We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbaye Saint Martin du Canigou

Abbaye Saint Martin du Canigou
66820 Casteil, France
+33 4 68 05 50 03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Casteil
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On an eagle's nest in the heart of the Massif du Canigou, the former Benedictine Abbey of St. Martin's discretely overhangs the valley since the XI century. A unique site just waiting to be discovered by the delighted rambler, with ist bell tower, marble capitals, the vaulted abbey-church and crypt... A jewel of early Romanesque architecture typical of this region.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Wageningen
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We've visited a few monastries in this area, but this is the most impressive. It is in a very secluded spot, high up in the mountains. It is accesible from the village through a very steep 2 kilometre road. It took us 45 minutes to climb up there. It still functions as a monastry., so it is a very solemn experience. We're not sure, but only the guided tour will get you inside the monastry.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A perfect walk up the path on a fall day to the destination of a spectacular abbaye in the mountains. If you can tackle the 300m climb on a paved pathway up the hill, the Abbaye is not to be missed. Guided tour on top.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A very magnificsent (lovely) location but a bit tricky to get to. You can drive to the actual village (Castiel) beyond Vernet-Les-Bains below the abbey but it is all a bit confusing as to where to go and park. Some one-way streets (bridge) need to be ignored. We managed to park and then found the directions. Thought it was a 35 mins walk but turned out to be about 50 mins, all uphill. Don't let this put you off as this place is amazing. I have to admit that I was only interested in the views and getting photos so did not go inside the abbey or spend any money but it really was worth all the effort. As others have alluded to, the landrover shuttle looks scary with all the hairpin bends and costs money but if you are a little unfit, maybe a good idea.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A steep hike well rewarded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I wouldn't want folks to be put off by the climb. Yes, it is steep but what's the hurry. You are on vacation, right? Take your time.
We saw the 4x4 head up and have difficulty with the hairpin bends but it had no passengers to give it traction I guess. All in all I'd rather walk.
Do the tour for a nominal fee then climb up further to see the abbey in all its glory, perched on the edge of the sheer cliffs.
The reward for hiking down? A cold beer in the very conveniently placed cafe in Casteil.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A beautiful and spiritual place. We enjoyed the 30min walk to reach the abbey. The tour is in French only, however it is easy to follow with the help of the provided explanation sheet (in whichever language you desire).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbaye Saint Martin du Canigou also viewed

Pyrenees-Orientales, Languedoc-Roussillon
Ille-sur-Tet, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
Font-Romeu, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Abbaye Saint Martin du Canigou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbaye Saint Martin du Canigou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.