We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Bank Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maple Bank Country Guest House to your Saves list
Maple Bank Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house and friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Maple Bank for a long weekend. It was an ideal place for exploring the Lake District. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We and our dog were made very welcome. We can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us.
Tommy and I are delighted you (and your dog) enjoyed your stay
and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Regards Rhona and Tommy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
95
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A good welcome from Tommy & Rhona, when we arrived after a typical soggy drive across the lake district. Good parking facilities, Room was tidy, comfortable and warm. Location is within easy reach of Keswick. Breakfast was a delight! The trip was a little while back but we remember the beautiful scenery and the location was within easy reach of places to eat and socialise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front and top have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review, Tommy and I are delighted that you have so many positive points about Maple Bank.
Hope to see you again Rhona and Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent 3 nights break enjoying a warm friendly welcome from Rhona and Tommy. The hotel is conveniently placed for public transport as well as having a wealth of walks on the doorstep. Beautiful surroundings,very good facilities and breakfast.We had a super breakfast and were made very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for review No.100 Tommy and I are thrilled to get so many great reviews and delighted you all (including the dog) enjoyed your stay with us at Maple Bank.
We look forward to seeing you again Rhona and Tommy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Maple Bank on several occasions and feel part of the family now. Rhona and Tommy are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble especially when getting pestered by my 3 children for their attention (ages 3, 8 and 11). Wonderful breakfast which set us up the days adventures. Rooms and views fabulous. Looking forward to our next stay there very soon.

Great place for a break in the lakes you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much Anne and Ron for the lovely review, we always look forward to your visits and the kids are a delight to have around (even if they do chase Tommy's chickens and the dog).
Looking forward to your next visit.

Rhona, Tommy, Amy and Derek X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Not long returned from another stay at Maple Bank and we've had great time! Beautiful breakfasts, beautiful rooms, beautiful scenery and fantastic hosts. My daughter enjoyed going up the garden to collect the eggs for breakfast with Tommy, can't get much fresher produce than that!
Great parking facilities, had a fantastic meal in the Ivy House Hotel. Maple Bank is a great location, only 2 miles outside Keswick and right on the fells. Planning our next visit for May :-) Thanks again Tommy & Rhona, another fab stay :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, rooms at the front have fantastic views over Skiddaw and the family room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much to all of the Gore family for the brilliant review, were so glad you enjoy your visits to Maple Bank as much as we enjoy having you here!!
Looking forward to seeing you in May ..... I'll get the Sherry in!!

Lol Tommy, Rhona, Amy and Derek xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in April , very friendly catered for our every need , beautiful views would definitely stay again . Rhonda and Tommy cooked us a wonderful breakfast which filled us for the day . Pub within a couple of minutes walk very handy if it rains .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much Suzy and Aden for the great review.
It was lovely welcoming you to our home...... I am a little confused though... whose Rhonda?
also, it doesn't really rain here...does it??? Ha ha ... not much anyway!

Regards Rhona, Tommy, Amy and Derek xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Maple Bank is the perfect location for a short break or a longer holiday. I say that because I have stayed at Maple Bank at least once a year for over 30 years! Rhona and Tommy have owned this beautiful Guest House for about 6 years and when I go back it's like meeting up with old friends! Nothing is too much trouble for Rhona and Tommy, who always have a cheery word and serve a fantastic breakfast to set you up for a day's walking.The rooms and en-suites are decorated to a high standard and are spotlessly clean and have everything you want. The front rooms have stunning views across the Derwent valley to Skiddaw. It is in an ideal situation for some wonderful walks in the northern Lakes and for exploring further afield. I can't recommend Maple Bank highly enough! I'll be back again in about a month!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have stunning views. Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much Nigel for writing a brilliant review for us.
Is it really 30 years?
I have to let others who maybe reading this know, Nigel is still and very young handsome man who was first introduced to the Lake District and Maple Bank by his parents all those years ago!!!
Clearly hooked.....hears to the next 30 years Nigel!
Looking forward to seeing you next month Rhona and Tommy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Bank Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Bank Country Guest House

Address: Maple Bank, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maple Bank Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Bank is a magnificent Edwardian residence set in an acre of beautiful gardens near Keswick and commands uninterrupted views across the Derwent valley towards Skiddaw and Latrigg. It is ideally placed for walking, climbing, water sports, and other less strenuous activities like fishing or visiting local pubs and eateries!We pride ourselves on our service and wish to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.Large private car park and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maple Bank Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Bank Country Guest House Braithwaite, Lake District - Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Bank Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.