We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you HAD TO.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Royal Oak Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braithwaite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Oak Hotel
Save
You added Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Only if you HAD TO.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The staff were resentful of customers, the food was abismal but expensive. The furniture is tired and grimy.

Frankly it seems only to survive because it's in the village centre.

Avoid this place. There are much better options.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My daughter, giant Schauzer and myself stayed at the Royal Oak for two nights. After a long journey from London the welcome was warm. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bar area was cosy and inviting. The dinner and breakfast menues were good and the portions generous. Only fault was that the walls inbetween the rooms are very thin and you can hear what is going on very clearly!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here last weekend. The location is perfect for walking the pub/hotel was comfortable nice and warm with a warm welcome. The food was very good and good value for money. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only negative was that the mattresses need replacing in some of the rooms as they were noisy and kept us and others with the same problem awake!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a couple of meals here whilst staying at a friends house for a few days. NIce cosy pub,good beer and lovely hearty food , plenty to choose from, The atmosphere was very friendly. the service excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend, very friendly staff, room really warm and clean, good views of the mountains. Breakfast was excellent and you could eat as much as you like with lots of choices. Evening meal was also very good quality with lots of choice for adults and children. Kids can sit in the bar, so can dogs. Would recommend to anyone staying in the Northern Lakes, just over 2 miles to Keswick and lots going on in the area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August on the recommendation of a friend in London, so glad we did. We had a very warm welcome from Joe & Caroline our room was lovely very clean and our evening meal was superb, breakfast was very good and lady who served it was very nice. We will tell our friends about this place and we will go back again. Thank you for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We always make a point of visiting the Royal Oak when we are in the Lakes - its a great village pub, always busy, always a friendly greeting and lovely food. Back here this August for the first visit to the Lakes in a couple of years and the Royal Oak is just a as good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.