We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant

Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant
Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
(017687) 78436
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Looked like a run of the mill hotel/pub but the food was exceptional, good local ingredients well cooked and with some interesting twists. A good wine list complements the food and reasonable prices finish the offer. Not a muddy boots and waterproofs place so a nice departure for the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    51
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Needs Updating but food was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a well positioned and well used pub restaurant.
We went for an evening meal where we were attended to professionally and by a young friendly set of staff. The food was great and we got plenty of it for a good price. However, the restaurant area is a bit tired looking and in need of some TLC.
That being said, I would happily eat there every night of the week!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good honest food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Though there wasn't a massive menu choice there was enough to satisfy most tastes and the portions were very generous. Definite value for money and extremely pleasant and friendly staff.

Spent 2 nights in the area and ate here both nights, when we go back we will certainly visit again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Reliably good food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A regular diner at this restaurant. The food is good, much sourced locally and the staff friendly. Ask for the conservatory didning room unless you want to eat out of sight of dogs. Dogs & children made most welcome. Excellent beers!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“High class dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We were very fortunate to get an early table in the restaurant and were looking forward to a good meal after a long days walking. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is light and airy with lovely views, the staff were extremely friendly and efficient, and there is a good variety of excellent local beer on tap. The food was superb - I had rabbit which was a special that day, followed by a chocolate lovers platter which was good but I must admit I looked enviously at my companion's sticky toffee pudding which was reported as excellent. The surprise at the end was the bill, which considering the standard of the meal we had, was very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Ruddings Country Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.