We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood

The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood
Magic Hill | Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick, England
+44 17687 78409
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $39 - $93
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Award winning restaurant with rooms featuring the best of Cumbrian produce
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The selection of food was great and it was really well cooked.
The atmosphere and service was fantastic, Kath, Julie and Sally were excellent.
Would definitely recommend this place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    26
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It truly was a perfect evening. The owner, Kathy, greeted us and we were seated in a cozy room to enjoy our beverages. Kathy explained the menu in great detail and then left us to make our choices. A waitstaff member came by soon after and answered all of our questions and took our orders. We were shown to our table in the conservatory and the view was beautiful. Service could not have been better - attentive, friendly but yet discreet. And the food! My sea bass was one of the best meals I have ever eaten. The flavors of the dish melded perfectly. My husband ordered the Hedgewick Hogget and said it was delicious. Presentation of everyone's dinner was elegant. I can't begin to say enough about the excellence of the staff. This was one of the finest dining experiences I have ever encountered. As a result, we will be back many more times with friends and family. Thank you, Kathy, for a perfect evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went for a meal back in March for my mothers birthday and the staff were great and even set up a little area in the lounge for us to put the balloons and the cake. The food was some of the nicest I've ever tasted and the location is beautiful in the middle of the wood.

I was lucky enough to find this place through trip advisor and don't normally write reviews but had to because this place was so fantastic! Would recommend to anyone. Only a short taxi ride from Keswick and looking forward to our next visit in October.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“My new favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Superb food, great value, wonderful view, excellent service. Could not believe how empty it was for lunch at peak season, but we had a wonderful time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“wonderful staff, gorgeous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went here for lunch for my father in law's birthday when we were visiting maryport, Cumbria. We called a couple days beforehand to make a reservation and thus were given one of the best tables in the house, meaning one that overlooks the valleys and forest. Upon arrival we were greeted with wonderful service from the staff who introduced themselves to us on a first name basis and treated us like royalty!
Oh the food! Excellent, and everything was perfect. My father in law (who is picky and is usually not into 'posh' places) raved about his beef cheek, and my salmon was incredible. We will be back for another special occasion. Great to have a restaurant of this caliber in the area.. the rooms look gorgeous, too! Thank you so much for a delightful experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.