We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakfickan

Bakfickan
Stora Torget 1, Visby, Gotland, Sweden
0498-27-18-07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 100 Restaurants in Visby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I went for my lunch and they only served two dishes during lunchtime then I chose the cod dish. It served with mushroom sauce and fried potatoes. You also had bread and biscuits before your meal. Everything was great, I usually don't eat potatoes but this time I finished them! Small place indeed, even for lunch you may not get a table so if you go for a dinner it's better to make reservations.The two dishes for lunchtime cost the same, 98kr.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    60
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“For fish lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice Scandinavian fish dishes - highly recommended. Very good location in the heart of the city. If you have the possibility, try also the nice New Zealand sauvignon blanc that they serve.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Ordered the Mussels and not only was it delicious, but it could have fed an army! Cozy little place, so make sure you make reservations.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice for Visby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I spent 2 weeks in Visby and ate out every day. Visby is not a good place for foodies. Food here is overpriced, boring or simply unforgivably bad but not in Bakfican. I was in Bakfican 3 or 4 times. I had shrimp sandwich which was very good, fish soup that was rather bland for my palette, macrel and fried herring with mashed potates. The main courses are rather small [and I am a very slim and fit foodie :-)] so I would recommend a starter with eache meal. In general I enjoyed my dinners and lunches at Bakfican but it was not one of the restaurants I will remember for years. It is a little overpriced. I know, it is Visby and all, but at the end of the day it is just herring and potates!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best food in Sweden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

An excellent fish restaurant, the waiters had good knowledge of the menu and the wines were good and suitable for the food. They have a spicy snaps, which they make themselves, recommended

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakfickan also viewed

 

Been to Bakfickan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakfickan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.