difficult to chew - we really should have sent it back, neither of us finished it. I also saw another diner on an adjacent table having the same difficulty.

When it came to time to choose deserts one of us asked what flavours of sorbet they had, the waiter simply shrugged & said he didn't know but one might be blackcurrant, no offer was made to find out for us, the other waiting staff were actually very helpful. The Eton Mess was flavoursome & actually the best part of the meal but lacked any real texture of meringue.

We were disapointed, as last year we had our best meal here, this time it was our worst, we will be back to Braithwaite again next year, but not to this restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    30
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
49
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have eaten here a few times on previous trips but this was the first time I stayed. I was with a large group of friends and we visit this area each year. Our stay was very pleasant and we were made to feel welcome. Our room was fairly spacious having an extra bed in but some of our group had much smaller rooms. The food here is excellent and we ate here all three nights we stayed. Breakfast was also fairly good for this type of small hotel. The men seem to like the range of beers on offer too.The whole building has a nice atmosphere and we spent some time in the residents lounge which was comfortable. On the whole it was a lovely place to stay for a few days and the area does offer excellent walking so would certainly recommend this hotel and I will probably be back next year.

Room Tip: Room sizes vary greatly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed here in the 3rd week of May with a group of friends. We visit the Lakes every year and usually select a different place each time. This hotel had just about everything. Andy only selects Cumbrian real ales so you may come across a few you are not familiar with, but they go so fast you will soon have another one to try. He also has a real cider to satisfy any thirsty walkers. The hotel is in the CAMRA good beer guide so you know that you will get a good pint or two after a hard days walking. The food was good and substantial and locally sourced where possible. We stayed for a week and although I have a healthy appetite I was usually struggling by the time it came to the desert. There is a special menu as well as the fixed menu and usually at least 5 or 6 dishes to choose from for each course. What I particularly liked is that there was no extra charges for any of the dishes even though some may be a bit more expensive. A pretty good wine menu made the meals even more enjoyable.This is a great place to stay if you are thinking of a walking holiday as lots of fells are nearby and Keswick is only 2-3 miles away. This is just about the best value for money hotel I have stayed in the Lake District. We will back again next year.

Room Tip: Good views at the front, quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed in Middle Ruddings for 3 nights and used it as our based to visit Keswick and area. We had stayed in Braithwaite many times before, but had only used the hotel for birthday meals.
From arrival to departure we were treated really well, with attentive staff and comfortable facilities. Mid week the hotel was very quiet, but the dining room was very busy most nights as it attracts lots of people for the excellent dining.
Breakfast appears to be legendary here, and after a wide range of cereals, fruit, juices etc, the full cooked "Cumbrian" is a monster and beautifully cooked and presented. Home baked bread and home made jams and marmalades make up a splendid meal. We only ate very light lunches all three days due to the great start to the day.
We dined in on only one night, but found the menu was superb and the quality of the food and wine excellent.
We had great weather (could this be a first for the Lakes in March?) and enjoyed good walks around the Lake, and up in Whinlatter. We also saw a wonderful show at the Theatre by the Lake and "shopped till we dropped".
Prices seem pretty standard for accomodation around the area, and meals range from cheap - ish, to silly expensive in some places. Overall we found the hotel to provide good value and excellent quality. Many thanks to Andy and Liz and their team. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Had a couple of days in the lakes with an overnight stay at the Middle Ruddings .
From the moment we arrived to when we left we were made very welcome by the owner Andy and the rest of the crew nothing was to much bother .
Yes the building is old but clean as a whistle I think this adds to the character of the hotel its not just a square room with a bed .
Had excellent evening meal in front of a log fire and a try of the excellent local ales and gin on offer at the bar .
It couldnt have been better .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

The owners were very friendly and eager to please. I dont know if the chef was away beacuse breakfast one morning was excellent and one day not so good.
Evening meals were good.
The main downside was the room and bathroom which were rather tired. We took our dog so I dont know if this room is allocated to dog owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed there at the end of Nov 2010.Room was very good,food excellent.Nothing was too much bother for the staff.We will certainly stay there again.Terrific atmosphere in the bar the locals very chatty and informative

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant

Address: Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.