We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Hotel

The Ship Hotel
Main Road, Brancaster PE31 8AP, England
01485 210333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Brancaster
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

called in for lunch whilst out for a walk,we only had a sandwich,it was all fresh and quick service.fairly quiet tho still early in the season.would go again and try evening meal next time

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    50
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fish 'n' Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Ate in the bar area twice in the last couple of months, although a bit quiet it was comfortable and the service was excellent. Best fish and chips ever, I am sure the rest of the menu wouldn't disappoint. Lovely local ales a real treat too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pre Wedding Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We organised a family meal in the 'Map' room at The Ship on the eve of our wedding - the evening really couldn't have gone any better - a lovely setting, great food, and staff that made us feel special.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whilst I like this place, with the friendly staff, tasteful décor and usually good food, I can only give it a 3/5 due to the fact that Birds custard from a packet was poured all over my bread pudding dessert (according to the menu it was supposed to be crème anglais). I asked to see the chef but he refused to come out, instead sending the waiter to confirm that they 'ran out' of crème anglais and because they were too busy to make more (lol) used packet custard. I didn't appreciate a chef trying to con me, and the so-called 'celebrity chef' Chris Cawburgh wasn't interested in my email notifying him of the fact that his chef was charging £6.50 for packet custard. I'd recommend going to the Orange Tree in the next village along (Thornham), where this would never happen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming, tasty, unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A fantastic service with excellent food. A sterling job by the team and we enjoyed a very pleasant time in the map room.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Hotel also viewed

 
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to The Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.