We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and cosy seafood restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakfickan

Bakfickan
Stora Torget 1, Visby, Gotland, Sweden
0498-27-18-07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 99 Restaurants in Visby
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic and cosy seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a great restaurant. They are wholly dedicated to seafood and the fish soup and fried herring both taste amazing. It is quite small so you would definitely need to book a table. They serve warm bread at the start which is a major plus point. I was so impressed by the food, I considered having two mains as I knew it would be a while before I was back in Visby again. A MUST if you visit Gotland. Prices are also really reasonable for the quality of food that you get!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    55
    12
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the place where to go if you like fish. The place is cosy and with atmosphere. The service was good and careful. The food was just one of the best I ever had in Sweden so far. The tartare with fresh local fish and shell was superb. I would definetly reccomend this place!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Be sure to book a table!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We checked out the menu as we wandered around Visby, but neglected to book a table. Big mistake! This tiny restaurant fills up quickly. It's crowded and noisy, but the food makes it worthwhile.
The menu is limited, specializing in fish. Some items, such as prawns, are sourced locally.
This is a great place for lunch or dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Bakfickan has been a favorite of mine for several years, I always visit when in Visby. They always deliver high quality seafood and fish at reasonable prices and did so this time as well. Small but cozy this place is always full, so book in advance. The staff is friendly and the location is perfect by the Stora Torget. The smoked prawns are the best in town and the fish dishes are excellent. I lack some more choices in non-alcoholic beverages though and, due to the size of the place, it is a bit noisy. Don’t miss this place when you are in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I went for my lunch and they only served two dishes during lunchtime then I chose the cod dish. It served with mushroom sauce and fried potatoes. You also had bread and biscuits before your meal. Everything was great, I usually don't eat potatoes but this time I finished them! Small place indeed, even for lunch you may not get a table so if you go for a dinner it's better to make reservations.The two dishes for lunchtime cost the same, 98kr.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakfickan also viewed

 

Been to Bakfickan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakfickan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.