We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Hotel

The Ship Hotel
Main Road, Brancaster PE31 8AP, England
01485 210333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Brancaster
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whilst I like this place, with the friendly staff, tasteful décor and usually good food, I can only give it a 3/5 due to the fact that Birds custard from a packet was poured all over my bread pudding dessert (according to the menu it was supposed to be crème anglais). I asked to see the chef but he refused to come out, instead sending the waiter to confirm that they 'ran out' of crème anglais and because they were too busy to make more (lol) used packet custard. I didn't appreciate a chef trying to con me, and the so-called 'celebrity chef' Chris Cawburgh wasn't interested in my email notifying him of the fact that his chef was charging £6.50 for packet custard. I'd recommend going to the Orange Tree in the next village along (Thornham), where this would never happen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    50
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming, tasty, unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A fantastic service with excellent food. A sterling job by the team and we enjoyed a very pleasant time in the map room.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A really decent place to visit for a relaxing Sunday lunch and a decent pint. Certainly not the cheapest place, but we had good quality food that was well presented. Impressed with the courteous, well-trained staff who appeared calm and relaxed the entire time we were there, even though they were actually worked off their feet! Hope it's as good the next time we visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great spontaneous night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great food, wine and ale served by attentive but friendly staff and all in very pleasantly appointed surroundings. First class - what a find!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Notts, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've eaten at The Ship on several occasions when staying in Brancaster and have always found the food to be of the highest quality. We particularly enjoy the seafood which is varied and very tasty.

We'll definitely be back again on our next visit to dine again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Hotel also viewed

 
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to The Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.