We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st.Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Bank Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Bank Country Guest House to your Saves list
Maple Bank Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1st.Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Maple Bank for 2 nights 15th.&16th. March, and were made most welcome by Rhona and Tommy who are prefect hosts. Our room was spacious and spotless and had a stunning view across the valley to Skiddaw.The breakfasts were excellent and set us up for a day on the fells.Maple Bank is in an ideal location for exploring the northern fells and Keswick.We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much Stephen for the excellent (prompt) review, we're glad you and Lyndsay enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would be happy to recommend us.
Also we're thrilled to be described as
'First class'.

We look forward to seeing you again Rhona and Tommy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
94
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Maple Bank is our favourite place to stay in the Lakes. The rooms are lovely, well furnished, warm and spotlessly clean and we usually stay in one with a lovely view. Rhona and Tommy really make you feel at home and are perfect hosts with a wealth of local knowledge. Breakfast was really tasty. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you Paul for the lovely review, It was a pleasure to welcome you both to our home.
We're thrilled you enjoyed the your stay with us and the Location.
Tommy really enjoyed the motorbike talk, hope to see you again soon.
Regards Rhona and Tommy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed a great weekend at Maple Bank to celebrate a birthday. Having the run of the whole house was ideal as there were 13 of us (plus 'Lucky' the dog) we were able to relax and do everything at our own pace. Rhona and Tommy were perfect hosts (very helpful and welcoming but not over the top) being next door they were on hand (if needed). The views were brilliant. We did a bit of walking (Catbells and from the visitors centre at Whinlatter). I'd recommend Maple Bank and will certainly stay again next visit to Braithwaite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review for us.
It's always helpful to know, how our Guests feel about their stay, especially the comment
that we are 'not over the top'. Trying to find the right balance of being helpful and just letting people get on with there holiday can sometimes be a bit tricky!
We look forward to seeing you again next time your in Braithwaite.

Regards Rhona and Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Maple Bank for a long weekend. It was an ideal place for exploring the Lake District. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We and our dog were made very welcome. We can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us.
Tommy and I are delighted you (and your dog) enjoyed your stay
and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Regards Rhona and Tommy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A good welcome from Tommy & Rhona, when we arrived after a typical soggy drive across the lake district. Good parking facilities, Room was tidy, comfortable and warm. Location is within easy reach of Keswick. Breakfast was a delight! The trip was a little while back but we remember the beautiful scenery and the location was within easy reach of places to eat and socialise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front and top have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review, Tommy and I are delighted that you have so many positive points about Maple Bank.
Hope to see you again Rhona and Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent 3 nights break enjoying a warm friendly welcome from Rhona and Tommy. The hotel is conveniently placed for public transport as well as having a wealth of walks on the doorstep. Beautiful surroundings,very good facilities and breakfast.We had a super breakfast and were made very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for review No.100 Tommy and I are thrilled to get so many great reviews and delighted you all (including the dog) enjoyed your stay with us at Maple Bank.
We look forward to seeing you again Rhona and Tommy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Maple Bank on several occasions and feel part of the family now. Rhona and Tommy are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble especially when getting pestered by my 3 children for their attention (ages 3, 8 and 11). Wonderful breakfast which set us up the days adventures. Rooms and views fabulous. Looking forward to our next stay there very soon.

Great place for a break in the lakes you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much Anne and Ron for the lovely review, we always look forward to your visits and the kids are a delight to have around (even if they do chase Tommy's chickens and the dog).
Looking forward to your next visit.

Rhona, Tommy, Amy and Derek X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Bank Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Bank Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.