We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Royal Oak Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Oak Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have visited the Royal Oak for food and drinks for the last two years and decided to stay there this year for two nights. We have previously tried to book rooms before so I would recommmend that you book early in high season. The room was spacious and very clean with twin beds, the bathroom was large with a bath and shower and lovely fluffy towels. Other family members had a double room with a four poster bed, a travel cot was provided which was in excellent condition and there was still plenty of room. The staff are really friendly and very hospitable ensuring their guests needs are met. Breakfast was excellent and boasts a good range of cerials and cooked products, the menu for meals offer a wide choice at good prices. The Royal Oak is an excellent place to stay, its great value for money set in a beautiful location. I would recommend that people visit for themselves and enjoy the hospitality that the Royal Oak provides!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
biglands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

coming down after the coledale horseshoe a group of us needed a quick lunch and drink,we were very lucky and only got a table as 1 family left- so fully expected a long wait for food
much to our surprise food all came very quickly and i can honestly say it was the best £5 lunch ever. generous portion, lovely side salad , simply amazing value for money.
live fairly local so cant wait to go back with wife and kids
top marks to all the staff ! will be highly recommending to all

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We've been in the Royal Oak many times for food and drink in the past but, this was our first time actualy staying there. Couldn't fault the place - it was wonderful. Very spacious room with four-poster bed, very clean and warm. Great views from our windows. Evening meals - very substantial as was the hearty Cumbrian breakfast. The log fire in the bar is a great feature and perfect to sit beside after a hard day on the fells with a great pint of ale. A superb inn in a superb setting. Would love to return again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Having stayed at the Royal Oak many times my wife and I make it our first choice if we are in the Lakes. The rooms are comfortable and the food is good ( smaller portions are available not just for children) The staff are most welcoming and the atmosphere is friendlt and relaxing.Great place to stay if you are a walker.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have baths, otherwise its showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for three night in the middle of january, not exactly the perfect time of the year to visit the lake district but we had a fabulous time. We were lucky enough to stay in the room with a huge four poster bed which was beautiful and the views outside the window were amazing. Rooms are warm, clean and a slightly small bathroom but sufficient shower.
For breakfast there is a choice of different cereals, fruit, yoghurts and juice. Then a staff member takes your order for a cooked breakfast such as bacon, sausages, eggs, tea and coffee etc. Can't complain at the choice and quality. We also had a few lunches and evening meals and although the menu isn't very extensive, the food is top notch and delicious (would highly recommend the mushroom pasta).
The bar is well stocked and even during the daytime off peak season can still get reasonably busy. Staff are always available and very friendly, offering tips and avice whenever asked.
There are plenty of walks around the area ranging from small and easy, to full day super fitness required walks. You easily lose track of time as the surrounding area is quite stunning; snow capped mountains, rolling hills, lakes and wildlife.
Loved my time here and the best part after a long and strenuous walk was to come back to the pub and sit in front of the fire and have a nice drink.
Would deffinitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I saw a couple of bad reviews on here and thought they must be wrong. I have stayed close to here before and came here for meals and it was fine.

We stayed 3 nights and it was great. The beer was fantastic. The food was very well presented and in great portion sizes. You won't leave hungry! The room was really nice. We had the 4 poster one. The en suite bathrooms are a bit small but it's all part of the size of the building. Really happy with the stay and will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

For a three star public house we were disappointed and found it rather expensive. The room we stayed in was rather shabby and the one evening meal was very disappointing. They must have a very expensive microwave.

Only saving grace was the sausage served at breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.